Is GEP really necessary?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.5k Posts 104 Posters 439.3k Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

I see... πŸ˜‰

πŸ˜‚ sure kena, wan, hor? no point fighting... hehehe.. he who thinks he will do fine will do just fine. πŸ˜‚ I thought my kids were doing well too. Don't forget, my kids were doing very well in the Singapore system, and I had too much faith in it. Only if I had known and opened my eyes wider, I would not have been caught off guard... but that is bridge under water. Thank God for the alternate great outcome. πŸ˜“

I chose to ignore what this person said. http://scientific-child-prodigy.blogspot.com.au/2009/02/gifted-education-programme-is-failure.html
      and thought it will never happen to me.

Yes… and your children are blessed to have the opportunity to have a go at it (alternative path)… for not every family can do that or can afford to do that. Hence why some or most of us hafta make do with what we have, what is given and what we can do to the best of our abilities. Rich or poor, how our kids turn out will be part of how we nurture them and how hard they can work to achieve what they want out of the systems in place and what they want in life in the future.

No one owes us a living.

• 2 Offline
          2ppaamm

No one owes us a living.
          Yes, I remember this everyday as I journey through finding paths for my children. I am thankful they made us stronger than ever. It is a system that does not care about destroying lives, and we refuse to be destroyed.

But I often recall those gifted faces I see in that place they wanted to banish us to. I remember how that mother kept assuring her GEP child he was gifted, and slowly allow them to strip him of them. To me, that is a sin. It also reminds me that many will have to go through that path, and now I know, there's no way I can stop them, because some parents will always allow that, thinking that is giving their children the best opportunities. I am no hero. I rest my case.

As for the child prodigy, I truly feel for him and can feel for the parents as well. Like you, they never conformed to what they thought they couldn't have and because they can, they made the decision to go with their parental instinct (gut feel) thru all the research they've done and thru the highs and lows to get to the alternative path... and where he can feel accepted just simply being who he is and being able to pursue greater heights. Singapore has lost many of the truly gifted having made these kids go one big merry go round. I don't need to have gifted children to empathize with their journeys of parenthood, because simply... I'm a parent myself.

In actual fact, everyone of us will help our children pursue the best they can be no matter how or which route is taken to get there. Whether or not GEP was necessary in the first place, this route is already in place. Children who qualify and can maximize their potentials with this programme, great for them and for the rest of them/us... it doesn't mean life stops there. We just work at our mainstream pace and perhaps work a little harder... :grphug:

Melodies

What do you think?

My take is it is a combination of both education system and the kaisu/Kiasi/Kaibosm mentality of parents. :siao:

Melodies:

6 tuition is outdated now, some of them have 10 tuition (one for every language subject, two compo and two orals, 2 sciences and 2 maths with 1 based on syllabus and another for GEP ).

Estimated cost is $2.5K exuding music, dance, swimming, tennis, golf, taekwondo:yikes:

This level of tuition is system issue? :?

• 2 Offline
                2ppaamm

As for the child prodigy, I truly feel for him and can feel for the parents as well. Like you, they never conformed to what they thought they couldn't have and because they can, they made the decision to go with their parental instinct (gut feel) thru all the research they've done and thru the highs and lows to get to the alternative path... and where he can feel accepted just simply being who he is and being able to pursue greater heights. Singapore has lost many of the truly gifted having made these kids go one big merry go round. I don't need to have gifted children to empathize with their journeys of parenthood, because simply... I'm a parent myself.

In actual fact, everyone of us will help our children pursue the best they can be no matter how or which route is taken to get there. Whether or not GEP was necessary in the first place, this route is already in place. Children who qualify and can maximize their potentials with this programme, great for them and for the rest of them/us... it doesn't mean life stops there. We just work at our mainstream pace and perhaps work a little harder... :grphug:
                Yep, all of us will fight for our children. I am reminded of something my PreU2 teacher wrote in my testimonial, that whenever I see something not right, you can trust that I will stand up for it. And I have been doing this for decades... and today, a post reminded me that people might be happy struggling themselves and then be successful. While I thought they are disadvantaged, they might not. And how true! It is only when we go through hard times that we become stronger. I should not assume some people want help. So let the lower % struggle and when they become stronger, they overtake the white horses. I remember this always happens, and that thought made me happy.
                My daughter's favourite music these days:
                [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xn676-fLq7I][/youtube]

Melodies:
                  What do you think?

My take is it is a combination of both education system and the kaisu/Kiasi/Kaibosm mentality of parents. :siao:

[quote=\"Melodies\"]6 tuition is outdated now, some of them have 10 tuition (one for every language subject, two compo and two orals, 2 sciences and 2 maths with 1 based on syllabus and another for GEP ).

Estimated cost is $2.5K exuding music, dance, swimming, tennis, golf, taekwondo:yikes:

This level of tuition is system issue? :?

[/quote]I used to be appalled at the double, triple tuition per subject but now I am cool to such practices because I respect choices.

A combination is pretty vague. With 6-10 tuitions, where do you think the weightage lies?

• 2 Offline
                    2ppaamm

Melodies, hehehe... don't worry about tuition lah, when I come back one day, I will set up a centre, and you can register. I will guarantee applicants will enter the university of their choices by 16, and no tuition required, just 4 hours of study a day, and must take part in CCA with age peers. My track record? 80% and will reach 100% soon - better than GEP by far. hahahah!!!

But only open to non-GEPpers. Since GEPpers already have the MOE looking after them. Need PSLE score of 240 to apply if age to university is <16, for those <240, can only guarantee to university at 18 or 19. For those who score less than 200 at PSLE, I will help to put into training institutes after equivalent of 'A' levels. Tuition fee: just material costs.

And, I am 100% confident of the results.

Maybe action speaks louder than words. πŸ™‚

If want to be kiasu, kiasi and kiabo, be really kiasu, kiasi, kiabo. Don't stop half way. Achieve beyond your dreams! And you can! The system cannot stop you, and there is help available. MOE is not the only system in the world. Don't let that stop you. πŸ™‚

LOLMum

Melodies:
                      6 tuition is outdated now, some of them have 10 tuition (one for every language subject, two compo and two orals, 2 sciences and 2 maths with 1 based on syllabus and another for GEP ).

How in the world do kids fit all these in? :yikes: Still have cca n when competition dates draw near, have to go for extra training....

Imami

Melodies:

How in the world do kids fit all these in? :yikes: Still have cca n when competition dates draw near, have to go for extra training....

Maybe that's why got some kid ran away lor....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 132 / 154