Share your labour experience
Another 30mins later my daughter was born... she was delivered by the midwife. The gynae couldn't even make it on time!
Did your gynae give discount since he/she din manage to deliver your 2nd one?
I supposed it's included in the package -'pao' natural delivery......?? -
I think I am a failure in this.
When I had DS, I put on more than 20kg :!:
Before I had DS, I had a miscarriage once because I refused to succumb to my eating desire. As a result, my foetus did not survive. I felt remorseful and tried hard for the next child.
When I had DS, I was so overwhelmed! Learnt from my first experience, I just ate when I am hungry.
DS EDD was more than a week but I had to request my gynae to induce me earlier. My tummy was so heavy and I had difficulty breathing.
My gynae broke my waterbag and I went through labour pain for more than 8 hours. When my gynae came and checked on me, the opening is only 3cm. My pain was so unbearable and I begged him to do a C-sect on me.
So after spending more than 8 hours in labour ward, I was shifted to OT for the C-section.
If I had known I will have to go for C-section, I could just opt for C-sect and avoid the labour pain
When I had DD, I still choose for normal delivery as I believe I can do it. I was more than a week overdue.
Thank God, I experienced labour pains and was admitted.
My gynae advised to put me on epidural to prepare me for emergency c-section just in case.
I was in pain for 5 hours, I developed fits and was running a fever. When my gynae checked the opening, it was already 5cm.
However, as my DD was in duress, her heart beats very fast, my gynae told me that we have to get her out asap.
I was sent to the OT for emergency C-section. Only this time round, it wasn’t done under GA. I was awake during the whole process. My lower half of the body was under anaesthetic.
I went through labour pains in the delivery ward and was sent to OT for both my children.
Went through the same experience twice. -
Need clue ler, etc : where you live, which hopital you planned to deliver.... if not singapore so big how to guess.....
2nd child: delivered in the car while my hubby drives on! Want to make a guess on her 'place of birth' in the birth cert?
\"in moving car\"
2nd child: delivered in the car while my hubby drives on! Want to make a guess on her 'place of birth' in the birth cert?
? or in \"dad's car <<insert>>\" :rotflmao: ?
Actually did you write to the manufacturer?? And if its a VW, mebbe one more line to add to their newest voice commercial...XXX babies born in them...
:love:
Hi Andaiz
Good idea about writing to the car manufacturer... may be they will give a free car to the new born as pressent.
I am actually think CTE, ECP, BKP etc.... as the 'place of birth' -
kiasimom:
Kiasimom, don't be so hard on yourself ok. Just because you could not endure the pain and deliver naturally, doesn't mean that you are a failure. The point is that you have healthy, normal and good kids :rahrah: I know I am right cuz you are an 'ANGEL'I think I am a failure in this.
You shd only consider yourself a failure if you neglect them and don't do your best to bring them up well
After all, its just an experience (don't get me wrong, I am not trying to make light of this) .... focus on the positive ones .... :celebrate: -
Dear autumnbronze,
Thanks so much for your consoling.
I felt inferior as compared to moms who can endure many hours of pain
aspring:
Oh my, didn't think of that aspring...yeah, how about \"Kendang Kerbau Drive\" (does that exist? I mean the road leading to the hospital coz concern2 DC2 was too excited)
I am actually think CTE, ECP, BKP etc.... as the 'place of birth' -
//Editor's note: Article selected for http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/positive-birth-experience.
This was a long awaited and much longed for baby.
After like 4 miscarriages, finally managed to sustain the pregnancy beyond 4 mths.
Only managed to breathe normally during gynae's appts after surpassing the 6 mth mark. Prior to that, always prayed and hoped for the best but expected the worst. Now, told myself that if really water bag leak again, there is a chance for the baby to survive.
In the meantime, told DH that I was determined to have a positive, normal and WATER birth. This was v v impt to me cuz EVERYONE (my peers) I knew had a negative birth experience and even my mom predicted that I'd have a difficult birth cuz I was already in my thirties. I was not going to have that. He was like :!: \"Are you sure, what on earth is a water birth?\"
Got him and myself enrolled in a pte pre-natal class conducted by a doula. DH was skeptical at first about this, but he ended up looking forward to the classes at the end of the day :roll: Learnt the art of positive visualization to encourage a positive birth. Unfortunately, doula was going overseas during my due date so could not have a water-birth with her. I also did not want to engage someone that I was not familiar with at the last trimester of my pregnancy. So I signed up for pre-natal yoga instead.
So for the last 2 mths, got DH to perform perenial massage with oil because didn't want to take epidural. Every night b4 going to bed would listen to soothing music and visualize a full head of hair crowning
Was due on the 9th of August 07 but on the 2nd, woke up at 3 plus in the morn. Got up and when I stood up, my water bag burst. Wiped away the wetness and went abt packing my bag. Washed clothes in machine and dried them.
At about 5.30 in the morn, woke DH up, said I had something impt to tell him. He said ok and went back to sleep. Woke him up 15 mins later and told him that it was urgent. When he woke up and I told him about my water bag bursting, he asked, \"Is this a drill?\" I didn't know whether to :faint: or
Can't remember what time the contractions started. Didn't want to go to the hospital cuz I knew they would strap me down and won't let me walk. Went to the bathroom to take a shower. Didn't want to come out. DH calmly shaving. Then he asked me if I wanted milo. I snapped at him that it was already 10 plus in the morn and since 5 plus, he has been doing his own things (actually, it was his own way of coping with his wife in labour :lol:).
By then contractions getting frequent. Could not sit or lie down. Could only walk and everytime contractions reached its peak, I would have to put my hands agst the wall and bend my knees. But I followed thru with the breathing and did not resist the contractions.
By 11 plus, DH was getting nervous, contractions were frequent and I was reluctant to go to the hospital. For some strange reason, I wanted to deliver in the shower and asked him to call gynae at NUH and asked her abt it. That was the last straw for him. In his most stern voice, he said \"we'er going to the hospital NOW.\" I complied and off we went.
Had to kneel doggy style at the back of the car as sitting was painful. Contractions getting v v fast and frequent. When arrived at the hospital (DH had called b4 leaving), someone came out with a wheelchair which I refused. They insisted and I retorted back, \"you don't want to argue with a woman in active labour!\" So I walked all the way to the ward, pausing many times to put my hands on the wall and go along with the contractions when it reached its peak. Got a lot of stares, didn't care. So stylo somemore, I chose to wear my yoga pants and blouse :lol:
Finally reached ward, settled in, nurse checked and said was almost fully dilated. This was at 12 noon. True enough, they strapped me down and didn't want to let me walk anymore. DH had to force them to let me drink milo as I was tired. Couldn't even relax in the water tub as time to push soon.
DH had refused to face towards my legs and cut the cord but relented when baby was crowning (can't stand the sight of the blood lah). True enough, it was a full head of hair. By 2pm, I had delivered. Took me 2 hours since the time I checked in. Gynae/Obs reprimanded me nicely for coming in so late. But she was v v pleased with the easy birth.
It was the most happiest day of my life (besides meeting DH and marrying him of course). I had kept that personal promise to myself. I had had a positive birth experience
Alamak, kena published !!!!
I actually rushed home from dinner cuz I realized there were more details to add and some to edit. Blame it all on my DH for rushing me off to dinner just now .....
Nonetheless, :thankyou: :thankyou: Chief
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.