Corporation Primary

981 Posts 59 Posters 306.1k Views 1 Watching
      Kabby

http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/vacancies/#jurong-west

Chance upon the MOE webpage - Ermmmm......next year P1 only has 8 classes! 🤷 🤷
      hi champs,
      thanks for sharing!
      do you think it is because of the new school? like they foresee perhaps the schools without balloting need not offer that many vacancies since there is another school in JW?
      now i am getting worried whether my ds2 will still have space if I wait till phase 2C to reg him...
      the launch for Frontier is 30 June, will go take a look then decide at once then.
      how was everyone's hols?
      last week now, have fun!

Champion

http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/vacancies/#jurong-west

Chance upon the MOE webpage - Ermmmm......next year P1 only has 8 classes! 🤷 🤷

So they actually reduced classes to add into Frontier?

My feel as this is a new school and is at Street 61 (correct me if I am wrong), many parents nearer that area will want to register their kids there 😄 ...And I think the location is more favorable compare with Corporation - think is about 1~2 bus stops away from JP? Or can actually walk there....

:offtopic: I always :scratchhead: why CPS the numbering of the class is like 1.1, 1.2, 1.3......when kids at P1 level actually has not learnt or know what does the decimal point means in between number? Can make it easier to be like 1A, 1B, 1C etc?

Actually this thing comes to mind when on one occasion my DD2 asked DD1,\" When I go Primary One, which class I will be?\" So DD1 answered,\" Don't know lor, maybe 1.1 or maybe 1.10?\" Then DD2 a bit :? , turned to me,\" Mummy, what is one point one or one point ten?\" :laugh: :laugh:

Kabby

haha, quite true. they may even think it is class 11 (1.1) or 110 (hundred and ten)?

some schools have very long names. can't remember which school but either name after certain qualities or flowers or what, so can be 1 Anthurium or 1 Temperence, and the kid has to spell out the name each time they write it on each exercise or textbook. Or maybe it is the mom who has the tedious job? 🙂

Kabby

[quote]
            :yikes: :yikes: then i think decimal better lor... but i too prefer 1A, 1B etc[/quote]ya 1A 1B easiest, i think so too. 🙂

Champion

Good Morning,

Fresh new day - it is Saturday (and why am I up so early :scratchhead: :scratchhead: ) 😉

LKVM & kabby,
              I like to check you both since the 3 of us have kids in different levels. How do you find coaching your child with the English Language? The Stellar Program? Do you find it \"useful\"?

:imsorry: but I am one not for this program :rant: .....It really makes me :mad: especially coming to do revision with my DD1. We can only rely on the worksheets and the EL files whenever it comes to CA or SA! :rant: I still prefer the traditional way when you have a textbook and got to see the content and structure what is being and going to be taught. I feedback to DD1's EL T but it seems that it has to follow the system. Yes, I agree to that but shouldn't the school or rather the EL department does something \"extra\" to :?: ? I have e-mail and asked for an overall view for what is being going to be teach every term at the beginning of the Term but 2 Terms passed and nothing is being done about it... :sad:

Somehow, I feel discouraged in this area and has been self-coaching DD1 based on EL guide books and assessment books. It is tiring but other than this way, I can't & unable to find other alternative to boost DD1's confidence in EL! :sad: Very tiring & stressful 😓 😓 - especially after a long day at work, still has to sit down and do the daily revision & checking homework every nite :snooze: :snooze:

Sorry for my long-winded post this morning - just thinking that next week is a new term makes me even more :stompfeet: :stompfeet: ....Well, let's hope some form of \"miracle\" will happen.... 👅

Kabby

hey hey champs, i woke v early too. i wish i can sleep longer but somehow my kids are all early risers. ugh…

abt EL… i is not engrish t’cher so mebbe tokking nonsense here…

but i can feel your frustration, so maybe give some ideas or throw up some suggestions. not sure helpful or not.

for language, i think most impt thing is to read widely. when we read more, we are exposed to more vocab, and spelling/ grammar comes easier because we are more exposed to the correct and proper word forms. of course, the reading material must be standard kind and not singlish or whatever.

if your dd reads then your 1st step is done.

