De La Salle
Er Jie:
I am a very happy PSG member(I don't mind being labelled a free labourer).
I'm a VERY HAPPY PSG too... Cheers... -
Shaolin8:
Dear Shaolin8,Hi DLSS Parent,
cheap labour refers to the definition of exploitation. They should employ adequate staff to do the manual work that is need in administration.
We might like to compare ourselves to St John Baptist DLS, who worked amongst the orphans and homeless, and he does not even have a son or daughter in the homes, and yet he reached out to all children.
However, you are there because your child is a student. Would you still be there when your child graduates from DLS? Look around your cohort, and you will see that there is an interest there because you want to be close to your child. Your reward is already there because you get closer to the teachers and the principals and you will get first hand knowledge of how your child is doing in class. Or is there any other insights I missed? (beside having a non threatening relationship with the teachers, which I hope you do not mean that we want our students to be non critical in their thinking).
Cheap and free labours, because you are not helping the MOE or school at all, as the root cause of the problems will not be solved, as you have admitted that the teachers \"already have their hands so full with academic work\" as well as administrative work. So, if you are doing the administrative work for them, what happens when you leave? The problems will still be there right? Hence, it is vital that now we have a chance to assist to solve the problems at the root cause rather than piece meal patchwork that will leave a gaping hole for current and future DLSS parents.
Yes, as a parent, I am concern about the academic studies of my child. Any parent who says otherwise would be very unique. As a person, it is also vital that my son learns the applications of the universal values, teamwork, and friendship in the primary school. His spiritual formation would also be my concern. On the physical and health side, it is also vital that his prhysical growth be strengthen by having good sportmanship and skills in games and sports. On the compassion and emotional side, it is vital that I see well balance teachers teaching and nurturing the students by their concrete examples.
Lets get together and have a reveiw of what you have gained and lessons learnt.
Tell us what you do in your PSG, as the Administrator told me that I wont be able to join until the term starts.
Pray, tell us what are the Objectives and Goals of your PSG?
Hope it is not offensive if I ask if you have any volunteers who is still there even after their students graduated, and have no more siblings coming into the school.?
Also, please tell us how the students become caring persons and citizens?
Also, are these values taught and practice by all the primary school teachers, or they only learn these values when they go for the field trips organised by the Character Development Department? Are you aware that the principals of the surrounding schools in TeckWhye all have classes going into the HDB 3 room flats to give gifts, to paint their flats, to clean their house for free etc? So what is the difference between DLSS and the surrounding schools? The principals will look good because they meet their KPIs, but at whose expense? This will need further debates.
Hoipe to see you on the 27th and see your presentation on the PSG. I do not have a good opinion on them, after seeing being so \"free labour\" during school registrations. But I will change my mind after the first 3 months of 2013 Pri 1.
Cheers.
PS...I am accepting the idea by Maximo on a closed Facebook group for \"DLSS Parents of P1 Cohort 2013\". It will not be so slanted towards DLSS corporate identity, but a group that will monitor closely the development of our child for the next six years, but also ready to lend a hand to closing out proplems or issues that might surface, but nobody bothers or dare to raise because they are too tied up to DLSS corporate.
we have many parents whose kids are no longer with the school but they are still ard in school to help out everytime when the sch needed help from us.
you may think that because our child is in the sch and we are taking the advantage of it, please allow me to tell you that we PSG do not do such things in and ard sch. As DLSS parent mentioned, come visit us and talk to us at our booth on 27 Dec 12. See ya... -
[quote=\"Shaolin8\"]Hi DLSS Parent,
cheap labour refers to the definition of exploitation. They should employ adequate staff to do the manual work that is need in administration.
---------------------------------------------
Dear fellow parents,
Sharing my views if I may...labour, be it CHEAP or FREE, as long as it is voluntary, cannot be defined as exploitation. No sane person will volunteer to be exploited. So if you were to ask any of the PSGs, I believe you'll have one default answer, and that is, we are happy doing what we do or what we can do for the school.
We as parents volunteer our time and service for a specific reason and the reasons may vary from parent to parent. Speaking for myself, my reason for being here is so that I too can become a member of this big \"family\" that my children belong to. So that I can be part of their learning journey in this crucial six year.
Am I here to ensure that the school lift up to its supposedly standards to meet my expectations - No. From the day I chose to place my children in this school, I trust that this will be the best school for my kids. Does that mean that this is the best school in the neighborhood? To me no, it is not. By Singapore standards, all schools are good. But this is the school of my choice. I trust that together we will bring out the best in our children so that they can be ready to move on to greater heights.
Am I here to solve the MOE or school's/teachers issues and problems - No. Let's leave this to those whom are paid to do the job.
Am I here to stand in as administrative assistance due to the short of resources - No. I wonder how did that impression come about actually. :?
