Is GEP really necessary?
Dnls_mum:
Wah... running the danger of nepotism :scratchhead: But I will choose the poorer one, or the one who needs the job more, only if he/she is at least 3rd generation Singaporean.
I will choose the Singaporean! :evil: -
Actually the 24ish aren't that bad lah...
Zhuge:
Sorry this was my last update in Dec 21 last year:
NUSH - 262
NYGH - 262
RGS - 261
RI - 261
HCI - 258
NJC - 258
Cedar - 258/250
DHS - 256
ACSI - 255/247
VS - 255/247
RVH - 254
MGS - 250
CHS - 248
SCGS - 248
SNG - 246
BPGH - 244
Anglican High - 243
Crescent - 243
Nan Hua - 243
SJI - 242
St Margaret's - 240
Chung Cheng High Main - 237
Nan Chiau High - 236
Zhonghua - 236
Swiss Cottage - 235
TKGS - 235
Ngee Ann - 233
Tanjong Katong - 233
Chung Cheng High Yishun - 232
Maris Stella - 232
Yishun Town - 232
Kranji - 230
Temasek - 230 -
comfy:
Of course not lah. I off-topic even more...
Thanks for replying. I understand from your point of views. I will try my best to put my point across. (I am better in talking than writing when comes to express my thought.) The reason why I post this question is that somewhere in this thread, someone mentioned that too much resources have already been poured into GEP programme and sort of expect some kind of output/result from them in the long term. In my dd's class, there are quite a few of PR kids and I have nothing against them. Well, it just that during one of the coversation when one of the mummy shared that her dd would go oversea where she can get free education if she does not want to continue sec school in Singapore. (US citizen) I sort of huh.... what if after all the gep education, these kids just left Singapore and the question I asked myself is : Is it justify to 'invest' in them in GEP from Singaporean point of view? Or is it better to have more Singaporean benefiting from this programme? If this is off topic here, please ignore.
Actually, you have brought up an excellent point... we cannot be biased against a PR, but it is a reality that they have no loyalty. Your example reminds me of many others: the Singapore government gives out (taxpayer's money) of $25K per tertiary scholar, but they are 2nd grade ones, compared to those who prefer to go to the Western countries. And these folks then serve their bonds of 3-10(medicine) years and then they wave goodbye... Hello? Many of our Singaporeans have to pay school fees +tax.
First generation PRs come to Singapore and they don't have to do NS, after taking all the education, make the money, they then say goodbye and move elsewhere when their kids have to do NS. Hello, my son has to protect them? My son can't even get a deferment to further his studies.
So, yes. I can feel what you are saying, but there's nothing we can do to stop a PR. And, many PRs are not loyal, unlike PRs from other countries. Because, once you are no longer a 'newbie' in Singapore, you are no longer valued. This is the first time I come across a country that gives more privileges to outsiders than their own... but aiyah, who am I to complain? I've already left... I am already counting my blessings. -
2ppaamm:
I agree to a large extent, but also disagree lah.Dnls_mum:
I'll not pick the PhD. Those good at studies not necessary good at work. Conversely, too highly educated cannot bring themselves down to communicate with normal people. Just like our ministers lor :rotflmao:
I am in front line sales and I speak from personal experience. Those who are too smart think they know everything and do not listen to what their clients really want. They think they know what their client wants.
In my experience PHD, especially mathematician only good in dealing room. And then even some cannot succeed because no EQ. Too smart, no one else understand them or can communicate with them. These people too academic and not in touch with real world.
In my world, degree only get you started. After that it is on the job performance that count. Whether you can make money for the bank.
Firstly, I don't know why, the PhDs in Singapore GENERALLY (not all har) have bad EQ. But there are some who are really good! Really! I think you have not met them yet. In fact, they are better than many, many bankers (those screaming vulgar language watching computers all day ones... you know which department I mean) that I know.
