How to save electricity?
Anyone realises one of the contributing factors to high PUB bills in homes is having maids in the house? Take a good look at the way they use electricity, gas and yes, especially WATER!!! Most play little or no part in conserving water and energy. Best way to educate them is not just show them the bills but make them pay for it as well. :evil:
Yes, it only sensible to have a lift for homes at least three storey high. Apart from carrying items, must also bear in mind in case of poor health or in the instance of unwanted accidents, where one just cannot climb the stairs. Though in good health, people may think of it as an impractical accessory. It is also true in financial sense that should the house be put up for sale in future, the lift will be a push/sell factor especially for buyers with extended families and/or elderly.
Harlequin babe, apart from looking at changing to energy-saving bulbs and swapping to electrical appliances with better energy conserving features, I find that $1100 per month for a home with central air-conditioning, more bathrooms, daily cooking and laundry washing (etc) is a moderate amount. The monthly expenses forked out cannot be measured against a regular HDB but if one wants to look at it in apple to apple comparison, one storey of similar landed property can be somewhat a size of a regular HDB unit or even bigger, the raw breakdown of $300+ per floor is not considered anywhere exorbitant. A regular HDB unit with heavy/all-day air-conditioning may amount to a similar range.
A dryer’s usage also adds as to how much more one pays for the monthly expenses. Some families dump immediately from washer to dryer and such cycle may last what like 2 hrs or so depending on how heavy the load is. But for families who indoor-dry prior to dumping in the dryer, they may see significant decrease in those month-end numbers.
As for fridges, it’s more common these days to see families owning two (fridges) in a HDB unit as compared to before. There may be more people living in the house or may have bigger diet. An aunt who does private catering apart from selling at a school canteen invested in a freezer chest to maximize storage so she doesn’t hafta keep running grocery errands every other day.
Personally, I find your $ output of an average of $1.1k a month for your household and occasionally fluctuating to $1.5 gees when you have guests in the house or doing a month of heavier entertaining, the amount is not that starkly exorbitant if you look at the big picture. -
Harlequin:
Second this.. :evil:limlim:
[quote=\"Irrelevant\"]
Big house good! Can invite us to your house for a party or not? And while we're there, can we check out the Rolls Royce?
IC please... :evil:[/quote]picture of the house first.. if no nice no want visit.. :evil:
picture of owner too.. if no friendly looking no want visit.... -
Mai gei gei bro.. photo check is not for gauging friendliness.
It's to check whether she is chio bu.
Men.
That's why whoever (men) tells you he looks out for character/personality of a woman first before her looks is a big fat :censored: liar.
:offtopic: -
Lim San! Don’t understand why you still need pix?......
picture of the house first.. if no nice no want visit.. :evil:
picture of owner too.. if no friendly looking no want visit....
A house that have all those fixtures mentioned cant be anything else but nice….
And someone like harlequin.…well, she’s well fed and sheltered …she gotta be 白白,柔柔嫩嫩 type……. :evil:
Faster go register…before offer over liao......
How you know the owner is not her hubby ar..?Mai gei gei bro.. photo check is not for gauging friendliness.
It's to check whether she is chio bu.
Men.
That's why whoever (men) tells you he looks out for character/personality of a woman first before her looks is a big fat :censored: liar.
:offtopic:
but agree with your last statement..
it's true worr.. :imanangel: -
CloudeeDaz:
If it's at oxley road.... I scared....
Lim San! Don’t understand why you still need pix?limlim:
picture of the house first.. if no nice no want visit.. :evil:
A house that have all those fixtures mentioned cant be anything else but nice….
And someone like harlequin.…well, she’s well fed and sheltered …she gotta be 白白,柔柔嫩嫩 type……. :evil:
Faster go register…before offer over liao......