So the up side is that, the school will not collapse without us (sadly we are not indispensable). The downside is that, if you are expecting to see a whole portfolio of fancy stuff from us the PSG, you may be disappointed.
At the end of the day, to many, we may just appear to be a bunch of housewives (too free), waiting to be \"exploited\". Does that perception really matter? To me not really. We are not here to impress anybody. Honestly, for all you know, we may just be simple housewives who are willing to volunteer our time in providing help and service in areas of need.
To answer to your question about if we have any volunteers who does not have kids in this school, I am proud to say yes we do. Why are they here? You may like to ask them personally when you have a chance to do that.
As for me, I have one who has graduated and one who is graduating this year. Will I still volunteer my time here next year since there is no more apparent reason for me to do so. Not saying this to impress any of you, my answer is YES.
Reason...when I look at how my children had developed through these years to be who they are today, I am grateful. For that, if the school needs me, and if I can help contribute, be it just a tad, to help the other kids in anyway, I am happy to do so.
De La Salle is no longer my children's school, it has become mine too.
P.S...with regard to the closed FB Grp. Very good idea. You really need each others support if you do not already have one. -
Shaolin8:
Dear Shaolin8 and all mummiesMine is St Dominic. Orientation on 27th Dec.
I am thinking of forming an independant parents support group, as the current one would not be available or contact details made unavailable from the school office until informed later by the primary one teachers when school term starts in 2013.
Also, the aim of this current parent support group appears to be having a ready pool of \"cheap labour\" for the school activities at all times,
(Note: I remembered a Filipino parent and a few other housewives made to do photocopies of documents, ushers, open the doors, etc during the Primary 1 registration days.)
Must concern parents always made to do the manual work? Cant we serve and assist in the growth of our child in committees that has nothing to do with work that can be taken care off by the fully paid staff of MOE?
Just want to share some thoughts... (I'm not a PSG member)
I've always admired the DLS PSG whose support is so crucial to many aspects of DLS life. In fact, I do envy those parents who are able to offer their spare time and effort, something which I cannot do, due to my heavy work commitments. Often I wished I could also help to contribute to the school in the way the PSG have done so selflessly.
In almost all school events, PSG would be there in their trademark dark green polo-Ts, helping out in the many ways to lighten the burden of the school teachers eg camps, musicals, cca, PTM, fiesta etc... They are indispensable to the school and their familiar faces are indeed a comfort to the many Lasallians who grew up having them around. It's like a big happy extended family !
For parents with children who are about to enter the DLS family next year, do sincerely hope that you will have an enriching experience alongside your children. For me, I have enjoyed the entire 6 years with my child in DLS, absolutely no regrets at all.
Yes.. Once a Lasallian, Always a Lasallian.
My child is already planning on returning to DLS next year to help out in camps and such. The ties that bind are indeed strong.
spicy:
Dear Shaolin8,
Dear Shaolin8 and all mummiesShaolin8:
Mine is St Dominic. Orientation on 27th Dec.
I am thinking of forming an independant parents support group, as the current one would not be available or contact details made unavailable from the school office until informed later by the primary one teachers when school term starts in 2013.
Also, the aim of this current parent support group appears to be having a ready pool of \"cheap labour\" for the school activities at all times,
(Note: I remembered a Filipino parent and a few other housewives made to do photocopies of documents, ushers, open the doors, etc during the Primary 1 registration days.)
Must concern parents always made to do the manual work? Cant we serve and assist in the growth of our child in committees that has nothing to do with work that can be taken care off by the fully paid staff of MOE?
Just want to share some thoughts... (I'm not a PSG member)
I've always admired the DLS PSG whose support is so crucial to many aspects of DLS life. In fact, I do envy those parents who are able to offer their spare time and effort, something which I cannot do, due to my heavy work commitments. Often I wished I could also help to contribute to the school in the way the PSG have done so selflessly.
In almost all school events, PSG would be there in their trademark dark green polo-Ts, helping out in the many ways to lighten the burden of the school teachers eg camps, musicals, cca, PTM, fiesta etc... They are indispensable to the school and their familiar faces are indeed a comfort to the many Lasallians who grew up having them around. It's like a big happy extended family !
For parents with children who are about to enter the DLS family next year, do sincerely hope that you will have an enriching experience alongside your children. For me, I have enjoyed the entire 6 years with my child in DLS, absolutely no regrets at all.
Yes.. Once a Lasallian, Always a Lasallian.
My child is already planning on returning to DLS next year to help out in camps and such. The ties that bind are indeed strong.

I am not PSG, too. Shaolin8, u not even make enough effort to find out more on PSG and yet openly comment with your narrow minded thinking about the group.
Many activities in school will not be as easy without them. My kids grow up tremendously in DLS with help of PSG. I can guarantee that your kid will need them, too. Many times, pp take for granted that PSG is just cheap. They are not!! They willingly to pump in their time to help. Will u? Maybe once or twice during P1, time will prove. u didn't even interact with PSG, don't just simply wipe off others good intention negatively!
