Population woes
How? How? How?
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: Didn't expect 3Boys to also try this .. -
WeiHan:
Most original technologies comes from them intsead of Asians. China is the worst with respect to copyrights.[/quote]Most original technologies come from Sweden and Finland? Show me.
That presuppose they are more creative than us, which I completely disagree with.3Boys:
[quote=\"WeiHan\"]Let me throw in a new hypothesis:
We need to rely on population growth and immigration to sustain economic growth because we, as a whole, is uncreative. The more uncreative we are, we more we need to rely on such unsustainable solution for growth.
Empirical observation to support the above hypothesis: Countries such as Finland, Sweden and Switzerland do not need such extreme measures because they are creative and have a creative economy that alleviate the needs for such measures that Asian countries are resorting to. Singapore and ShangHai are typical kiasu, uncreative asian countries and therefore they need to rely more heavily on foreign investments. This heavy dependence on foreign investments results in a heavy needs to attract creative individuals which they themselves do not produce enough of- thus the wanton immigration policy.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_patents -
Lilac66:
How? How? How?
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: Didn't expect 3Boys to also try this ..
I sianz already...... :sad: -
Lilac66:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]
How? How? How?
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: Didn't expect 3Boys to also try this ..
I sianz already...... :sad:[/quote]Tiring hor. -
And if the opposition comes to power and shrinks the population and crashes our economy, how you vote?mum_sugoku:
On the population issue. The problem is not just we becoming more squeeze, the problem is, there's a limit to our capacity. We just cannot keep relying on that to solve the problem.. In fact that's not a solution but just a reaction.
How? How? How?
Economy crash? Nebbermind lah, so long as \"I\" got what \"I\" want:- guarantee a seat in the subway train, no hawking FT as my immediate boss, HDB flats price tumble to a level that my saving can buy 2 for each of my children when both of them are jobless and enjoy their lifes while smelling roses..... but, wait! Gov has tons of reserve right? Let's distribute it lah, maybe I can upgrade to private property.... Or maybe \"I\" can even buy a property across the causeway and retire there.... Oh, my children leh, they will be going to work overseas lah, see which country has sweet n lenient FT policy lor... there has to be some countries will do just that right? I mean my children have rigid first world education leh.... sure got marketability one!
(Wahaha! :evil: :evil: :evil: ) -
I was saying that most original technologies come from westerners even after some asian countries have caught up with their economies.
Most original technologies come from Sweden and Finland? Show me.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_patents
You will say that it is unfair to compare Singapore with USA. That is how Finland , Sweden and Switzerland come into the picture. They do not have much bigger population than Singapore but yet they boast some of the world well-known technological brand name such as Nokia. The finnish, despite of the small population have contributed to original world class technology such as Linux.
Even from the link you have provided, it shows that, countries such as Finland, Sweden, Netherland and Switzerland which do not have much bigger population than us are filing much more patents than us and they do not rely heavily on foreign talents. -
I always thought Japan is the country that is the most technologically innovative. And I have the impression that China invents but tend to give their inventions away as they are lax on patents.
Singapore too has had its share of inventions what. Thumbdrive, Hyflux water purifying machine, the fever scanner thing used during SARS.
What we Asians do not do as well as the Westerns, is packaging and marketing. -
:snuggles: to Funz & 3boys
Tiring hor.3Boys:
I sianz already...... :sad:
Wish vk2010 was still around to give his view. -
The value of a robust debate becomes clear. Through the interchange it's becomes obvious where the starting positions of protagonists in this debate is. It may be the case that one had already decided to vote for the opposition, and constructs an implacable, if flawed argument to support that decision. In which case, further discussion would be futile. But it is important to have reached that point of understanding.
You are wrong. It should be the other way round, ie we decide to vote for opposition because we disagree with the current one's policy.
I mean, why would any sensible being opposes for the sake of opposing? -
If it were a good opposition, it can't shrink the population, cos it's already a route of no return--if they shrink the population, the bubble could burst!
And if the opposition comes to power and shrinks the population and crashes our economy, how you vote?mum_sugoku:
On the population issue. The problem is not just we becoming more squeeze, the problem is, there's a limit to our capacity. We just cannot keep relying on that to solve the problem.. In fact that's not a solution but just a reaction.
How? How? How?
But who created the bubble in the first place? Is it really so critical for us to have double-digit GDP growth in the first place?
(Sorry, off-topic again)
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.