Maha Bodhi
7788:
My boys are in p2 and p4 this year. My p4 has just completed the course this year. He happened to be tasked with another classmate to showcase what they have learnt in this course yesterday in the hall. If present in school yesterday, your kid should have seen and heard them. Honestly, i have not heard him speak Malay till yesterday. Haha!
wow your DS must be good in Malay so asked to present
Angel Nes:
I don't understand why the teachers must 'lie' to the parents about this. :siao: Just let us know the truth will do. Isn't it very obvious that H class is the best class.Hi
My gal in Pr 3 next year, how do we know which is the best class ? She told me there is no best class, I am wondering also. SHe told me there is Malay class also, :? , any parent can advise? -
baong:
I don't understand why the teachers must 'lie' to the parents about this. :siao: Just let us know the truth will do. Isn't it very obvious that H class is the best class.
I agree with you on this. Perhaps their intention is good as they didn't want the other kids who are not in the best class to feel lousy. -
baong - honestly, i am not sure why he was picked, i am sure other kids can also do it as it was just a one-two minute presentation. anyway, it was an experience for him.
i do agree that the teachers should just be frank about the best class thingy. anyway, it is a known fact since it was clearly stated in an earlier letter (newsletter) sent out to all parents this year. -
chowon:
This also applies to level ranking information.baong:
I don't understand why the teachers must 'lie' to the parents about this. :siao: Just let us know the truth will do. Isn't it very obvious that H class is the best class.
I agree with you on this. Perhaps their intention is good as they didn't want the other kids who are not in the best class to feel lousy.
I agree their intention is good. However for parents who are trying to use this information in a positive manner to know where their child stand as compared to cohort.... this is no longer available. So how to benchmark??? Just looking at one's results doesn't tell you any thing unless it is compared to a benchmark.
Eg. a child may be getting 90 marks for all subjects... Parents might think wow... .ah boy/ girl is so clever... However the peers are all getting 90 and above :yikes: The perception is then different. -
MMM,
You mean your ds also don’t have cohort position? I see cohort position more important than class position. Hopefully they don’t remove this for the upper primary levels. -
Going forward, no level position will be indicated in the report book for all levels. we only know who are the top 3 in level when they go up stage to receive their awards. in fact, i heard that for p1 & p2s, they are not going to have class positions too. class postions are retained for p3 to p6.
In p1&p2 w/o any class position, then hw do we know how our child fare in class? as we know our child marks through exams at the end of the year. If we know the class positioning only in p3, will it be a shock to us, that all the while u thought yr child is good but actually she is just a normal performer in school
i guess we just have to use the standard benchmark - band 1, 2 & 3 etc. for p1 & p2, should be quite safe if all subjects can attain band 1 results.
7788:
baong - honestly, i am not sure why he was picked, i am sure other kids can also do it as it was just a one-two minute presentation. anyway, it was an experience for him.
hi 7788, i tell you at least the T feels that your DS is not the 'stage-fright' type. Has confidence he can face audience, so that is a very good thing alrdy hor. not every kid can do this you know
Yar lor, yar lor, yar lor... MMM you say exactly what I feel!! If that is the case then that means std low, paper too easy or what ... Well, there could be many reasons but at least we parents can discuss or think abt it. Keeping us parents in the dark about this is not acceptable to me. :sad:Eg. a child may be getting 90 marks for all subjects... Parents might think wow... .ah boy/ girl is so clever... However the peers are all getting 90 and above :yikes: The perception is then different.
I am not sure abt others but I am going to write a email to the P abt my view. Hopefully more parents will do that so the cohort ranking will be disclosed to us next year. -
baong - thanks but unfortunately, he fumbled in front of the crowd and actually paused for a good few seconds as he forgot his lines. anyway, it’s over.
hmm, i’ll try to feedback to the school about the level ranking issue when i have the time.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.