Simple Recipes to Share
pink_daisy:
You can try the A1 brand in orange packaging..They have 2 different paste for meat and fish....I found they are comparable to the fresh one sold in the wet market....If you are using coconut milk, i prefer the fresh type sold in NTUC in 2 different sizes and not the Kara tetra pack....The latter does not taste so shiok...If you are buying the paste, you can also add your own lesson grass...Fry it together when you are frying the paste....my DH is a curry chicken lover and so we cook this once every 2-3 weeks lah.... :drool:hi all,
any recommendation for instant curry chicken mix/ paste? or any recipe for curry chicken? -
HappyAvon:
yes, i also like this A1 brand instant curry chicken paste. Realy convenient and taste gd. My mum, sil and some relatives are using it as well.
You can try the A1 brand in orange packaging..They have 2 different paste for meat and fish....I found they are comparable to the fresh one sold in the wet market....If you are using coconut milk, i prefer the fresh type sold in NTUC in 2 different sizes and not the Kara tetra pack....The latter does not taste so shiok...If you are buying the paste, you can also add your own lesson grass...Fry it together when you are frying the paste....my DH is a curry chicken lover and so we cook this once every 2-3 weeks lah.... :drool:pink_daisy:
hi all,
any recommendation for instant curry chicken mix/ paste? or any recipe for curry chicken? -
pokemon:
Ya, I like the A1 brand too. I also buy their Emperor Chicken mix to steam chicken. Yummy... :lol:
yes, i also like this A1 brand instant curry chicken paste. Realy convenient and taste gd. My mum, sil and some relatives are using it as well. -
schweppes:
Try also A1 bak kut teh, its the herbal type, fast and good.
Ya, I like the A1 brand too. I also buy their Emperor Chicken mix to steam chicken. Yummy... :lol:pokemon:
yes, i also like this A1 brand instant curry chicken paste. Realy convenient and taste gd. My mum, sil and some relatives are using it as well. -
pokemon:
So , do you buy prime ribs and put in lots of garlic? Do u add any other ingredients? Thanks :celebrate:
Try also A1 bak kut teh, its the herbal type, fast and good. -
anyone can cook tie ban tofu well, as in the sauce?I quite like the one that is in lemon grass but still cannot get the taste right?thanks
rgds -
Anyone likes Soto? This is my simplified version. I prefer it with beehoon or lontong along with lots of beansprouts.
1 Whole chicken boil and shred flesh
Grind
2 heaped tbsp coriander seeds
1 level tsp cumin seeds
8 -10 onions
2 cloves of garlic
3cm fresh turmeric
3 candlenut
(fry the ground ingredients till fragrant)
Add
1 lemongrass, crushed
2.5cm lengkuas, crushed
2 lime leaves
2 bay leaves
Salt
Water & stock from boiling the chicken
Serve with
Chilli, chopped
Dark soya sauce
Fried shallots
Parsley or Chinese celery
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Pq7gbJ0 -
Made these over the easter weekend. Kids had a ball of a time crushing & crumbling the digestive biscuits for me. I put the biscuits into plastic bags and passed them each a rolling pin and off they went whacking on the bags.
Crust
Ingredients
•\t1 1/2 cups finely ground graham cracker crumbs (substituted with digestive biscuit)
•\t6 tablespoons butter, melted
•\t1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional)
Directions
Mix graham cracker crumbs, melted butter or margarine, and cinnamon until well blended . Press mixture into tart shell. Refrigerate for 1 hr.
Filling
Ingredients
•\t2 cups milk (I use low fat fresh milk)
•\t1/4 cup white sugar
•\t2 egg yolks
•\t1 egg
•\t1/4 cup cornstarch
•\t1/3 cup white sugar
•\t2 tablespoons butter
•\t1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Directions
1.\tIn a heavy saucepan, stir together the milk and 1/4 cup of sugar. Bring to a boil over medium heat.
2.\tIn a medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks and egg. Stir together the remaining sugar and cornstarch; then stir them into the egg until smooth. When the milk comes to a boil, drizzle it into the bowl in a thin stream while mixing so that you do not cook the eggs. Return the mixture to the saucepan, and slowly bring to a boil, stirring constantly so the eggs don' t curdle or scorch on the bottom.
3.\tWhen the mixture comes to a boil and thickens, remove from the heat. Stir in the butter and vanilla, mixing until the butter is completely blended in. Pour into a heat-proof container and place a piece of plastic wrap directly on the surface to prevent a skin from forming. Refrigerate until chilled before using.
I tend to reduce the amount of sugars on all recipes that I use. Supposed to glaze the tart with gelatin but accidentally took the coloured ones instead of the clear ones so did not use it.
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Tsj7uM9
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Tsj7JK0 -
wow... looks yummy, Funz!! your kids must have enjoyed themselves helping you with the baking :lol:
Definitely simple to cook:
whitebait/scallop porridge
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=90928#90928
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.