All About the Wii

174 Posts 41 Posters 51.1k Views 1 Watching
      titank

jesschan:
      Same for my boys. They also like to play all sorts of electronic games but we set down the rules since day one - they only play NDS on Friday nights and Saturday afternoons when they visit their grannies. To play Wii or computer games, they must earn their rights i.e. behaving well. And each play session is only 45min.

Hi Jess Chan,

Care to share how you control the usage of wii on yr child? Every sat & sunday just allow them to play 45 minutes?

titank:
        Guess I would stop for the time being in getting the Wii. Now my DS playing the PS is already addicted. Once there is no homework will hook on a few hours on sat & sunday.

I guess would let him play during the school holidays would be appropraite. Notcie that the games of PS it is eitehr racing, fighting etc.
        Titank, cannot allow free play. Must set time frame. No homework oso
        can still have assessment right? For me, no homework doesn't always
        mean zero revision for the day. My girls oso not addicted. Sometimes
        i let them play oso they dowan. Ask me play with them. :love:

Not really only fighting and racing leh. Parents can decide what game
        to load inside mah. You don't want them to play too much on racing or
        fighting then don't have to load. My girls have adventure games like Mario
        and there are also others like Princess and Winx Club for girls where they
        go by stages or levels. Can save game also. šŸ˜‰ There are also those
        puzzle games like Tetris (Block Game), Bubble Game or crossword puzzle,
        chess, reversi, memory games, picture puzzle games, cooking games, etc.

We are considering to get the Wii after we (hubs and i) had fun with the
        Band Hero jam at brother in law's place. Very fun and very good for
        de-stressing. šŸ˜‰

peterch

titank:
          Guess I would stop for the time being in getting the Wii. Now my DS playing the PS is already addicted. Once there is no homework will hook on a few hours on sat & sunday.

I guess would let him play during the school holidays would be appropraite. Notice that the games of PS it is eitehr racing, fighting etc.
          I set 'rules' for my kids :
          - They could only play on Friday after school until Saturday
          - No playing at games centre such as Timezone at all (wasting so much $$$ for little excitement :stupid: )

So far they quite responsible and could follow my 'rules' šŸ˜„

I have all kind of console and handheld at home (as actually I am the 'game freak' during their age :!: )

Actually, the main issue is as long as there is no new game, they gradually stop playing. But there are so much new games produce, so just be wise to buy. BUT all these depend on parents and kids themselves šŸ˜„

• Lynn2L Offline
            Lynn2

How much is the wil game now and what is the latest,can someone advice?

Heard buying from UK is cheaper?Is there a newer version.

Is this good for children?thanks

• tankeeT Offline
              tankee

titank:

I guess would let him play during the school holidays would be appropraite. Notcie that the games of PS it is eitehr racing, fighting etc.
              IMO, PS games are less suitable for young children.

Personally I would prefer PS3 to Wii over the graphics; but chose wii for the more family oriented games.

jesschan

[quote]Hi Jess Chan,

Care to share how you control the usage of wii on yr child? Every sat & sunday just allow them to play 45 minutes?
                [/quote]Oh, I have a star reward system at home for my boys. When they earn a star after fulfilling some requirements, they can exchange for some rewards, one of which is to exchange for 45min of Wii play. But interestingly, they hardly ask for Wii - they prefer to ask for rewards such as extending their bedtime by 30min on Fri/Sat nights, a nice bubble bath or outdoor play for 45min.

BigDevil

de-stressing. šŸ˜‰
                  News flash! News flash!

Bad news....for those trying to win the Wii in the upcoming KSP auctions.
                  Good news....buds giving out KSP angpows! :evil: šŸ˜‰

titank

Titank, cannot allow free play. Must set time frame. No homework oso

can still have assessment right? For me, no homework doesn't always
                    mean zero revision for the day. My girls oso not addicted. Sometimes
                    i let them play oso they dowan. Ask me play with them. :love:

Not really only fighting and racing leh. Parents can decide what game
                    to load inside mah. You don't want them to play too much on racing or
                    fighting then don't have to load. My girls have adventure games like Mario
                    and there are also others like Princess and Winx Club for girls where they
                    go by stages or levels. Can save game also. šŸ˜‰ There are also those
                    puzzle games like Tetris (Block Game), Bubble Game or crossword puzzle,
                    chess, reversi, memory games, picture puzzle games, cooking games, etc.

de-stressing. šŸ˜‰
                    Ya maybe should set a time frame. DS is a person where can't relax.Always want to make full use of the time either on study & play. Maybe I should plan more enrichment on sat & sun then can him out from console games!

Like that mean I have to invest more $$ in enrichment.Wow going to break my piggy bank.
                    :!:

pokemon

jesschan:
                      I think nowadays, very few retailers sell the mod version in Singapore because it is illegal. And you can't play the original games on mod version, if I am not wrong.

i can confirm mod set can play all the original games. Infact there are still alot of retailers in hdb areas selling the mod version.

BigDevil:

de-stressing. šŸ˜‰

News flash! News flash!

Bad news....for those trying to win the Wii in the upcoming KSP auctions.
                        Good news....buds giving out KSP angpows! :evil: šŸ˜‰

Wah, suka suka broadcast dis one. šŸ˜›

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 10 / 18

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog