All About Active Community Leaders

3.3k Posts 266 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
    • skiiS Offline
      skii

Last year no official “unofficial data”

Lexy’s table is the next best alternative for 2018.

Benwong75:
      Hi, are there updated stats for 2018 registration? Thanks
      skii:

stats for 2017 and before
      https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/article/bukit-timah/

stats for year 2018
      https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=91621&p=1863114

My conclusion:
      balloting for more than 2KM is common for pei hwa thus 2B letter is not a bao jiak.
      have a plan B ready.
      (like RGPS or BTPS)

EDIT:
      bro, your address is near your RC right?

• floppyF Offline
        floppy

skii:
        Your timeline is very very tight.

Not say u wanna start can start. PA takes time to process. Chairman takes time to approve you joining meeting.

Cny in feb - my rc got no meeting in feb lo.
        Maybe other rc also no meeting.
        Sher_Sher:

Assuming I sign up now, Feb start off as Observant for 3months & get confirmed as a Member in May 2019, so that’s when the 2years start to count right? Then I might just have made it right before pri one registration in July 2021... Or based on experiences here, timing wise it’s already too late??

Unless the GRO has already committed to you on the timeline, I highly doubt it is doable.

No guarantee you can meet the Feb cut-off to join (unless there’s an open spot and GRO / PA works super fast).
        No guarantee you can be confirmed by May 2019 (may take up to a year to be confirmed or longer if there’s no place on the committee).

Realistically, I would say the boat has already sailed.

Sher_Sher

So means to say I shouldn’t even bother trying to go down this route? No chance liao?

floppy:
          skii:

Your timeline is very very tight.

Not say u wanna start can start. PA takes time to process. Chairman takes time to approve you joining meeting.

Cny in feb - my rc got no meeting in feb lo.
          Maybe other rc also no meeting.
          [quote=\"Sher_Sher\"]Assuming I sign up now, Feb start off as Observant for 3months & get confirmed as a Member in May 2019, so that’s when the 2years start to count right? Then I might just have made it right before pri one registration in July 2021... Or based on experiences here, timing wise it’s already too late??

Unless the GRO has already committed to you on the timeline, I highly doubt it is doable.

No guarantee you can meet the Feb cut-off to join (unless there’s an open spot and GRO / PA works super fast).
          No guarantee you can be confirmed by May 2019 (may take up to a year to be confirmed or longer if there’s no place on the committee).

Realistically, I would say the boat has already sailed.[/quote]

• floppyF Offline
            floppy

Sher_Sher:
            So means to say I shouldn’t even bother trying to go down this route? No chance liao?
            How confident are you of being accepted into the committee as an observer in Feb?

How sure are you of being appointed as a committee member by May?

How certain are you that there’s going to be a NC set up at all?

PA is a very large organisation that works at a very slow pace. You can certainly try, as that’s your prerogative. IMHO, unless you are ah kah ji with the adviser or chairman, or a VVIP, I don’t see how you can meet the dateline for 1 and 2, and I’m not even sure that there’s a 3 for you to join.

Sher_Sher

To be honest, I was exploring this option because I was going through the different phases & shortlisting schools for 2021 registration.

But looking at the timelines & uncertainty in events it does seem like it’s an end road for this. Thanks for sharing though.

floppy:
              Sher_Sher:

How confident are you of being accepted into the committee as an observer in Feb?

How sure are you of being appointed as a committee member by May?

How certain are you that there’s going to be a NC set up at all?

PA is a very large organisation that works at a very slow pace. You can certainly try, as that’s your prerogative. IMHO, unless you are ah kah ji with the adviser or chairman, or a VVIP, I don’t see how you can meet the dateline for 1 and 2, and I’m not even sure that there’s a 3 for you to join.

• skiiS Offline
                skii

guys,

new and old.

let us take a step back and think of why you want to join RC/NC as volunteers. (reasons)
                the benefits comes in later… when you least expect it. (incentives)

don’t mix up the both and join because of incentives leh…
                If not, your heart won’t be at the correct place to do good to your neighbors.

I agree with you. But as long as there’s an incentive, people WILL join for the sake of the incentive, and then they try to get out later. Sigh.

• floppyF Offline
                    floppy

Alternatively, government could just remove all incentives from joining the GRO… which they won’t, because they also know that there are more people joining the GRO for incentives rather than for altruistic purposes.

PoopyBear

A friend has these questions. Hopefully somebody here can assist. Thanks.

Bishan-ToaPayoh GRC has 5 sub-constituencies (Bishan East-Thomson, Bishan North, TPY West-Balestier, TPY Central, TPY East-Novena).

If she lives and volunteers at one of the Bishan North sub-constituency RCs, her daughter eligible for Phase 2B in TPY West CHIJ? Or she limited to schools within Bishan North sub-constituency?

If she volunteers in a Bishan CCMC but lives within 1 km of Henry Park, her daughter still eligible for Phase 2B in Henry Park?

If she volunteers in one of the Bishan North sub-constituency RCs and at same time serves a Bishan CCMC, but lives within one 1km of Henry Park, her daughter eligible for both Phase 2B in TPY West CHIJ and Henry Park?

Does CCC/CCMC member eligible for Phase 2B for both within the GRC and where she lives?

• aprilliaxA Offline
                        aprilliax

Wherever you volunteer, the phase 2b applies to schools in the GRC you reside in and no where else. Even if u volunteer in Bishan you cannot get TPY CHIJ, if u stay near Henry Park.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 262 / 330

kiasuparent123456K
                        kiasuparent123456
                        aishikA
                        aishik
                        michael007M
                        michael007