Corporation Primary

981 Posts 59 Posters 306.1k Views 1 Watching
      Dora1

Hi snoopy

Thanks for the welcome!
      Yah, I saw the sign put up. I think it’s quite a fair system, although that means I get 2nd last priority, just before PR with no siblings. Cos I think the sch has additional subsidy for the in house student care, on top of gov subsidies. So those on the lowest income bracket dun have to pay anything. These kids will probably end up as latch key kids if there wasn’t any in-house student care.
      How’s the student care? I read previously that you had concerns abt sleeping on the table. I dun like it too. Most prob DD will just skip her nap then.

maykenth

Thank you for reply so much… i will be less worry .( a bit! )

need your advise::

wat about in terms of academic? is CPS will be too relax ? will there be enough "chalenging" homework , worksheets. and wat about in upper primary P5 and P6 will there be enough preparation for PSLE? enough drilling exercise?

Now my dd can read and write similar to P1 standard already.
        she go to private kindergarten. they actually teach P1 maths already now ( I cant be bothered) as long she can cope and happy learning new things) and so far she can just passed the homework.

sorry so many questions… i dont have good memory in primary school. hates it . i hope my kids will be happy and study well there…

Today , i failed to reach to CPS. me and dd toook the wrong bus. .sotong mom…
        ( i stay boon lay drive) have to take 2 buses or 1 bus + walk 500km plus.

Kabby

hi may kenth,

CPS has several programmes for the higher ability students. i think champion's dd1 and my ds1 have benefitted from them. i think my son is challenged sufficiently and i am happy so far.

regarding PSLE, I don't know yet as my son is not there yet. but i have faith in the school.

your dd seems smart, i am pretty sure smart kids will shine anywhere. 🙂 you are right about being happy... i too feel that the joy of learning is the most important. my kids love to go to school a lot. that's why i am so happy with this school. 🙂

i know what you are talking about regarding the bus stop. my son takes bus home too. i used to ferry him and when i first let him take the bus I was worried about the walk to the main road, as the bus stop right outside the school doesn't come to my house.

however, he assures me daily that the walk is not long, it is not hot and he has friends to walk with. he also assures me that they cross the road very carefully... so i have learnt to relax and i think the long walk may be good for him. i used to worry about him having to carry his heavy bag and walk so far too (500m though, not 500km :)), but he doesn't seem to be bothered at all. which is good training for NS in future, i think! hehe

so perhaps you try the walk, instead of 2 buses, because for your distance, taking 2 buses is not worth the transfer and waiting. hope this helps!

maykenth

Thank you for prompt reply kabalevski and champion!! 🙂

which primary level is your DS? tat they are able to go home her own?? i cant wait till tat day.. so dont need parents send or take school bus tat goes round n round.. you really assure me tat CPS is a good choice.. hope we share the same view in future.

yup yup.. its 500m not 500km.. im so nervous of dd tomorrow education . if balotting again, think i no luck this year.. never win 4d or toto .not even once in a life time.

i will visit CPS tomorrow with my DD . if its her destiny then, she will register successfully.. or else we will go down to phase 3 enter Boon Lay Garden?? (if still got vacancy)

Dora1

Yes, I also think that CPS is not accessible to public transport! I stay around lakeside MRT area. By car, its only 5min. But there's no direct bus, even to the main road at Jurong West Ave 2. I haven't figured out the fastest way to get there by bus, but to take 2 buses for a total of 4-5 bus stops, it may end up being 45min! :slapshead: Maybe this is also a reason for this school being not popular.

Maybe we should feedback to the school and ask the school to write to LTA to improve on accessibility by public transport. :idea:

Kabby

Yes I believe accessibility is an important factor in the popularity of a school. CPS only has a few blocks behind her. The rest of the student population has to take school bus or public tpt.

Yes, maybe feedback to LTA with more collective responses from parents will help? The construction of Google HQ there… do you think more buses will ply the route after it is completed? I’m sure they will hire many employees right?

Maykenth, ds1 is in P3. Actually i worry a lot for his safety, but I have no choice. His timing of dismissal is different everyday of the week and it clashes with his other siblings’ and my schedule. He being the oldest, has to make his way home himself.

But I think back on my own childhood, back then we also took the bus back ourselves. So I have to train him to do it too.

sno_opy

kabalevsky, Google HQ? wow! the construction site just next to CPS? i googled and noticed they are building data center at JW.

Dora1, the student care supposed to send out the information about the sleeping bag early this month, maybe they still cannot get a special room from CPS for those kids need to take nap. Some kids do not take nap at all, my girl often complain she cannot sleep as others make a lot of noise. 😞

Overall, ACE @ work (student care) is functioning well. This coming Thursday/Friday they will arrange excursion for kids in the morning as the school is used for PSLE oral exam. Happy about their effort as the kids can go to park to play and we don't need to take leave.

About transportation, ACE @ work specially arranged one van (school bus) to send the kids back to home at about 630pm, i can't remember the fee, about $60 per month.

Dora1

Just received a call from the student care. My DD is in !!! 🕺

Thanks Snoopy for the reassurance. My DD also seldom naps in her CC now, as she has additional swimming and other enrichment classes in the afternoon. And on other days, she is also too KPO to sleep. She sleeps early, so I'm fine with no naps. As long as she can finish her homework in the student care so that we don't have to struggle with it at night so that we can have quality time together, that is ok.

Wah Google HQ! Hmm... but would it cause traffic jams in the small roads in the morning and evenings??! Yes, we should write to LTA!
                    Especially there will be new HDB flats that are going to be ready soon. cannot have only 2 services on the main road and 1 on the side road!
                    Errm... anybody in the PSG or stg like that?? Can arrange for some feedback to be sent to LTA or via the school?

maykenth

i decided not go to corporation. its really not accessible easily from my house… i went there this morning. have constructions beside the school too… lucky parents if they stay at the new hdb nearby there… thanks pal, for all your infos… really happy to hear tat your children are happy scholar there… all the best

Kabby

maykenth, no problem. all the best and may your child have a wonderful learning journey in Pr sch!

Dora, congrats to you and dd for getting in the basc! 🙂

paiseh, sno_opy says data center? i dunno what exactly, just read the signboard outside the construction and heard from other parents that it is Google HQ, so I said HQ. I'm not an insider wrt Google, so it is what I heard. hope it's not wrong info!

Dora, i will try to see if can feedback to school regarding public transportation.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 81 / 99