for stellar, it is by books, if i am not wrong, cos what i see from ds1’s stuff, is that they read a book/ story then do activities based on that story. so it is like a theme or story-based learning. apparently the MOE did research and found that learning thru this manner is more meaningful so… i don’t know if they will change this but if MOE dictates this, then CPS will def follow. as for extras, i think ya, the trs can, but it will vary greatly from tr to tr, i think.

on our part as parents, if you want dd to score well, i guess you have to look at the exam format. what sections will be tested, and get her to be familiar with the format. so with your assessment books, should be good practice?

then next step, you can go thru her past papers and worksheets, which sections are she weaker in. i don’t know the format for P3 cos mine are still young, but for eg, let’s say Cloze passage is her weak area, then you can zoom in on cloze passages, and let her do more of those exercises?

if Comprehension is the problem, then do more passages. but sometimes it can be quite dry. ds1 doesn’t have a problem with English yet, so I haven’t bought any assessments in English, but i did buy Chinese ones. his comprehension in Chinese is so super weak, sometimes he doesn’t know how to read half the words in the passage! hw to answer the Qs?

so i bought 2 books just on comprehension. yet, it is very tedious for him. so i tried to switch and vary methods that would help him learn the same techniques used to answer comprehension Qs but not through assessment books. i find he accepts it much better. if your girl can take it, then assessment is best la, no need extra effort, but somehow my boy doesn’t like assessments much, very active, like to run around and play much more!

so i borrow chinese books from the library, and read them the story, sometimes stopping at one page, and asking them to predict the outcome without flipping the pages over yet. get him or his brother to say it in Chinese. you will be amazed at how LONG they take to string out a proper sentence in Chinese. ugh.

but i find this useful practising… he gets better at answering Qs, and critical thinking skills.

sometimes i ask about the moral of the story. sometimes i ask why is this character sad or happy. basically it is just like comprehension but minus the pain of writing out the characters (and reading the passage on his own, which he can’t). he hates that. of course, this is not ideal yet, cos in exam, he still has to write out the answers. but it is "baby steps" towards improving his command and mastery of comprehension.

i myself am more fluent in speaking English, so I spoke it with both boys most often when they were young. now that they are so lagging behind in Chinese, I am starting to use Chinese more at home, and hopefully my youngest one will face less problems in future (for chinese). keeping fingers crossed!

Champion

http://i55.tinypic.com/31458hf.jpg\"> http://i55.tinypic.com/11bubed.jpg\"> http://i55.tinypic.com/o552rs.jpg\"> http://i54.tinypic.com/2qncbpj.jpg\"> http://i51.tinypic.com/116kegk.jpg\"> http://i53.tinypic.com/anigq1.jpg\">

Hello :imanisland: :imanisland:
                  Thinking that I should upload the Term 3 newsletter for all to share. Guess the principal is doing her part to update us parents of what is happening in school :celebrate:

For my DD1, she will be very busy as she will have CA2 at week 9 and thereafter a more stressful term 4 for SA2! 😓 😓

The P1 Orientation will be on 12 Nov, Sat - so after 3 years, I have to \"re-do\" everything all over again for DD2 :lol: She is so excited that she has been \"repeating\" the same Question,\" so I can go to Jie Jie's school? And take school bus with her? And....?\" :rotflmao:

Champion

Yeah...lucky thing is that the orientation is after the SA2 - else I will be 😓 😓 😓 😓

Can't imagine the 2 of them taking the same school bus - sure to fight! :pokeeye: :razz:

• KiasuAdultK Offline
                      KiasuAdult

haha, quite true. they may even think it is class 11 (1.1) or 110 (hundred and ten)?

some schools have very long names. can't remember which school but either name after certain qualities or flowers or what, so can be 1 Anthurium or 1 Temperence, and the kid has to spell out the name each time they write it on each exercise or textbook. Or maybe it is the mom who has the tedious job? 🙂
                      from what i know, i think is fuhua primary. they have names like 4Loyalty(not very sure of the names but should be correct) dun know whenther got any other schools leh? :scratchhead:

Kabby

thank you champs! i got the newsletter too and it is exciting to read about the upper levels’ stuff like camps and overseas trips. hope next time our kids get to go to some fun places!

actually very nice for dd2 to follow dd1. it’ll be very cute on the 1st day too. you can take photo for both of them in the same uniform!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 42 / 99