Corporation Primary
Ningval:
Hello Ningval,
I refuse to get one for her as i worry that when she go to 2nd floor, with such a heavy bag, how can she bring up...
care to share?
Welcome to this forum :welcome:
My gal is in P3 this year and also has a very very heavy bag + a hand carry re-cycle bag where she puts all her individual subject folder :lol: . Aiyoh...she is those petite type so you can imagine how heartache I was when I send her every morning to the bus bay and she needs the bus uncle to help lift her bag up before she can goes up the bus :roll: ...I ask whether did she pack her bag in accordance to her time-table and she said Yes, she did...I guess being in single session and with so many subjects pack into one day - the bag tends to be heavy.
Oh yes, initially in P1 we got her the luggage bag but then towards end of P1 she finds it too \"troublesome\" to \"drag along\" so get her norm one. But I can see that most students' bags are very heavy and tend to weigh their body load down
tjm:
LOL. I think I need a bit of training in some basic grammar first before I attempt getting thrown into complex conversations!
Alternatively, I know a lot of PRCs who would like to brush up their conversational English. Maybe hanging out with them would allow both sides to benefit? (ok, maybe u won't take me seriously after this...
)tjm:
You make a good point. I guess the goals are different between families. I don't expect he will ever have to work in Mandarin. Who knows, he may... but it's unlikely. And we have no family that speaks it.About your previous post, yes, for your son, and for you, since you may not be here very long, and your aim would be to pick up a new lang in a fun way that would be useful, conversational skills would be most important. Writing will not be that useful when you go back, isn't it? Even when you tour in China, recognizing signs or being able to ask for directions would be more impt.
Rote learning is the easy way out. From now on, a lot of us cannot rely on that anymore. Have to really use the language!tjm:
I did mention it to the teacher. I don't want him to be exempt from Chinese. I think it would be great if he manages to learn it. And if the rules for him are somehow different than from the rest of the kids in class, if the teacher treats him differently, it may backfire. He will notice, as will the other kids. Perhaps I do need to interface more with the teacher and seek guidance. I've been waiting to see how things go with the tutor first.To fully implement new changes, and train all the teachers etc, I guess would indeed take quite some time.
I have a suggestion which I thought of yesterday when I was reading the Straits Times, and I thought of you when I read it. The papers were saying that kids with difficulty learning Chinese can opt out of it. Wrt some dyslexic kids in particular. But some parents with dyslexic kids said they'd still expose the kids to Chinese lessons and see how it goes.
For you, since results in Chinese at the PSLE is not important, maybe you can email or talk to the Chinese teacher, and convey the idea to her/ him that your aim for your son is to learn a new lang in a fun way, to acquire conversational skills more than anything. I know you'd be able to put it in a way that sounds better than what I wrote, but the gist would be that perhaps the teacher would be less demanding or \"fierce\" if he misses a word or writes something in tingxie wrongly, or whatever?
Also, if you convey the idea to her that you would like to help him but can't because both of you didn't understand what \"homework\" was to be done, perhaps she will give you or him more help, like even write in English in his handbook, should she require something extra from him?? Just a suggestion, not sure if that will work for you? -
Hm, that's not a great deal of information to go on. What did your son say that the child did that upset the teacher? If you are really concerned about it, you should talk to the teacher.I heard some disturbing thing from my son yesterday...
He said there is an Indian kid in the class.. during chinese lessons the FT ask the kid to face the wall and sit during the class... he feels quite bad about it... the kid has not taken chinese maybe some other language.. but I feel its very rude for the teacher to do that... if the child is facing board as all other students how should it mater to the teacher :shock:
Coincidentally, I found out something upsetting today too. My son came home asking for some tape to fix his art project. Apparently a temporary teaching assistant (someone he had never seen before that was asked to sit in and watch the class towards the end of the day) ripped his art project in half to teach him a lesson. Needless to say, I am going to talk to the teacher to get to the bottom of it. -
ExpatMom:
oh dear! i hope a good explanation will be given!I heard some disturbing thing from my son yesterday...
Hm, that's not a great deal of information to go on. What did your son say that the child did that upset the teacher? If you are really concerned about it, you should talk to the teacher.
Coincidentally, I found out something upsetting today too. My son came home asking for some tape to fix his art project. Apparently a temporary teaching assistant (someone he had never seen before that was asked to sit in and watch the class towards the end of the day) ripped his art project in half to teach him a lesson. Needless to say, I am going to talk to the teacher to get to the bottom of it. -
tjm:
He admitted he had put the artwork right in front of his face (which was rude), but you don't teach a child not to be rude by being even more rude. It's very odd...
oh dear! i hope a good explanation will be given!ExpatMom:
I heard some disturbing thing from my son yesterday...
