GEP 2012 - Screening & Selection

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.3k Posts 191 Posters 375.6k Views 1 Watching
      Kiatkhim

Majority in GEP are not selected by accidents.

However, i believe we do hear maybe one(or two?) incident where parents wondered why their children got selected and halfway choose to drop out of GEP due to coping difficulty.

Just have to be realistic and careful that all systems have their limitations especially when the selection process and criteria are not entirely transparent. Accident is rare but it may happen.

As responsible parents, exercise our judgement when making or supporting a decision that is best for our children.

• NebbermindN Offline
        Nebbermind

Kiatkhim:
        Majority in GEP are not selected by accidents.

However, i believe we do hear maybe one(or two?) incident where parents wondered why their children got selected and halfway choose to drop out of GEP due to coping difficulty.

Just have to be realistic and careful that all systems have their limitations especially when the selection process and criteria are not entirely transparent. Accident is rare but it may happen.

As responsible parents, exercise our judgement when making or supporting a decision that is best for our children.
        I've heard of parents being very agitated during one of the early joint conference (all schools) that my wifey attended. She gathered that it's coz some parents would only want to hand in the PERFECT piece of work/project which is actually quite impossible for most P4s who mostly do not have the indepth knowledge yet.

There are also some kids whose lives are already quite packed with enrichment activities, not necessary academic but things like music, dance, swimming/other sports etc. Therefore they will find a lack of time for GEP projects.

On a side note, I think that most boys will be able to cope not because they are smarter but coz they are generally less sensitive and more bochup, less competitive at younger age so not so emotionally affected by the apparent poor performance.

bebe

It came upon to me that for those parents who decide to send kids to prep class…it is their choices but I would not be calling them insane or KS. I have a few frens who send their kids to GEP prep prog, and I never mock at them. Every parents has the right to think and choose what is the best for their child but it is not fair to label those parents as crazy or nut. In fact, sometime, it is the kid who requests to attend such classes…one of my fren’s boy is one such example, he wanna try and challenge himself, and he did feedback that he enjoyed the lessons.

FireflyMom

:goodpost:

bebe:
            It came upon to me that for those parents who decide to send kids to prep class..it is their choices but I would not be calling them insane or KS. I have a few frens who send their kids to GEP prep prog, and I never mock at them. Every parents has the right to think and choose what is the best for their child but it is not fair to label those parents as crazy or nut. In fact, sometime, it is the kid who requests to attend such classes..one of my fren's boy is one such example, he wanna try and challenge himself, and he did feedback that he enjoyed the lessons.

:goodpost:

IMO, we should not be too judgmental about other parents' decisions.

To : the group of parents who send their kids to prep classes
            Monitor your kids' stress level. Do not let your children feel that if they do not get into GEP, they're disappointing you big time. It will hurt their self-esteem like they're never good enough for you. If they find the prep classes very stressful and cannot keep up, you should consider withdrawing them.

To : the group of parents who send/do not send their kids to prep classes and criticise other parents for sending
            I noticed a few parents are a little harsh when talking about other parents sending their kids to prep classes. IMO, this is the parents' choice. No one is using your money to send your kids to prep classes. If you do not agree, just do not send your kids. No need to condemn these parents. If their kids cannot cope in the programme, they'll have to bear the consequences, not you.

Just my 2 cents' worth. Don't :spank: me..

monmon31

bebe:
              I was contemplating if I shd sign for the prep class (as some of my gfs are signing up their kids) but my gal said \"Aiyah..no need lah, being gifted mean you are born with it, it is natural talent that God gives you. If everyone can be gifted by going to classes, then it is not gifted liao.\" She puts me into the right perspective..lolz

Well said ...I would say that your gal is matured. Kudos to her and to you as well not to force it onto her.

• 2 Offline
                25hr mama

Hello Parents, may be u like to ask yourself this question, \"Why GEP?\"

Is it really prestigious to hv kids in GEP? I hv a P5 gepper at home, I certainly do not feel any prestige. Infact, I feel she is no different from any other 11 year old.