You see, for a professor to be truly successful, he/she must work with other professors, so there is no way a person can be successful unless they have people skills. So, I'd say you met the 'ahem' ones. :rotflmao:
I agree with that said about 'the smart ones'. But I think it also depends on the upbringing and how much they have worked with people with different kinds of people. That's why I think the way you have let your GEP kid mix is really good. Not all parents are so enlightened. Unfortunately, it is very hard to teach EQ to very bright people, especially those who are strong on the right side of the brain. God is fair, not all of us are gifted in both ways. However, I tend to agree with you that, not only in banking, in most industries, it is the EQ that carry us much further. Now... my question is then, why are the GEPpers then the ones who are groomed from P4-P6, when we already know that we don't need a big IQ to lead organizations. Attention should be given to a larger group, because in fact, I believe the top 25% has much chance to succeed in the commercial world.
Too smart, not true cannot communicate with the world, if they are taught to do so. There is a way to break the information down. The difference between a lot of professors in Singapore and the Western is their ability to bring themselves down to other people's levels. In GEP, they tell you that you are smart, but they Havel never taught how to express and communicate with people of different levels of intelligence. A skill I feel is even more important than training them to be human calculators.
I agree completely that in the banking and many industries, a degree only gets you started. However, I remember getting a banking job simply because I had a postgrad, and it was a front line job. That is because, there were other candidates, and we all had the same work experience, and we were all more or less at par in industry knowledge and EQ department. Finally, the boss gave me the job and specifically told me because I had a higher degree. For me, it became the tie breaker, and that was my door opener.
I suppose everyone's views and opinions are based on our personal experience. My views are what I will do, but not all recruiting managers are like me. My first experience with a post grad is at my first financial industry job. A credit and marketing job, requiring me to bring in new business. One of my colleague is an MBA. The boss is very clear that she was recruited becos of her MBA. Several of us fresh grads came in a while after her. I tell you, she had the worst sales performance among all of us for the 2 years I was there. Of cos then in subsequent years I had other experiences too.
Let's just agree to disagree, ok?
ruohoo97:
Hi ruohoo97,chamonix:
That is why my son has been begging me and trying his luck every week to take him out of school. He said he can learn much more and faster at home, and still has lots of time to laze around.

I had homeschooled my two elder kids till P3, I must say both, (homeschool and mainstream school) have their pros and cons. Homeschool, kids naturally will learn more and fast; but Mum was really tired, so I gave up when NO4 DS came. My children enjoy both lah, but they like school more because they can play their sports, soccer in the school team. So I guess, ้ฑผๅ็ๆ้พไปฅๅ ผๅพไน๏ผ
It's so nice to meet another homeschooler (or ex-homeschooler). :snuggles: So, you placed your kids back to school only when they were in P3 (twins)?
For us, it was more of an 'unschooling' approach. Hence, I have a much easier time as in I just need to provide my kids with resources and have them tell me whatever they want. (We kept our hands off the Singapore syllabus except for Maths.)
But like you, I placed my kids back in schools hoping they will get to experience teamwork and enjoy the various activities they offer. My son is looking forward to joining badminton while my girl dancing. Hopefully, they will get their wishes come true soon. :xedfingers: -
You have a point if you are referring to that 24x GEPper, but if a boy with 23x with no affiliation, his choices will be quite different from the boy with affiliation, the latter goes to a 25x school on this list... hehehe... do you know which school I am referring to?Actually the 24ish aren't that bad lah...
