Is GEP really necessary?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.5k Posts 104 Posters 439.4k Views 1 Watching

His prize is those juicy strawberries or schweppes' water melon lips? :?

Mychildren

U can't figure out the time I put there???

I need to go slumberland else tomorrow no energy to chase after my DD. :snooze:

Sweet dream ksi & to all!

limlim

friendship:
          Hopefully the successful GEPers in their career and become a Minister. Please do not forget your parents generations like us.
          Wonder if the person who says \"No amt of engineering can prevent it\" is GEP or not.. if it is.. then really is money down the drain for GEP training..

• 2 Offline
            2ppaamm

:rotflmao: okok, since you are so interested in my life... :boogie:

HVR:
            I cannot stand it when someone paints Singapore as some impossible place to live in.
            🀷 Which post did I say or 'paint Singapore as some impossible place to live in'? Don't know where this comes from, and don't know what you mean. :? And therefore, like TPL, I 'don't know what to say' until you use direct quotes and not inferences. Or if it is directed at someone else, let me know, because your post did not address anyone.[quote]Are you really living overseas now with almost everything free? Who exactly pay for everything that is free? [/quote]Of course not everything is free lah. Wait let me think har....I have to pay for my groceries, my petrol, clothes, household equipment, furniture... I must have missed out some stuff... you get the idea. I only said 2 things are free mah... How come my two things become your \"everything\"? But I understand we all have different standards of living and different costs in our lives. [quote]The country you are living in now must be very rich. Must be Brunei, i heard there is no taxation there. If not could it be some oil rich middle east countries? Everything is free and cheap. Almost paradise. Their time zones also not that dissimilar to us that's why you don't have to post at your unearthly local time.[/quote]Why do you want to know my whereabouts? 🀷 Hehehe... Paradise or not, not sure leh, but certainly people have a lot more courtesy to each other. Time zone, I think you can search it out yourself, too lazy to Google. BTW, how come you are tracking my sleeping habits? :oops: I am happily married and unavailable :imcool: , and definitely not as sexy as Sir Nebbermind...err.... there are more eligible folks around.

Taxation, don't know leh, never bothered or have to find out. πŸ˜‰ [quote]I just wonder if everything is so bad here and you have found your utopia, why are you still bother? If you still care for Singapore, will all your comments help? I don't know who you really are but if you are indeed very happy overseas now, maybe you can leave our 'problems' to us singaporeans to sort it out ourselves?[/quote]EVERYTHING is so bad for who? You? :sad: Define 'Utopia', because I didn't use that word, and not sure what is your definition, and don't want to misunderstand. Bothered because every 5 years, they ask me to vote lor. I'm sure you have to do that too. I have to know how to vote mah... Certainly have to do some research and have some thoughts, right? Don't you? Which comments will or will not help are you referring to? I can't answer your question unless you quote specifically, otherwise I am only second guessing.

Also, I hope you realize I am merely telling my story and my choices. πŸ•Ί Of course everyone has a different experience, and I don't even pretend to know what others are going through. If you are happy, good for you! That does not mean others cannot have alternatives. Similarly, sharing how things became better for me does not make yours any inferior or worse than it is now, unless you imagine it to be.

Whew! πŸ˜“ I have left for so long, I have almost forgotten Singapore's comity.

Tell a little unrelated story. My son was eating an orange and I told him it is not sweet, and get that tangerine instead. He said his orange is sweet, but I insisted the tangerine is sweeter. Then he told me he tried both. That's when I realized what a fool I was, how can I tell him the orange is sweeter when I have not tasted the orange, while he has tasted both? :wrongmove:

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

friendship:

Hopefully the successful GEPers in their career and become a Minister. Please do not forget your parents generations like us.

Wonder if the person who says \"No amt of engineering can prevent it\" is GEP or not.. if it is.. then really is money down the drain for GEP training..

Hehehe... he is not, too old already lah, and don't need to anyway, but like majority of his two generations down are GEP. He is a great man but we're into 2 generations already hor? See them ε¦‚δ½•θ΅°ε‡Ίε―ŒδΈθΏ‡δΈ‰δ»£ηš„ζ€ͺ圈.

• NebbermindN Offline
                Nebbermind

Mychildren:
                Nebbermind,

Why u never claim the prize below:
                http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9693&start=6500

So now its been donated to Charity for good. :imcool:

ksi,
                I'm no loanshark but a busybody. πŸ˜‰
                By the way, did u order too much liang teh to your warehouse & cannot clear them so need to do some promotion here?
                Perhaps you should promote in such a way buy 1 get 10 free!!! :idea:
                Come on! With the ksi makeover , u think I wld be in ksp forum at that time?

Melodies

Wow! Majority of two generations r geppers!! Looks like gene does run in the blood.

2ppaamm:

[quote=\"friendship\"]Hopefully the successful GEPers in their career and become a Minister. Please do not forget your parents generations like us.

Hehehe... he is not, too old already lah, and don't need to anyway, but like majority of his two generations down are GEP. He is a great man but we're into 2 generations already hor? See them ε¦‚δ½•θ΅°ε‡Ίε―ŒδΈθΏ‡δΈ‰δ»£ηš„ζ€ͺ圈.[/quote]

Melodies

Double posting

Melodies

Does anyone has info abt the backgrounds of geppers? I have observed some interesting phenomenon such as the wise oldman has many gepper grandchildren, TT's grandson, tsl's son n many other ministers' sons r geppers!! For a while, I thought the intake must b huge such that the r many many people around me have geppers kids. :yikes: Then, I realized that these r the people who r highly educated with phd or has previously excelled in academics or r rich or come from very well to do families.....hmmmm. Of cource, I can't make any conclusion for sure but just wondering.....

• 2 Offline
                        2ppaamm

Melodies:
                        Does anyone has info abt the backgrounds of geppers? I have observed some interesting phenomenon such as the wise oldman has many gepper grandchildren, TT's grandson, tsl's son n many other ministers' sons r geppers!! For a while, I thought the intake must b huge such that the r many many people around me have geppers kids. :yikes: Then, I realized that these r the people who r highly educated with phd or has previously excelled in academics or r rich or come from very well to do families.....hmmmm. Of cource, I can't make any conclusion for sure but just wondering.....

This is what we were told at the GEP briefing:
                        \"Siblings fall within 5% of intelligence, and parents 10%\"

The Old Man believes that too, I remember more than 30 years ago, as a young undergrad, we signed a petition for him to retract the statement because in those days, most of us were from poor families. I agree to this to some extent, but not totally. There is a nurture aspect that was totally left out. With diligence and resources, we can make up for the nature. Plus, with that definition, it will mean that most GEPpers going forward will have GEPpers parents, but that will not be the case. Genes has a part to play, I believe, but definitely not entirely. Parenting and opportunities plays a huge, huge part as well. πŸ™‚

Here's a research for you: http://www.gifteddevelopment.com/What_is_Gifted/learned.htm

Note the comment about IQ being asynchronous. πŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 122 / 154