P2 Math - General Discussion
plum-cake:
Same here :grphug:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: There will always be new assessment books out everytime you think you've bought most of it...very hard to keep up. we must control ourselves.... Only get new ones when your DD has finished the ones you bought earlier. Otherwise, you'll end up with unused assessment books end of P1. That's what happened to me with DD1...Being my 1st child, I got carried away..keke.Tinkerbelle:
[quote=\"Callie Tan\"]
Wow I look at the prices I headache! At this moment I have already spent almost $100 on all the assessment books!! But it seems like still got many good ones I havent bought....
I bought all the book from teachers@work Conquer titles for english when she started p1 last yr. as well as cassco, sap work books passt papers. learners grammer. end up with I didn have time, didn finish them. I realized it last dec when I start to clean up the book shelf. but what I did was for thoes conquer eng books, they have this easy tearable pages. so I took 1 page from each book staple it and gave it to my dd and asked her to do it every day. like Kumon way. I able to finish them all and we are going to start the P2 ones next week. :idea: but the rest of the books I just pass them to my neighbours' All of the are new..[/quote]the books frm teachers@work quite good right?? I saw them but controlled myself from buying...
Think I am becoming paranoid!! hahaha....
Yes, I make an effort to give some homework for my girl everyday before and after school. If not, all assessments will be wasted. -
plum-cake:
Wow...your neighbours are so lucky to get all those assessment books... :lol:Tinkerbelle:
[quote=\"plum-cake\"]Same here :grphug:
I bought all the book from teachers@work Conquer titles for english when she started p1 last yr. as well as cassco, sap work books passt papers. learners grammer. end up with I didn have time, didn finish them. I realized it last dec when I start to clean up the book shelf. but what I did was for thoes conquer eng books, they have this easy tearable pages. so I took 1 page from each book staple it and gave it to my dd and asked her to do it every day. like Kumon way. I able to finish them all and we are going to start the P2 ones next week. :idea: but the rest of the books I just pass them to my neighbours' All of the are new..
What to do, I have no place to put them. and there is no point of doing them. when dd started P1 last year I spent about 300+ $ just on assesment books. I know... end up with untouched. didn have time to look at it. some I bought twice. so I decided to tie up my belt. I planned to buy 2books each suject. well I did it in last november. then in dec at pop book sale came...oops I did it again...a basket full of assessment books... Its January The school started... still buying assesment books for modelling... :stupid: Never ending process.....[/quote]hahaha... I see myself in your shoes leh!!! It's not possible to buy 2 books for each subject lah!!! So I only remind myself that I must use the books lor... which I amtrying by giving homework to my girl before and after school. -
Tinkerbelle:
Went for my girl's school Briefing for P1s last Saturday... Think they are doing model drawings in P1 because we are required to attend a workshop for parents on how to do & teach model drawings in March 2011.janet_lee88:
Models is a whole new thing...something I just can't grasp. Just wondering when my gal can start learning it. Then can ask hubby to introduce her to it.
Hi Janet,
I agree, models is a new mathematical concept for all parents as we don't learn maths that way during our generation..
Algebra is more our forte.
Most schs will start models in P2 but some schs will start exposing P1 to very simple models in Term 4. I only starting going through models with my P2 DD during the Dec holidays last year. Her sch hasn't started teaching models yet.
Once your DD master her P1 work, you can consider starting on models slowly so she can slowly absorb because some students do find it hard to understand at first. Good luck.
plum-cake:
For the 'Conquer' range, can close eyes to buy them. Like you, I got all of the above except for Conquer Cloze. Thank goodness for the complete range, solve my headache of having to stand in Popular.
Jenetjanet_lee88:
:oops: I flipped her P1 Maths textbook for first time last night...what has been taught so far is number words from zero to ten as well as numbers 1-10.
As for teachers@work, I get Conquer Vocab/Grammar/Comprehension.
I got Conquer Vocab/Grammar/Comprehension/ synthesis $ Transformation/ Cloze/Editing& Punctuation
:oops:
Got all Conquer titles for both my kids - P5 and P1. -
Yes I agree :hugs: I take one page from each book and staple it and give it to my dd. during her hols (Nove,Dece) we manage to do everyday.( finished the p1 books) but after school have started we are mange to do every other day :scratchhead:For the 'Conquer' range, can close eyes to buy them. Like you, I got all of the above except for Conquer Cloze. Thank goodness for the complete range, solve my headache of having to stand in Popular.
Got all Conquer titles for both my kids - P5 and P1. -
plum-cake:
What to do, I have no place to put them. and there is no point of doing them. when dd started P1 last year I spent about 300+ $ just on assesment books. I know... end up with untouched. didn have time to look at it. some I bought twice. so I decided to tie up my belt. I planned to buy 2books each suject. well I did it in last november. then in dec at pop book sale came...oops I did it again...a basket full of assessment books... Its January The school started... still buying assesment books for modelling... :stupid: Never ending process.....
:!: $300?? You really enjoy buying assessment books...keke. Yup, sounds like you need to control yourself or you might end up with a mini Popular at home.. :rotflmao: -
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: You got the restraining order from Hubby.Hi Brenda/plum-cake,
I was on a buying frenzy last year with son's Science & Eng compo reference books. Hubby banned me from going to Popular as I was rather stressed with kids' work since school reopened.
Callie Tan:
Went for my girl's school Briefing for P1s last Saturday... Think they are doing model drawings in P1 because we are required to attend a workshop for parents on how to do & teach model drawings in March 2011.
Hi Callie,
Wow..your DD's sch teaches model so early?? Have fun at the models workshop. It's like going back to sch again...
Callie Tan:
Went for my girl's school Briefing for P1s last Saturday... Think they are doing model drawings in P1 because we are required to attend a workshop for parents on how to do & teach model drawings in March 2011.
Once you finish your workshop shere it with us please.
I am learning.... going to teach her during the weekends. Mine is in P2. she is doing addition and subs @ school. (1-1000.) If I teach her earlier then she can catch it in the school properly. :xedfingers: -
Tinkerbelle:
True,plum-cake:
What to do, I have no place to put them. and there is no point of doing them. when dd started P1 last year I spent about 300+ $ just on assesment books. I know... end up with untouched. didn have time to look at it. some I bought twice. so I decided to tie up my belt. I planned to buy 2books each suject. well I did it in last november. then in dec at pop book sale came...oops I did it again...a basket full of assessment books... Its January The school started... still buying assesment books for modelling... :stupid: Never ending process.....
:!: $300?? You really enjoy buying assessment books...keke. Yup, sounds like you need to control yourself or you might end up with a mini Popular at home.. :rotflmao:
My friend came home and asked me \" do you give tutions?? how many kids you have?? :peekaboo: I have one kiddo.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.