Hm, that's not a great deal of information to go on. What did your son say that the child did that upset the teacher? If you are really concerned about it, you should talk to the teacher.
ExpatMom:
He admitted he had put the artwork right in front of his face (which was rude), but you don't teach a child not to be rude by being even more rude. It's very odd...[/quote]yup, as an adult, we must be role models.
oh dear! i hope a good explanation will be given!tjm:
[quote=\"ExpatMom\"]I heard some disturbing thing from my son yesterday...
Coincidentally, I found out something upsetting today too. My son came home asking for some tape to fix his art project. Apparently a temporary teaching assistant (someone he had never seen before that was asked to sit in and watch the class towards the end of the day) ripped his art project in half to teach him a lesson. Needless to say, I am going to talk to the teacher to get to the bottom of it.
in the long bygone era (i.e. when my parents were young), teachers wielded a lot of power and they could cane, slap, tear books. but now no one does that anymore.
teachers are trained to handle various incidents with proper strategies. it's all part of management.
i agree you have to talk to the teacher about this. wonder if it was a relief teacher, a trainee or contract teacher? -
Yes I tried to extract some more information... the Indian child has not taken Chinese as his MT subject as he studies his own MT in the weekend. So during the chinese lessons.. he will bring a story book to read... however the teacher has asked this kid to face the wall and sit and read the books... which I think is quite rude... I havent yet spoken to the parent of this child, but spoke to some other parents... seems the parent of this child has oredi asked the teacher to let him sit with facing the board but the teacher says he disturbs the class :shock: :shock:[/quote]hi, i changed my username hor...:) don't be alarmed...
Hm, that's not a great deal of information to go on. What did your son say that the child did that upset the teacher? If you are really concerned about it, you should talk to the teacher.ExpatMom:
[quote=\"LKVM\"]I heard some disturbing thing from my son yesterday...
He said there is an Indian kid in the class.. during chinese lessons the FT ask the kid to face the wall and sit during the class... he feels quite bad about it... the kid has not taken chinese maybe some other language.. but I feel its very rude for the teacher to do that... if the child is facing board as all other students how should it mater to the teacher :shock:
Coincidentally, I found out something upsetting today too. My son came home asking for some tape to fix his art project. Apparently a temporary teaching assistant (someone he had never seen before that was asked to sit in and watch the class towards the end of the day) ripped his art project in half to teach him a lesson. Needless to say, I am going to talk to the teacher to get to the bottom of it.
lkvm, i was just thinking, is there usually a tr librarian in the library the whole day?
if so, can the boy go to the library during MT where he can do hw or read, under the supervision of the librarian?
cos maybe the other kids recite poems or do stuff, quite difficult for him to read in peace too, right? -
hi expatmom, it's still me, your buddy who met up with you at jp, just that i didn't want my old username anymore.
just to let you know.
ya
Oh you changed your username... no wonder I couldnt recognize u lor... the thing is even though its not affecting me directlly.. its hurting me how can the teacher be so rude.. and she can be rude to him she can be to my DS as well..
Regarding the library its good idea will check it out..thanks
old name no meaning, plus i got some anonymous pm from pp, like i told you before, so i want to change.
i know what you mean... -
Hello \"old tjm\"
ya
old name no meaning, plus i got some anonymous pm from pp, like i told you before, so i want to change.
I was thinking, \"Got new member lioa, see who this is?\" And realise you have changed your sign in name.... :lol: Very unique lor - care to share how it comes about? Heee...me very kapoh hor.....
Yea, reading about expatmum's child & LKVM son's indian friend's case really upsetting
...Bit I really hope those are isolated cases but that the teachers involved will be mindful of their own conducts - afterall they are the role models for their students.
My girl came home with another book fair list and same episode,\"Mummy, I want to buy this buy that story book. They will be having the sales in our school tomorrow and can you please give me extra allowance?\" Oh Yes, whenever there is a book fair in the school canteen, my gal will be very excited and she definitely will buy some books home. When she was in P1/P2, I will go through the list with her and mark on it which are the books suitable for her to read. Now that she is older, I trust that she can make her own judgement independantly and read extensively
.........But one MISTAKE I saw - the vendor printed the school name as\"Cooperation Primary School!\" Asked my girl to tell the vendor tomorrow that they should be careful in their printing and that is the basis courtesy to show respect to the school. My girl was like,\"Huh, Mummy - you never Kiasu leh; this one you also noticed!\" :cheeky: Anyway, that just small little drama happened at home that I wanted to share with CPS parents....
Quite good deal in the book list - esp the famous all time favorite of lower primary: \"GERONIMO STILTON\" is selling at $8.00 a copy!!!! Chiong huh...haha...but my gal has almost the whole series so she is not excited lioa :laugh:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.