Corporation Primary

981 Posts 59 Posters 306.1k Views 1 Watching
      Champion

Like to share with you all an experience I had this morning....

I was in the bus, on the way to market when I bumped into one of my 2nd gal's (K2) this year classmate's mummy. We started chatting and soon was on the topic about P1 registration in August. As she has only 1 child, so her pressure is equally high....Then she continued to say:\" I am considering to put Corporation Primary as the 1st choice. Reasons being that it is within walking distance from home, single session and no balloting require so far.\" 😉

She then asked me further about the school as she knew that my DD1 is with CPS. I shared with her regarding the school curriculum, the school hours and the school activities. Then from nowhere, a lady who was standing near us joined in and said she heard a lot pple said \"CPS no good lah; no good teachers and if so good why PSLE result no show leh!\" I explained to her what I was sharing was based on what I have seen & experienced for myself thru my gal over the past 2 years. There will always be \"the grass is greener\" on the other side and I won't be able to comment for other schools since I have no children studying there.

My DD2 classmate mummy was so stunned that I can \"talk back\" to the lady 😛 but affirmed what I said was true! 😄 I am glad that I speak what I feel and of course, I can't speak for the whole school and I don't want to be labeled that I am \"selling\" for CPS. I merely shared the very own experiences I have gone thru so far with DD1.

DD2 is registering for P1 2012 coming Aug 2011 and she is very excited to join DD1 to take school bus, has her own pocket $$ to buy food from canteen :lol:

... I am glad that I speak what I feel and of course, I can't speak for the whole school and I don't want to be labeled that I am \"selling\" for CPS. I merely shared the very own experiences I have gone thru so far with DD1. ...

Bravo Champion! Not many parents care enough to find out more about their kid's school and share this openly with others, especially for the not-so-elite schools. Kudos to you.

Kabby

... I am glad that I speak what I feel and of course, I can't speak for the whole school and I don't want to be labeled that I am \"selling\" for CPS. I merely shared the very own experiences I have gone thru so far with DD1. ...

Bravo Champion! Not many parents care enough to find out more about their kid's school and share this openly with others, especially for the not-so-elite schools. Kudos to you.

yes, bravo!!!

well done champion! :salute:

i also find my experiences there so far to be very pleasant.

btw, i did ask one of the senior teachers about the dwindling enrolment in the higher levels and also why the sentiment in the general population is that CPS is not a good school.

she shared that for the p5-6 (current batches) there are less classes because that was when the school just moved and many found the new location inconvenient. People around the area hadn't moved in as well, so enrolment dropped. Thus perpetuating a cycle that let others think, low enrolment must be because school is lousy.

With regards to results, she explained that cos numbers are low, the percentages can swing wildly. 1 person not getting an A in a subject can cause % to drop more if the total no. is low.

I feel that she is being quite logical too, not \"selling\" the school to me as well, so I believed her. 🙂

Champion

[quote=\"Champion\"]... I am glad that I speak what I feel and of course, I can't speak for the whole school and I don't want to be labeled that I am \"selling\" for CPS. I merely shared the very own experiences I have gone thru so far with DD1. ...

Yes not many can do what she has done... most of them will be just quite 😉[/quote]Hi ChiefKiasu, tjm & LKVM,
            Thanks for the compliment & encouragement! I hope more parents will \"change their mindset\" when comes to P1 registration/selection. It was thru this KiasuParents.com Forum that I came to know about Primary 1 registration, CPS and many other more issues about Primary and Pre-Primary educations :salute: Many parents are very sincere and genuine to share what they have learned and posted those experiences on the forum so that more parents are aware. :lovesite:

Ok, hereby wishes ChiefKiasu, parents of CPS and all other reading this post - Happy Rabbit Year and Gong Xi Fa Cai! Huat Ah 😄

songlz123

tjm:
              songlz123:

Hi, first time writing a post on KP. Just graduated last year, doing well in my sec school. Well, hi all!

Which school are you in now?

Yes, share more info with us cos most of us have kids in the lower Pr levels.

I am now in Raffles Institution

Champion

songlz123:
                tjm:

[quote=\"songlz123\"]Hi, first time writing a post on KP. Just graduated last year, doing well in my sec school. Well, hi all!

I am now in Raffles Institution[/quote]Hello songlz123,
                Happy New Year to you! Welcome to join this forum - as u can see most of us here are parents of Child still wif CPS, so am very glad to have an ex-CPS wif us :celebrate:

Care to share a bit more in depths your 6 years wif CPS? Which class were u from? Your teachers? 😄

Kabby

songlz123:
                  tjm:

[quote=\"songlz123\"]Hi, first time writing a post on KP. Just graduated last year, doing well in my sec school. Well, hi all!

I am now in Raffles Institution[/quote]hi! glad you are here to join us! congrats, you must have done well.
                  what cca did you join?

yup, and share more with us about your life in CPS. any siblings still there?

champion, LKVM and all, Happy year of the rabbit too!

Champion

Hello All & Happy New Year :celebrate:

It's coming to the end of CNY and the celebration mood has to keep low lioa :lol: ...But another big event coming up.........CA1 :scared:

My gal just came back with her CA1 time-table and the various topics to be tested this afternoon..WOW! Really stressed 😓 As this is the \"1st\" CA1 exam she is taking - guess she is feeling the pressure too. But I am equally stressed out and keep telling me myself to keep cool keep cool :imcool: P3 is really very different from P1 & P2 - more workload and with the CA1 & CA2 & SA1 the kids are really experiencing a tougher level.

Haha....just a bit of my sharing here - log on to this forum at least can take my mind off the preparation for a while..Hee :lol:

Kabby

hihi!

yes, missed the community here!
                      indeed, CAs, so soon!

Although ds doesn’t hv exams yet, he seems to be much busier now. The school seemed to let him have a nice fun p1 yr to learn the ropes, get used to life…

Now there is hw everyday, and the trs are much stricter than last yr. Across all subjects! So i think it is not just tr-dependent but probably with each yr, there’d b more work n more stress!

As ds was moaning thru his hw, I reminded him that, with age comes more responsibilities, hence more work, but I also said that meant more learning as well! So it begins a year of pep talks, i think!

for the p1 parents, how’s life?
                      Spelling n tingxie are getting tougher now too. more words and more sentences. so the chances of making mistakes are much much higher now…ahhh, that’s life, i guess!

champion, i am sure your dd will do v well as usual! jia you, gambate!

• E Offline
                        ExpatMom

It’s going to be a rough P1 year for my ds. He’s enjoying school, but some of the course work is difficult… especially Mandarin. I can help him in every subject except Mandarin. We just got him a tutor so hopefully she will be able to help.

I was hoping there would be a stronger focus on conversational Mandarin, but surprisingly I’ve been seeing a lot of emphasis on spelling and pinyin in his homework. Then again, I’ve never seen the class conducted. Maybe they do and I just don’t know it. In any case, when he comes home I can’t get him to say anything in Mandarin. He says it’s too difficult and he’s losing interest. 😕

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 21 / 99