Do geppers enjoy any special privilege? Other than the small class size and a more enriched & challenging curriculum, I really do not see any other differences between GEP & mainstream. The curriculum is designed for the so called \"Intellectually Gifted\", but I feel it is only suitable for kids who are self-driven, independent learner. If ur kids are those who need a lot of pushing and nagging, the journey will be a stressful one for both parents and kiddos.

As for the EESIS, it is not guaranteed that all GEP pupils will get it. Only those who meet the P6 GEP promotion criteria, and are enrolled in the IP in an Independent School at S11 will.

That being said, mainstream pupils are eligible for EESIS too. They are awarded up to the top one-third of the total number of Secondary One pupils admitted to all Independent Schools (IS), based on their PSLE results.

For DSA, even tho some mentioned that GEP pupils are exempted from GAT if they achieve above 80% for their P5 & P6 results, I can tell u that, to score 80% for all subjects in GEP is not an easy task. It takes a lot discipline and hard work to achieve that.

So overall, ur decision lies on the suitability of ur kids, and only u can tell whether ur kid is suitable, based not just on their academic performance, but more importantly, their personality. If ur kids are suitable for GEP, he/she will hv a enjoyable & fulfilling journey. If not, it will be a stressful one for both parents & kids.

Just my 2 cents worth. 🙂

Miracle Child

Pardon my ignorance :oops: what is EESIS?

Herbie

Miracle Child:
                    Pardon my ignorance :oops: what is EESIS?

http://www.moe.gov.sg/initiatives/edusave/funds-grants-awards/eesis/

• NebbermindN Offline
                      Nebbermind

25hr mama:

Is it really prestigious to hv kids in GEP? I hv a P5 gepper at home, I certainly do not feel any prestige. Infact, I feel she is no different from any other 11 year old.

No leh. Some mainstreamers schoolmates thinks they are freaks leh!! :evil:
                      25hr mama:

So overall, ur decision lies on the suitability of ur kids, and only u can tell whether ur kid is suitable, based not just on their academic performance, but more importantly, their personality. If ur kids are suitable for GEP, he/she will hv a enjoyable & fulfilling journey. If not, it will be a stressful one for both parents & kids.
                      Actually, in SG...regardless of GEP or not, t's gonna stressed in oe way or another.

My advice is....if your kids ever get select....

HOOT AH!!

bebe

25hr mama:

Do geppers enjoy any special privilege? Other than the small class size and a more enriched & challenging curriculum, I really do not see any other differences between GEP & mainstream. The curriculum is designed for the so called \"Intellectually Gifted\", but I feel it is only suitable for kids who are self-driven, independent learner. If ur kids are those who need a lot of pushing and nagging, the journey will be a stressful one for both parents and kiddos.

As for the EESIS, it is not guaranteed that all GEP pupils will get it. Only those who meet the P6 GEP promotion criteria, and are enrolled in the IP in an Independent School at S11 will.

That being said, mainstream pupils are eligible for EESIS too. They are awarded up to the top one-third of the total number of Secondary One pupils admitted to all Independent Schools (IS), based on their PSLE results.

For DSA, even tho some mentioned that GEP pupils are exempted from GAT if they achieve above 80% for their P5 & P6 results, I can tell u that, to score 80% for all subjects in GEP is not an easy task. It takes a lot discipline and hard work to achieve that.

Just my 2 cents worth. 🙂
                        I think not so much for the prestige, but it gives the child additional option to experience something different in his/her learning journey. Most of the parents here like me did not have the chance to get into GEP during our times, and now if the kids have what is take to take the route, go ahead and do it. Sometimes kids did not know they have so much potential in them that they can utilise it, parents hv to help them to realise it and seize e opportunity when arise. I also agree that, parents must help the kids to access their abilities accordingly and realistically.. Some kids strive better in this system and others in other systems. Either ways, it is still important that kids must enjoy the learning process

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 33 / 129

DyslexiaD
                        Dyslexia
                        kubettecoK
                        kubetteco
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo