GEP 2012 - Screening & Selection
MrsSeah:
I would presume the 'pressure' is higher in the branded schools where every yr there would be 10~20 (or more!) kids being selected for GEP and there seems to be a realistic chance for everyone in the top class.I feel that majority of the parent didn't prepared their kids, only minority does prepare.
I never heard of my friends or colleagues prepared their kids for GEP but they still get in. One of my colleagues, her son & daughter is not in GEP and both of their PSLE t-score is above 270. So to me is still VERY good even they are not in GEP.
But for most of the other schools which will see maybe 1~2 at most, I presume most parents won't even bother.
So since parents of those in branded schools generally have most reserve resources, I guess they donch mind spending that extra bit just to have better chance. -
It could also be cos the GEP stream is in that school itself so logistically no issue for parents. The take up rate from students not already in that school may be lower since parents will have to take into consideration transport, and child may be resistant towards going to another school.
I would presume the 'pressure' is higher in the branded schools where every yr there would be 10~20 (or more!) kids being selected for GEP and there seems to be a realistic chance for everyone in the top class.MrsSeah:
I feel that majority of the parent didn't prepared their kids, only minority does prepare.
I never heard of my friends or colleagues prepared their kids for GEP but they still get in. One of my colleagues, her son & daughter is not in GEP and both of their PSLE t-score is above 270. So to me is still VERY good even they are not in GEP.
But for most of the other schools which will see maybe 1~2 at most, I presume most parents won't even bother.
So since parents of those in branded schools generally have most reserve resources, I guess they donch mind spending that extra bit just to have better chance. -
Highly possible! At least for me, if kid can get into GEP, will have headache since nearby schools with GEP all missionary schools, and have to travel. So get in or don't get in, not a big issue to me.
It could also be cos the GEP stream is in that school itself so logistically no issue for parents. The take up rate from students not already in that school may be lower since parents will have to take into consideration transport, and child may be resistant towards going to another school. -
baobei:
There is no much co-relation between PhD and GEP, one need to have interest in research to go into Doctorate, many HA kids may not have interest in R&D
In any case, how many of the doctorates out there were from GEP? There aren't many.
What is proven academically when young probably give a headstart but it may not be the ultimate outcome. -
baobei:
In any case, how many of the doctorates out there were from GEP? There aren't many.
What is proven academically when young probably give a headstart but it may not be the ultimate outcome.
I don't know how many doctorates were from GEP. Only know that both Chenonceau and me were not from GEP
violin_lover:
I don't know how many doctorates were from GEP. Only know that both Chenonceau and me were not from GEP

Oi? How you know I am not leh... :evil: Anyway, come here and give me your thoughts - http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=838827#p838827 -
Oi? How you know I am not leh... :evil: Anyway, come here and give me your thoughts - http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=838827#p838827
Because the program first started when I was in Primary 3
...Inference with almost probabilty of 1, both of us are not from GEP :evil:
violin_lover:
So you are saying I am OLD? :spank:
Because the program first started when I was in Primary 3
...Inference with almost probabilty of 1, both of us are not from GEP :evil: -
So you are saying I am OLD? :spank:
I think you can definitely qualify for GEP if the timing is right. No lah, you are not old, retirement age is 62 yrs old, both of us are far away from there :rotflmao:
violin_lover:
I think you can definitely qualify for GEP if the timing is right. No lah, you are not old, retirement age is 62 yrs old, both of us are far away from there :rotflmao:
Truth is. I am rather old... and not GEP so... but heh... it's nice to think of the Coulda. Woulda. Shoulda.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.