Is GEP really necessary?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.5k Posts 104 Posters 439.4k Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

2ppaamm:

[quote=\"Nebbermind\"]

Did u come back to check if my leaf is still there?! :evil:

No, I know it will be there. Just waiting to see if the worms have started eating it up to form holes. Sometimes, it is better to :peekaboo:

Form holes... :drool:

Still waiting.. :peekaboo:[/quote]Mee tooo

Dnls_mum

2ppaamm:

This is like a chicken and egg situation. Why take in so many foreigners when the infrastructure is not even enough for our own? FT worries me a lot, and I see it here. I am an FT here, we top the schools, we go into better courses in the uni, get better jobs, and the locals are jealous, we get the same advantages, we own their lands, we lead their people, we get the scholarships. One day, I shudder to think, Singaporeans in our own lands will be like this.
        Haha...so people take from your country, and you go take from other people country lor...hehehe. Same everywhere la! Maybe got a KSP forum in your adopted country now discussing this every same topic too :rotflmao:

limlim

As much as I hate the casinos, they are revenue generating, not a cost centre.
          I agree with this...... :evil:

Dnls_mum

2ppaamm:
            Dnls_mum:

I am not sure if the poly has such courses, but i think the students who attend these courses prob don't want to be teachers anyway. If these courses are able to start the kids on to good jobs and support themselves and their families, who are we to say that the money is not well spent? It has benefitted these kids and their families.

Have lah... just do a little search on the poly and you should find them. The government envisaged a need for this workforce once the casino open, so the schools had to provide. It is like the government plans what kind of work force is required going forward, and the schools are asked to make sure they train the right skills to fulfill this requirement. Singapore government is very systematic.

Anyway, children at that age don't really know what they want, typically. So when they choose their courses, they also have to worry about their grades, and what is open to them with their grades. If there is this training, and they cannot get into anywhere else, they go for it lor...

And it is not that they are the ones or not. It is what is available for them to take in the institutions. If the intake (let's say teacher is more demanded than many courses) has a limit, those who want to be teachers go for lower and lower cut-off courses, until they reach the bottom lor...

Got got, just check. It is call diploma in tourism and resort management. Ok what. More course choices for everyone. Can also work for Banyan Tree, Four Seasons, not only casino la. Cannot force people to do teaching by giving less course choices la. That will really lead to not dedicated teachers. Like last time when we have little alternatives in schools. Those go be teachers, not satisfied that leave the profession. Like that waste more tax payers money.

Dnls_mum

Dnls mum,

Your ptm reminds me of the recent one we had. Teacher told us generally ok n then she quoted some silly prank he did during one assembly. I almost burst out laughing...but held it in...still I think there was a smile on my face. I was like...er, we were playing such silly pranks up to JC...so what is new?!
              She must have been thinking I :siao:
              :rotflmao: šŸ˜†
              Ya la, everyone too uptight these days! šŸ™‚

You all need so much liang teh for what hah? Personally, I only need when Nebbermind's avatar appears. Whoooooooo! That one... I tell you... **hyperventilate**

Actually I'm :skeptical: abt wats going on with Nebbermind's hand under that leaf... keeps moving back n forth. But face remains straight.

• NebbermindN Offline
                  Nebbermind

You all need so much liang teh for what hah? Personally, I only need when Nebbermind's avatar appears. Whoooooooo! That one... I tell you... **hyperventilate**

Actually I'm :skeptical: abt wats going on with Nebbermind's hand under that leaf... keeps moving back n forth. But face remains straight.

Coz I m focusing on your avatar mah! The smile will come later :rotflmao:

*gasp*

Oh well... as long as it helps release uptight-ness. :politebleah:

Dnls_mum.. your posts rockz! :boogie: I loike! :please:

Did your DS eventually get to ...
                      1.....do the SS topic he wanted?
                      2.....not do it cos teacher didn't agree to?
                      3.....to do it and score? :evil:
                      4.....do another cos he can get distinction for it?

Ps how come ds is horrendous in Chinese when you n hubby are good?
                      It's my assumption since both of you come from schs with rich heritage as well as himself.

tck

Focusing on small class sizes and low student-teacher ratio, the teaching sector (primary and secondary) is one where I would definitely welcome FT. What does everyone think? Of course must be quality teachers lah. Since we need many more teachers to achieve small class sizes, and given Singapore's \"limited talent pool\" (a phrase so often used by the powers that be), why not hire from the global pool? We haven't been shy about hiring FT in almost every sector of the economy.

But I think one reason this won't happen is the fear that these global teachers might bring their liberal thinking and influence our young ones šŸ˜›

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 126 / 154