Zhuge:
Sorry this was my last update in Dec 21 last year:
NUSH - 262
NYGH - 262
RGS - 261
RI - 261
HCI - 258
NJC - 258
Cedar - 258/250
DHS - 256
ACSI - 255/247
VS - 255/247
RVH - 254
MGS - 250
CHS - 248
SCGS - 248
SNG - 246
BPGH - 244
Anglican High - 243
Crescent - 243
Nan Hua - 243
SJI - 242
St Margaret's - 240
Chung Cheng High Main - 237
Nan Chiau High - 236
Zhonghua - 236
Swiss Cottage - 235
TKGS - 235
Ngee Ann - 233
Tanjong Katong - 233
Chung Cheng High Yishun - 232
Maris Stella - 232
Yishun Town - 232
Kranji - 230
Temasek - 230
And, one even better one. This boy with affiliation got 22x, can't even get through with affiliation. Got through at appeal to a school with COP >250 according to this list, with a valid rea$on lah. PSLE, to me, is a joke because people study like :siao: for it, and then there are ways and means to go around it. -
Dnls_mum:
Hahaha... is that MBA a PR? :rotflmao:
I suppose everyone's views and opinions are based on our personal experience. My views are what I will do, but not all recruiting managers are like me. My first experience with a post grad is at my first financial industry job. A credit and marketing job, requiring me to bring in new business. One of my colleague is an MBA. The boss is very clear that she was recruited becos of her MBA. Several of us fresh grads came in a while after her. I tell you, she had the worst sales performance among all of us for the 2 years I was there. Of cos then in subsequent years I had other experiences too.
Let's just agree to disagree, ok?
No worries lah, all our experiences are different, and the people we meet are also different, no big deal, prefer to focus on the similarities... :imcool: -
Ok, if u r talking abt affiliation, I don't wish to get drawn into that

chamonix:
Hi ruohoo97,ruohoo97:
[quote=\"chamonix\"]That is why my son has been begging me and trying his luck every week to take him out of school. He said he can learn much more and faster at home, and still has lots of time to laze around.

I had homeschooled my two elder kids till P3, I must say both, (homeschool and mainstream school) have their pros and cons. Homeschool, kids naturally will learn more and fast; but Mum was really tired, so I gave up when NO4 DS came. My children enjoy both lah, but they like school more because they can play their sports, soccer in the school team. So I guess, ้ฑผๅ็ๆ้พไปฅๅ ผๅพไน๏ผ
It's so nice to meet another homeschooler (or ex-homeschooler). :snuggles: So, you placed your kids back to school only when they were in P3 (twins)?
For us, it was more of an 'unschooling' approach. Hence, I have a much easier time as in I just need to provide my kids with resources and have them tell me whatever they want. (We kept our hands off the Singapore syllabus except for Maths.)
But like you, I placed my kids back in schools hoping they will get to experience teamwork and enjoy the various activities they offer. My son is looking forward to joining badminton while my girl dancing. Hopefully, they will get their wishes come true soon. :xedfingers:[/quote]Yes, there is definitely value in putting them in school. I found homeschooling the kids full-time and all the time not very good for the parent and the children. As a FTWM, I found it hard to cope and tiring, but kept pushing. It is good to have a chance to put them in school, especially if the school is not too demanding. I get some 'time-off', get recharged and then go again.
My sons also now prefer going to school, and just two years ago, they were dying to be homeschooled. Change is also good for them. Who knows, when they get tired of school again, they might ask me to homeschool them, which I am perfectly fine as well. My daughter was dying to get out of school, so I homeschooled her last year. Starting this year, she has been so happy to go to uni. Now, she is like a bird everyday... happy to go to school for classes, happy to have friends even though they are much older, great study groups. I think the homeschool and school mix worked well for her. She went to school a total of 6 years, homeschooled 3 years, preschool for 4 years and her uni is a 4 years' course. I thought her learning journey has been great, and seeing her so happy is the best reward for me.
She now owns a small biz, is also looking for a part-time job since she is now legally able to work (14) but mainly because her business is not paying her enough! :rotflmao: So there's no hard and fast rule, at least for me. I can still recall the angry, frustrated girl she was, and am so happy I answered her calls for help. ้ฑผๅ็ๆ้พไปฅๅ
ผๅพไน Can!
OT
Now listening to the rally. Quite like HSKโฆhe seems to be listening to people more than statistics.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.