How to save electricity?

556 Posts 63 Posters 147.9k Views 1 Watching
    • G Offline
      GLORYmum

Thanks limlim for your inputs. :please:

For once you not talking :censored: or make people angry. šŸ’‹

Yeah he is good n knowledgeable. I hv my confusion cleared up already. Can walk in to any lighting shops n confidently order my led linear tube studying lights.
      :rahrah:

Harlequin

I believe for domestic use, the 1st step is to stay away from halogen (downlight) and incandescent lightings if really wanna save energy.

yes yes yes yes......

Not only less efficient in illumination, it produces a gigantic amount of heat that will send your aircon bills over the roof..

:faint: even my bathrooms are fitted with this halogen, 4 units above the sink and 3 more units above the bathtubs :faint:

I googled and found this Green Max LED, which I can order online... Is Green Max's LED good? Anyone tried before, please share.... TIA.

• NebbermindN Offline
          Nebbermind

Harlequin:

:faint: even my bathrooms are fitted with this halogen, 4 units above the sink and 3 more units above the bathtubs :faint:

I googled and found this Green Max LED, which I can order online... Is Green Max's LED good? Anyone tried before, please share.... TIA.
          Maybe you can contact them and ask them to re-fit the lightings for your whole house at a discount....and use it as a case study on the savings. šŸ˜‰

limlim

how to save electricity when it is so hot and humid of late?

every night while hanging laundry on bamboo, i feel as though i am swimming even with fans turned on. kids are also taking more showers to cool down.

one good way to save electricity at home is to hit the malls and stay there till 7pm.
            I recommend you one way to save PUB bills significantly during this hot & humid weather...... :evil: :evil:

Turn off all the water heater. Bath with cold water.

plus the Cooling effect

minus electricity consumption

And bcoz water is cold, you may end up talking shorter bathes.. chop chop wash finish come out..

save electricity bills, save water bills..

good hor.. :evil:

Actually.. use cold water very shiok one..... :evil:

atrecord

Busymom:

This charge is new to me. What happens if I split a bathroom into two units (side by side, one just the shower and vanity top, the other side WC and a sink), would I have to pay for 2 toilets or 1 toilet?
              You just have to look at your monthly PUB bill. In it there are different items, some depends on usage (e.g. electricity, water), and some are fixed (e.g. toilets, refuse removal).

I think the charge is to ensure that the water supply to toilet is working, and the drainage pipe from toilet is working. If it was one toilet originally in the location, it should not change - but that's just my view...

atrecord

how to save electricity when it is so hot and humid of late?

every night while hanging laundry on bamboo, i feel as though i am swimming even with fans turned on. kids are also taking more showers to cool down.

one good way to save electricity at home is to hit the malls and stay there till 7pm.

I recommend you one way to save PUB bills significantly during this hot & humid weather...... :evil: :evil:

Turn off all the water heater. Bath with cold water.

plus the Cooling effect

minus electricity consumption

And bcoz water is cold, you may end up talking shorter bathes.. chop chop wash finish come out..

save electricity bills, save water bills..

good hor.. :evil:

Actually.. use cold water very shiok one..... :evil:

I quite agree. I have been doing that the last few days, not because to save $$, but just so as to cool down.

There are quite a few advantages to this, come to think of it.

atrecord

Busymom:

So LED lights good for eyes. Is it more energy-saving than energy saving lights?

Technically on paper yes lah.. the other time I went to a philips showroom at geylang they also something like 17W LED is as bright as 22W CFL or something like that..

but some folks here feedback that LED of same wattage is less bright.... so.. YMMV lor..

But one thing thou.. LED bulbs are quite directional.. i.e. like a torchlight, they beam forward, unlike CFL which by design can be almost 360deg all round.

So in term of lighting up a big area like a room, the LED may create the impression that it is \"less bright\". But it may in fact be brighter in the area that the beam is targeted at.. so some skillful positioning and orientation maybe recommended. I suspect only lah..

Actually it's strange, as i remember almost all the lighting shops I went to when scouting for lights for house, told us that LED is not as bright as those normal energy-saving lights, watt for watt. But the difference is not v significant.

If not sure about LED, one way is to look straight at the 'bulb'. LED has lots of small light bulbs, each of which is not very/too bright to the eyes. If you have those conventional light bulb, for sure your eyes cannot look straight into the bulb for long.

atrecord

Busymom:

So LED lights good for eyes. Is it more energy-saving than energy saving lights?[/quote]

Apparently yes, according to what I was told by those selling lights... It's significantly more energy-saving, but LED costs significantly more upfront too. The guys told me will likely breakeven only after a few years of use...

limlim

atrecord:

Actually it's strange, as i remember almost all the lighting shops I went to when scouting for lights for house, told us that LED is not as bright as those normal energy-saving lights, watt for watt. But the difference is not v significant.
                      atrecord:
                      Busymom:

So LED lights good for eyes. Is it more energy-saving than energy saving lights?

Apparently yes, according to what I was told by those selling lights... It's significantly more energy-saving, but LED costs significantly more upfront too. The guys told me will likely breakeven only after a few years of use...

This 2 statements are contradicting worr..

atrecord

atrecord:

atrecord:
                        [quote=\"Busymom\"]So LED lights good for eyes. Is it more energy-saving than energy saving lights?

Err... let me try to see if i make sense:

If you use 18W LED vs 18W energy-saving light, the latter is brighter. So you might have to use, say, 22W LED to match up in terms of brightness.

Not sure if this is the way to present it, but the electricity bill spent on the 22W LED is less than the 18W enery-saving one, significantly in terms of percentage. However, since light as a whole, is not all that expensive, the absolute savings is not that much (e.g. if it was originally $0.50, even if you save 20%, the absolute saving is only $0.10)...

And given that the price of LED is much higher than normal energy-saving lights (i think as much as 2x or 3x the price), if the price difference is say, $50 for one light, it will take many years for the electricity bill savings to be more than the $50 you have spent more on the LED...

Does this help?
                        This 2 statements are contradicting worr..[/quote]

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 46 / 56