Haha... if I said my house not nice, then my architect is going to :spank: me... but on the same road there are nicer and bigger houses, I love the house no. 21 :please:
picture of the house first.. if no nice no want visit.. :evil:Harlequin:
IC please... :evil:
Do you do Facebook? :evil: I put up some pictures there lei... in this vain world, FB is a platform to show off, friends kek me until I finally put up pictures, so that they could 'like' it... sometimes I really think its Bo Liao. Eg. swanky dinning venues, traveling pictures, big houses, new lovers... haiz, what is it for, other than showing off?! MIL hates FB, everytime I put up pictures she'd complain :scared: she log in FB just to keep an eye on me :evil: -
Thanks, buds.... now I feel better, less guiltyYes, it only sensible to have a lift for homes at least three storey high. Apart from carrying items, must also bear in mind in case of poor health or in the instance of unwanted accidents, where one just cannot climb the stairs. Though in good health, people may think of it as an impractical accessory. It is also true in financial sense that should the house be put up for sale in future, the lift will be a push/sell factor especially for buyers with extended families and/or elderly.
Harlequin babe, apart from looking at changing to energy-saving bulbs and swapping to electrical appliances with better energy conserving features, I find that $1100 per month for a home with central air-conditioning, more bathrooms, daily cooking and laundry washing (etc) is a moderate amount. The monthly expenses forked out cannot be measured against a regular HDB but if one wants to look at it in apple to apple comparison, one storey of similar landed property can be somewhat a size of a regular HDB unit or even bigger, the raw breakdown of $300+ per floor is not considered anywhere exorbitant. A regular HDB unit with heavy/all-day air-conditioning may amount to a similar range.
A dryer's usage also adds as to how much more one pays for the monthly expenses. Some families dump immediately from washer to dryer and such cycle may last what like 2 hrs or so depending on how heavy the load is. But for families who indoor-dry prior to dumping in the dryer, they may see significant decrease in those month-end numbers.
As for fridges, it's more common these days to see families owning two (fridges) in a HDB unit as compared to before. There may be more people living in the house or may have bigger diet. An aunt who does private catering apart from selling at a school canteen invested in a freezer chest to maximize storage so she doesn't hafta keep running grocery errands every other day.
Personally, I find your $ output of an average of $1.1k a month for your household and occasionally fluctuating to $1.5 gees when you have guests in the house or doing a month of heavier entertaining, the amount is not that starkly exorbitant if you look at the big picture.
... but in the long run I think something should be done, just spoke to a friend whose hubby is a interior designer, he suggested that I should consider installing additional split unit airconds for certain areas in the house instead of using the centralized ones daily, may not be as cooling as central aircond but can really save on electricity consumption.
Thanks, buds.... now I feel better, less guiltyYes, it only sensible to have a lift for homes at least three storey high. Apart from carrying items, must also bear in mind in case of poor health or in the instance of unwanted accidents, where one just cannot climb the stairs. Though in good health, people may think of it as an impractical accessory. It is also true in financial sense that should the house be put up for sale in future, the lift will be a push/sell factor especially for buyers with extended families and/or elderly.
A dryer's usage also adds as to how much more one pays for the monthly expenses. Some families dump immediately from washer to dryer and such cycle may last what like 2 hrs or so depending on how heavy the load is. But for families who indoor-dry prior to dumping in the dryer, they may see significant decrease in those month-end numbers.
As for fridges, it's more common these days to see families owning two (fridges) in a HDB unit as compared to before. There may be more people living in the house or may have bigger diet. An aunt who does private catering apart from selling at a school canteen invested in a freezer chest to maximize storage so she doesn't hafta keep running grocery errands every other day.
Personally, I find your $ output of an average of $1.1k a month for your household and occasionally fluctuating to $1.5 gees when you have guests in the house or doing a month of heavier entertaining, the amount is not that starkly exorbitant if you look at the big picture.
... but in the long run I think something should be done, just spoke to a friend whose hubby is a interior designer, he suggested that I should consider installing additional split unit airconds for certain areas in the house instead of using the centralized ones daily, may not be as cooling as central aircond but can really save on electricity consumption.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.