GEP 2012 - Screening & Selection
Pardon my ignorance :oops: what is EESIS?
Miracle Child:
Pardon my ignorance :oops: what is EESIS?
http://www.moe.gov.sg/initiatives/edusave/funds-grants-awards/eesis/ -
25hr mama:
Hello Parents, may be u like to ask yourself this question, \"Why GEP?\"
Is it really prestigious to hv kids in GEP? I hv a P5 gepper at home, I certainly do not feel any prestige. Infact, I feel she is no different from any other 11 year old.
No leh. Some mainstreamers schoolmates thinks they are freaks leh!! :evil:25hr mama:
Actually, in SG...regardless of GEP or not, t's gonna stressed in oe way or another.
So overall, ur decision lies on the suitability of ur kids, and only u can tell whether ur kid is suitable, based not just on their academic performance, but more importantly, their personality. If ur kids are suitable for GEP, he/she will hv a enjoyable & fulfilling journey. If not, it will be a stressful one for both parents & kids.
My advice is....if your kids ever get select....
HOOT AH!! -
25hr mama:
I think not so much for the prestige, but it gives the child additional option to experience something different in his/her learning journey. Most of the parents here like me did not have the chance to get into GEP during our times, and now if the kids have what is take to take the route, go ahead and do it. Sometimes kids did not know they have so much potential in them that they can utilise it, parents hv to help them to realise it and seize e opportunity when arise. I also agree that, parents must help the kids to access their abilities accordingly and realistically.. Some kids strive better in this system and others in other systems. Either ways, it is still important that kids must enjoy the learning processHello Parents, may be u like to ask yourself this question, \"Why GEP?\"
Is it really prestigious to hv kids in GEP? I hv a P5 gepper at home, I certainly do not feel any prestige. Infact, I feel she is no different from any other 11 year old.
Do geppers enjoy any special privilege? Other than the small class size and a more enriched & challenging curriculum, I really do not see any other differences between GEP & mainstream. The curriculum is designed for the so called \"Intellectually Gifted\", but I feel it is only suitable for kids who are self-driven, independent learner. If ur kids are those who need a lot of pushing and nagging, the journey will be a stressful one for both parents and kiddos.
As for the EESIS, it is not guaranteed that all GEP pupils will get it. Only those who meet the P6 GEP promotion criteria, and are enrolled in the IP in an Independent School at S11 will.
That being said, mainstream pupils are eligible for EESIS too. They are awarded up to the top one-third of the total number of Secondary One pupils admitted to all Independent Schools (IS), based on their PSLE results.
For DSA, even tho some mentioned that GEP pupils are exempted from GAT if they achieve above 80% for their P5 & P6 results, I can tell u that, to score 80% for all subjects in GEP is not an easy task. It takes a lot discipline and hard work to achieve that.
So overall, ur decision lies on the suitability of ur kids, and only u can tell whether ur kid is suitable, based not just on their academic performance, but more importantly, their personality. If ur kids are suitable for GEP, he/she will hv a enjoyable & fulfilling journey. If not, it will be a stressful one for both parents & kids.
Just my 2 cents worth.
Personally, even though I knew my boy is no genius, he has always been different.
So if you did not prep yr kids n they are selected, ask yourself if your kids ever surprise you...be it elephant memory, or ability to grasp chim words n reuse them, learn Math concept exceptionally fast (need not be all topics), grasp higher level of science concepts when explained....etc...usually donch need tuition for math n science unless parents über kiasu.
My belief is that they can be selected by accident twice if they r not prep....n there will be signs.
There will always be a price to pay...but this is a present, gift wrapped n home delivered. Like I said before, some kids will have self doubts along the way n that's why I emphasised parental involvement is über important coz they need us emotionally. Also, don't let people con u by saying u shouldn't help your kid...there are many ways to help...guide them without spoon feeding. No \"do this, then this n this\" but use a lot of \"why, how, then what\"....turn it into a thinking process. That's how we impart some of our 'professional' know-how to them in the process.
Enough said for now
Wat if the child is selected with no prep and no signs or indications that he is different? So in cases like that shld the child accept or not accept GEP :?Personally, even though I knew my boy is no genius, he has always been different.
So if you did not prep yr kids n they are selected, ask yourself if your kids ever surprise you...be it elephant memory, or ability to grasp chim words n reuse them, learn Math concept exceptionally fast (need not be all topics), grasp higher level of science concepts when explained....etc...usually donch need tuition for math n science unless parents über kiasu.
My belief is that they can be selected by accident twice if they r not prep....n there will be signs. -
PiggyLalala:
Then perhaps haven't discover his talent yet. From my observation, even those academically lagging in the class, they still exhibit very quick train of thought, can be witty or even sarcastic (quick thinking on their feet) or have very queer interest in science/math related topics.
Wat if the child is selected with no prep and no signs or indications that he is different? So in cases like that shld the child accept or not accept GEP :?Nebbermind:
Personally, even though I knew my boy is no genius, he has always been different.
My belief is that they can be selected by accident twice if they r not prep....n there will be signs.
But every child is different. It's really the parents' call coz they have to make sacrifice n walk with the kid for the next 3 yrs coz not all kids enjoy the process or the environment or the teachers :yikes: . I can only say - it's no accident. -
Like some of the earlier posts have mentioned, GEP is not a program to help any child do well in PSLE or studies. GEP does not gurantee a good PSLE score or an auto DSA to go to the top IP schools.
Though many of the posts have suggested that DSA comes easy for GEPpers who scored above 80% for their P5 & P6 results, ( Need to submit P4 result for RI), it is really not that easy to achieve an average of 80% especially for GEP students who are not that strong in Maths or Science. For example, if a child scores Maths 85, Science 80, English 78 and HCL 72, the average is only 78.75.
If we take away the PSLE and DSA components, yes, GEP curriculum is much more interesting especially for those who hates repetitive work, dislikes or refuses to do worksheets on the same concept again and again. However, it does not mean more opportunities for everyone to take parts in competitions, again, most trs will only pick the good ones for such competitions. Most students would enjoy the curriculum. It is one that allows pupils to express their views and be a confident and independent learner maybe.
I also agree that gep is not all that tough. However, to see an overall average of 80 per cent is a challenge for the average GEPpers.
Just a bit of my sharing. -
Ya, if your requirement is to get >80% all the time, then will be very stressful.
I believe that there will be one or two accidents out of the 500 selected. Just pray that the one or two accidents is not my child.
Then perhaps haven't discover his talent yet. From my observation, even those academically lagging in the class, they still exhibit very quick train of thought, can be witty or even sarcastic (quick thinking on their feet) or have very queer interest in science/math related topics.
But every child is different. It's really the parents' call coz they have to make sacrifice n walk with the kid for the next 3 yrs coz not all kids enjoy the process or the environment or the teachers :yikes: . I can only say - it's no accident.
I would say that most of my ds's friends enjoy the program.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.