Catholic High (Primary)

1.9k Posts 150 Posters 663.2k Views 3 Watching
      jjgoh

Hi CHS parents, I would like to know what is the procedure/criteria/timeline to transfer to CHS P2 level? Any advice is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

JonC

@meiah

Take time off lah and compensate the hours by work late the day lor.

2 Class confirmed with more than 70% attendance.

The others are talking about combining.

Really curious why so many bochap parents?

• phankaoP Offline
          phankao

JonC:
          @meiah

P6D, Patience.

Going to the PSLE Talk?
          What is the PSLE talk? I don't remember going to one when my boy was in p6.

meiah

What is the PSLE talk? I don't remember going to one when my boy was in p6.
            The talk is about boys moving from p6 to s1. some topics to be covered like
            - PSLE T-Score
            - CHS Sec 1 Entrance Critiria
            - Affiliation / non affiliation
            - IP Schools
            - DSA
            - Independent School

I want to go to the talk because i worry my performance-erratic ds will get erratic psle score and then i will get big headache. Dunno where to put him. Like he can get A for 3 maths exams and then when SA2 come, get D!!! This kind of shock I cannot tahan during psle siah! Wait affiliate sec sch also cannot get in, dunno what to say.

So I want to find out more about the posting criteria and others. Thought of asking him try sota but dunno he will like or not. I like the IB programme tho. Tough, i know but i think he can cope. After all, he's coping by himself now.

To JonC:
            Dunno leh, thought psle very impt so parents should be kan cheong but i see responses like not very gd. Maybe i ks lah. Like only better classes got better response. Which two classes got over 70% liao?

Haiz, I need to apply leave at least 3 days in advance and if the talk on the week when sch open, then I need to fill in application by next tue otherwise, won't be able to see my boss after that. must compliance with their policy mah, if not kenna arrow for nothing.

To jjgoh:
            p1 n p2 results and achievement if any. go to sch anytime you like, get a form, fill in, give a reason, then wait for response, not successful, then go on waiting list. p2 quite diff to get in cos usually no space. procedure pretty much the same as most schools.

• phankaoP Offline
              phankao

meiah:
              The talk is about boys moving from p6 to s1. some topics to be covered like

- PSLE T-Score
              - CHS Sec 1 Entrance Critiria
              - Affiliation / non affiliation
              - IP Schools
              - DSA
              - Independent School

I want to go to the talk because i worry my performance-erratic ds will get erratic psle score and then i will get big headache. Dunno where to put him. Like he can get A for 3 maths exams and then when SA2 come, get D!!! This kind of shock I cannot tahan during psle siah! Wait affiliate sec sch also cannot get in, dunno what to say.

So I want to find out more about the posting criteria and others. Thought of asking him try sota but dunno he will like or not. I like the IB programme tho. Tough, i know but i think he can cope. After all, he's coping by himself now.
              *haha* You ask here, lah, I try to answer. πŸ˜‰

- PSLE T-Score - what's there to know? Every subject equal weightage.

- CHS Sec 1 Entrance Criteria: I think for your p6 boy's year it's minimum 230 for affiliated, right?

- IP Schools: We all know which are the IP schools, right? Just that CHS is not one of them.

- DSA: FYI, CHS will usually accord the DSA offers to students applying from outside schools instead of the feeder affiliated primary school, especially if your child has shown that he can most likely get into CHS Sec under affiliation status based on his previous academic performance. The school can also set a minimum score even if your child gets a DSA offer. Like last yr, I know a boy was given DSA, but in the end, I saw him in another school uniform this year. I think the score set was 225 even for DSA, so that boy didn't manage to make good his DSA offer.

- Independent School: Well, independent school have to pay more fees , like S$300 average, unless your child gets the MOE scholarship to subsidise. CHS is a govt-aided school, so you only pay S$20/mth, lah.

meiah

*haha* You ask here, lah, I try to answer. πŸ˜‰

- PSLE T-Score - what's there to know? Every subject equal weightage.

- CHS Sec 1 Entrance Criteria: I think for your p6 boy's year it's minimum 230 for affiliated, right?

- IP Schools: We all know which are the IP schools, right? Just that CHS is not one of them.

- DSA: FYI, CHS will usually accord the DSA offers to students applying from outside schools instead of the feeder affiliated primary school, especially if your child has shown that he can most likely get into CHS Sec under affiliation status based on his previous academic performance. The school can also set a minimum score even if your child gets a DSA offer. Like last yr, I know a boy was given DSA, but in the end, I saw him in another school uniform this year. I think the score set was 225 even for DSA, so that boy didn't manage to make good his DSA offer.

- Independent School: Well, independent school have to pay more fees , like S$300 average, unless your child gets the MOE scholarship to subsidise. CHS is a govt-aided school, so you only pay S$20/mth, lah.
                Aiyah, I just want to see what the P will say mah. I think is 230 ba. For my ds2, I think he really cham. At least 240 when his turn come, i think. :lol: Ya, $20, that's why I put ds in chs in the first place lor. Hope can get into sec sch eventually and no need to pay lots of $.