I am proud that my kids are in DLS. We could strongly feel, as a whole, it is a big family. Of cos, there is pros+cons. If u are looking for a school n PSG that perfectly match your set of values standard (??), then, I think u are not suitable for this family. Here, is for community, not for individualist.
If u are rich, u can go ahead to setup your own Independent Super High Flyer PSG in your so call Independent's school...!!! Sincerely, wish that all your High Flyer PSG are willingly to support the ground work. Good luck! -
Dear shaolin8,
After reading your email, my dear Shaolin Master, let me tell you I have been in PSG for more than 8 years, My daughter is now in secondary, I am still an active PSG member together with a few mothers. No matter, we’ve been called as the senior PSG, we never look down on any of our new PSG, we treat them as a family. " Cheap Labour", we are not, we help with our heart. Maybe, you, yourself feel to be a cheap labour, when you join our PSG, I dont blame you, some people are brought up, not knowing the meaning to help with your heart. I feel sorry for your parent and also for your children. I still agree with you, some PSG, they help for their personel gain. Are you one of them? You can be very educated from some shaolin school, or you are born with a golden spoon in your mouth, but please dont use your remarks on us as a "cheap labour", the school did not force us to help, but we felt like helping. What you see may not suitable for you. My piece of advise for you, if you cant dirty your hand, pls dont join the PSG…WHY? Nothing cant make you happy to be one "Cheap Labour". -
Thelastwarrior:
:rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:Dear shaolin8,
After reading your email, my dear Shaolin Master, let me tell you I have been in PSG for more than 8 years, My daughter is now in secondary, I am still an active PSG member together with a few mothers. No matter, we've been called as the senior PSG, we never look down on any of our new PSG, we treat them as a family. \" Cheap Labour\", we are not, we help with our heart. Maybe, you, yourself feel to be a cheap labour, when you join our PSG, I dont blame you, some people are brought up, not knowing the meaning to help with your heart. I feel sorry for your parent and also for your children. I still agree with you, some PSG, they help for their personel gain. Are you one of them? You can be very educated from some shaolin school, or you are born with a golden spoon in your mouth, but please dont use your remarks on us as a \"cheap labour\", the school did not force us to help, but we felt like helping. What you see may not suitable for you. My piece of advise for you, if you cant dirty your hand, pls dont join the PSG....WHY? Nothing cant make you happy to be one \"Cheap Labour\". -
kiasuMay11:
Aiyo, what is happening to our parents now. Before their child is in the school they are already criticising the PSG and \"thinking of writing to the MOE soon, as I think the school principal is too busy to answer my request for information\". Some more \"thinking of forming an independant parents support group\". I wonder wat is the true meaning behind this? I already pity the P and the Ts liao.
Dear Shaolin8,
I am not PSG, too. Shaolin8, u not even make enough effort to find out more on PSG and yet openly comment with your narrow minded thinking about the group.
I too am not PSG but I appreciate wat they hv done for the schools. Instead of writing so much here, why dont u PM DLSS Parent and find out more. Get a life lah instead of annoying everybody here. -
Dear shaolin8,
I am not from PSG either. However, I wld like to recommend that you speak to them, join them, etc before having a concluded opinion. It does not seem fair to them.
You have yet to join the group or any activities and already, you have made a non favourable opinion of the group of hardworking parents who serve the sch and the students. -
Dear Shaolin8,
i am absolutely disturbed by your comment on 29th Oct and 5th Nov calling the PSG member in DLSS as cheap labour. Being an alumni of the school, i have certainly seen what the PSG have done for us students over the years. It would be purely rude and ignorant to make such a remark on a group of people who have a kind heart to contribute their time and effort to the school in the quest of making the lives of the students in DLSS more enjoyable. I am sure it is myopic of you to make such undue assumptions since your child has yet enter the school and you are basing this whole issue on a day or 2 you have in the school so far.
These PSG members sacrifice their free time for a good cause! And guess what? they are not complaining because they are WILLING TO CONTRIBUTE TO THE SOCIETY!
If you see this sort of help as unnecessary and that the problem regarding stress a child is facing due to the competitive education system Singapore in not address, go approach MOE instead! This is not something within the control of the PSG!
As a student of DLSS, i am sincerely thankful for the PSG as they help out in event like buddy reading (helping weaker students of the school) and also sports meet. You are really too hasty to blow up this issue since you have NO IDEA OF THE WHOLE PICTURE!
If you think the school should hire more people to do their administrative work, are you willing to pay more school fees for an increase number to operational staff hired my MOE or make a lump sum donation so the school can hire people to run their events?
Please do visit the school to find out more about the activities the PGS has done instead of sitting behind your computer complaining without getting your facts right.
Thanks.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.