Is GEP really necessary?
GEPpers at PSLE. If my son were to be sitting for PSLE this year (which he is supposed to), I'll make sure he performs. That's all, not buts, no ifs. If his results are not sterling, then he is not as good as another mainstreamer who did better. And, if I choose to ask him to focus on something else, resulting to him not performing, then it is a choice and not to be explained away. I shall have no other excuse, and neither does he. He shall then bear the consequences, including not getting into the school of his choice. We had a chance to pick our choice, and we shall bear the consequences of that choice.
If I don't teach him now about action and reaction, choices and consequences, I would have lost a fantastic opportunity.
Again, that's just me. I can fully understand how others won't agree or won't think so. I am a mother too. But you see, my sights have never been on PSLE, I don't want my children to let this exam impede their opportunities to learn and understand how the society will finally work for them. Every circumstance is a learning opportunity, we either use it, or lose it.
The caterpillar turning into a butterfly has been teaching us a very important lesson all our lives. If you help that caterpillar out of his struggle at the crucial stage of its transformation, it will not survive. I want to make sure my kids survive, and that's another reason temporal perks does not add on to us. -
so.. which of you have gone under the knife? :evil: :evil:
Now I am looking at the mirror?3Boys:
Actually,
I only have one cardinal rule for my kids.
1) Be Happy
If I set too many dimensions they start to contradict each other.
so.. which of you have gone under the knife? :evil: :evil:[/quote]None, we just did a soul exchange like in Secret Garden... bwaaaaahahahaha... nice try limlim...
Now I am looking at the mirror?ksi:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]Actually,
I only have one cardinal rule for my kids.
1) Be Happy
If I set too many dimensions they start to contradict each other.
Some kind of ignorance is blisscomfy:
Seriously kS parents, from what I have been reading, I hope that some of your 'negative' remarks regarding gep kids are not passed down to your kids. Sincerely hope that all kids from mainstream or GEP can get along without any prejudice from their parents. Cheer!
:goodpost:
My kids have no idea what GEP is - yet.
When DH hiao hiao asked DS, \"Are you gifted?\", he answered, \"No, you are my parents what!\"
Actually hor, I found out he didn't even know what 'gifted' means. He thought it meant 'given away' - give -ed :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
Yes, I have been doing much soul searching, after reading this thread and many of 2ppaamm's. Really appreciate for sharing. After all, I am thankful, thank God for where we are living, having and getting....yes, at the same time, never stopping dreaming. Setting up HIGH goals for my dear children, yet wishing them to be kind, gentle, happy and most of all useful for society.
I have learnt a lot from all of you dear KS mums, not to be so kiasu lah, trust and respect our children; relax yet make sure they work hard :please:
What 2ppaamm has pointed is way beyond GEP and schooling, a wonderful world in the parenting. I wish I knew 10 years ago. :lovesite: -
2ppaamm:
E-hem, 2ppaamm, um, will it be too much to ask if you could put all these very useful notes - all these pertaining to GEP and education into your blog on KSP - I mean, since you have no intention of writing them into a book? I find myself having to go back to search for your writings, and I am sure it will benefit not just myself. PLeeeease!!!!
We cannot expect other people to change or be kind to us. The only people we can change is ourselves. Here's what I do to ensure my children survive, whether they are identified or labeled gifted or not.
1. Have a set of expectation and live up to that.....
ruohoo97:
Me too! :lovesite: Pam... :udawoman: .
Yes, I have been doing much soul searching, after reading this thread and many of 2ppaamm's. Really appreciate for sharing. After all, I am thankful, thank God for where we are living, having and getting....yes, at the same time, never stopping dreaming. Setting up HIGH goals for my dear children, yet wishing them to be kind, gentle, happy and most of all useful for society.
I have learnt a lot from all of you dear KS mums, not to be so kiasu lah, trust and respect our children; relax yet make sure they work hard :please:
What 2ppaamm has pointed is way beyond GEP and schooling, a wonderful world in the parenting. I wish I knew 10 years ago. :lovesite:
I am not sure I would ask you to write a book, though I'm sure it'll be a darn good one. Writing a book is very hard work. And the work continues even when you're done writing it. But if you write one, I will buy it. -
2ppaamm:
Interesting thought. Our kids have already struggled to get out of our wombs leh, there is a natural survival skill there that needed no parental teaching. We just need to PUSH!
The caterpillar turning into a butterfly has been teaching us a very important lesson all our lives. If you help that caterpillar out of his struggle at the crucial stage of its transformation, it will not survive. I want to make sure my kids survive, and that's another reason temporal perks does not add on to us.
But I still most mommies just couldn't let go.
Interesting thought. Our kids have already struggled to get out of our wombs leh, there is a natural survival skill there that needed no parental teaching. We just need to PUSH!2ppaamm:
The caterpillar turning into a butterfly has been teaching us a very important lesson all our lives. If you help that caterpillar out of his struggle at the crucial stage of its transformation, it will not survive. I want to make sure my kids survive, and that's another reason temporal perks does not add on to us.
Just bookmark!
E-hem, 2ppaamm, um, will it be too much to ask if you could put all these very useful notes - all these pertaining to GEP and education into your blog on KSP - I mean, since you have no intention of writing them into a book? I find myself having to go back to search for your writings, and I am sure it will benefit not just myself. PLeeeease!!!!2ppaamm:
We cannot expect other people to change or be kind to us. The only people we can change is ourselves. Here's what I do to ensure my children survive, whether they are identified or labeled gifted or not.
1. Have a set of expectation and live up to that.....
I bet even if you store it, you probably won't have use for it when your kids take GEP for you may have a different set of expectations liao. :evil: Cos like yourself, I'm not that much of a kiasu parent... just concern(ed).
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.