But I think I would like to explore other options. Affiliation as fall-back. If affiliation also cannot, then i think there's no difference where he go since schs would be about the same. Cos if he get below 230, can forget about going to so-called good schs.

DSA for him would be quite difficult cos other than music, he got little other achievment. Some sc but nothing much. At least I think is not enough to apply for other IS or IP schs. In the end, I may just let him try his luck at affiliation and not apply for any others.

You think dsa to IP schs with his strings experience and achievements and above avg exam scores got chance? πŸ™

• phankaoP Offline
                  phankao

meiah:

Aiyah, I just want to see what the P will say mah. I think is 230 ba. For my ds2, I think he really cham. At least 240 when his turn come, i think. :lol: Ya, $20, that's why I put ds in chs in the first place lor. Hope can get into sec sch eventually and no need to pay lots of $.

But I think I would like to explore other options. Affiliation as fall-back. If affiliation also cannot, then i think there's no difference where he go since schs would be about the same. Cos if he get below 230, can forget about going to so-called good schs.

DSA for him would be quite difficult cos other than music, he got little other achievment. Some sc but nothing much. At least I think is not enough to apply for other IS or IP schs. In the end, I may just let him try his luck at affiliation and not apply for any others.

You think dsa to IP schs with his strings experience and achievements and above avg exam scores got chance? πŸ™
                  I explored this with my ds1 just last year. Not many schools to try for DSA actually if you are considering trying under music? Remember, we are talking about schools BETTEr than CHS, lah.

Schools with strings that are better than CHS:
                  - RI (takes in only under MEP for DSA, not exactly under \"Strings\" cca)
                  - HCI (don't really take in under music)
                  - DHS (can go under music or \"strings\" cca, but so far away).
                  - ACSI (dsa is under \"general\", not strings, but they hv strings cca).

Other schools that have strings cca are like \"Nan Chiau\", but again so far away. RI is very very tough to apply under MEP (music elective) bc not only must be high grade, must also have competition awards, so waste time trying if don't have this on your son's portfolio.

My ds1 is now with NJC. Got in under DSA. Again, njc does not do DSA for any specific domain. It's also \"General\" bc the school just wants to see if they think that child is suitable and able to handle an IP curriculum. No harm trying! If he hadn't got in, he'd probably be with CHS sec lah, but CHS sec doesn't have any Strings CCA.

meiah

I explored this with my ds1 just last year. Not many schools to try for DSA actually if you are considering trying under music? Remember, we are talking about schools BETTEr than CHS, lah.

Schools with strings that are better than CHS:
                    - RI (takes in only under MEP for DSA, not exactly under \"Strings\" cca)
                    - HCI (don't really take in under music)
                    - DHS (can go under music or \"strings\" cca, but so far away).
                    - ACSI (dsa is under \"general\", not strings, but they hv strings cca).

Other schools that have strings cca are like \"Nan Chiau\", but again so far away. RI is very very tough to apply under MEP (music elective) bc not only must be high grade, must also have competition awards, so waste time trying if don't have this on your son's portfolio.

My ds1 is now with NJC. Got in under DSA. Again, njc does not do DSA for any specific domain. It's also \"General\" bc the school just wants to see if they think that child is suitable and able to handle an IP curriculum. No harm trying! If he hadn't got in, he'd probably be with CHS sec lah, but CHS sec doesn't have any Strings CCA.
                    RI - forget it. need grade 7 pract plus distinction. my ds dun have this.
                    DHS - really too far
                    ACSI - also quite far leh at dover
                    HCI - was looking at it, but the more I look at it, like the more difficult
                    NCHS - last year they not in dsa selection list. not sure if this year they'll be in.
                    NJC - tot of trying but using violin and cca achievement, like not strong enough for application leh. You mean they may also accept pupils just on cca contribution if p5/6 results not that stellar?

maybe, 2 yrs ago should not change from cello to violin, at least can join CO in sec sch.

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

meiah:

NJC - tot of trying but using violin and cca achievement, like not strong enough for application leh. You mean they may also accept pupils just on cca contribution if p5/6 results not that stellar?

maybe, 2 yrs ago should not change from cello to violin, at least can join CO in sec sch.
                      Actually no. NJC doesn't just look at CCA. I think for DSA, they look for all-rounders. Bc like for last year, their DSa selection is very general:

1st round: Higher-Ability Selection Test (an Australian Educational board's test that is used to identify academically gifted students).

2nd round: Selection Camp
                      3rd Stage: Interviews.

The school may vary the DSA selection process slightly each year, FYI.

Hope that helps. You can PM me if you need more info.

JonC

The talk in "ON".

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 39 / 192