Rulang Primary

1.6k Posts 125 Posters 561.0k Views 1 Watching
      Lock

RRMummy:

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
      also someone's kid was in top class in recent year from there. the parent asked the school whether any need of tuition for the kid. the school replied : can he ever finished the work from school?

If any teachers were to tell me this, I'll 100% freak out :faint:

actually, one of the BASC I enquired said that Rulang will prepare the students well no need to go for any tuition... but I did not expect homework that is beyond sanity to complete...[/quote]It's the fact that in order to score for PSLE, the students must go through drills and practice. I wonder why are the parents here so shocked at this fact. The only difference between Rulang and other top performing schools is that students in Rulang are drilled by the school, whereas students in the other top schools are drilled by the various tuition centres they attend.

Isn't it wonderful that Rulang actually prepares students for PSLE and there's no need for students to have tuitions? Imagine the time and money saved. My friends' kids from top performing schs have tuitions for all subjects, some even 2 tuitions for each subject and they too have tons of work frm the centres to be completed, on top of the sch's hmwk.
      Furthermore, time is wasted on travelling to the various tuition centres. 1 mum i know actually have her kids eat in the car while they rush from sch to tuition or rush from 1 tuition to another. The weekends are even crazier as the kids practically have tuitions back to back and often have takeaway lunches like sandwiches or burgers. That's the price to pay to get high scores.

In view of that, I wld rather have the sch preapre my child for the PSLE without me having to send him for tuitions.

alng

sunsweet:

verykiasu,

personally i didn't really have a happy pri school life cos i was not considered those scoring great grades in school...

That's why I'm thinking of Rulang which is oppo my home! keke

it also depend how you partner the school in your child's education

my son's cousin was very happy till the mindless drilling because the child is in the top class....so much homework until very sian liao

my son in NYPS, not much work to him, always complete in class / in school except lately but still complete before dinner time....so he took up many CCAs and enjoy his school every bit of it

Drilling in top classes too? My nephew had the same drilling but he was not from the top classes. I remember when he was in P5 2 years ago, he had 20 comprehension worksheets during his June holidays. That was only for English.

Lock:
          RRMummy:

[quote=\"markfch\"]
          If any teachers were to tell me this, I'll 100% freak out :faint:

actually, one of the BASC I enquired said that Rulang will prepare the students well no need to go for any tuition... but I did not expect homework that is beyond sanity to complete...

It's the fact that in order to score for PSLE, the students must go through drills and practice. I wonder why are the parents here so shocked at this fact. The only difference between Rulang and other top performing schools is that students in Rulang are drilled by the school, whereas students in the other top schools are drilled by the various tuition centres they attend.

Isn't it wonderful that Rulang actually prepares students for PSLE and there's no need for students to have tuitions? Imagine the time and money saved. My friends' kids from top performing schs have tuitions for all subjects, some even 2 tuitions for each subject and they too have tons of work frm the centres to be completed, on top of the sch's hmwk.
          Furthermore, time is wasted on travelling to the various tuition centres. 1 mum i know actually have her kids eat in the car while they rush from sch to tuition or rush from 1 tuition to another. The weekends are even crazier as the kids practically have tuitions back to back and often have takeaway lunches like sandwiches or burgers. That's the price to pay to get high scores.

In view of that, I wld rather have the sch preapre my child for the PSLE without me having to send him for tuitions.[/quote]the way that Rulang does it is MINDLESS drilling, whether the kids are learning anything or not is not sure. what is sure is that the students are SICK of it

other top schools' tuition may also have tuition at wherever or the school may also drill them .... but have not heard that kind of remark like that attributed to Rulang....not in my son's case at least.....the whole class average in high 80s and 90s for the prelims and still got time to play courtyard soccer and what nots...finish all homework / practise papers before dinner at 7pm, and still bugging the teachers for more assignments

Lock

Hmmm...my ds is only P1 in Rulang so hvnt experience mindless drills yet. 🙂 so far he is enjoying himself in Sch n I dun hv any complains. Maybe in a few yrs time u'll see me screaming my head off here 😛

ttyh

My P2 ds has 4 compositions, 5 pages exercise in Maths activity books, plus 1 art clock to complete for the Sep holiday…

That consider as mindless drilling?

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                starlight1968sg

Perhaps the word \"MINDLESS\" is unsuitable as it is subjective?

Some form of drilling is needed. Who has a child who does not need to do much revision/worksheets AND score top marks? Perhaps only a few.
                Schools may be giving mindless drilling; aren't some tuition centres and parents doing a similar drilling too?

If your kid is in a school that seems to give MINDLESS drilling, as a parent, you have a choice to take him or her out asap before it is too late. :roll:

ttyh

Came home today with 2 packs of 2009 Top schools Exam papers.....

Ok..I confess, I'm guilty of mindless drilling..... :oops:

starlight1968sg:
                    Perhaps the word \"MINDLESS\" is unsuitable as it is subjective?

Some form of drilling is needed. Who has a child who does not need to do much revision/worksheets AND score top marks? Perhaps only a few.
                    Schools may be giving mindless drilling; aren't some tuition centres and parents doing a similar drilling too?

If your kid is in a school that seems to give MINDLESS drilling, as a parent, you have a choice to take him or her out asap before it is too late. :roll:
                    yes, applying for transfer

ttyh:
                      Came home today with 2 packs of 2009 Top schools Exam papers.....

Ok..I confess, I'm guilty of mindless drilling..... :oops:
                      may be not yet

if the school piles it on you till you have no time to do any other thing and can't even finish what is given by the school - top boy in top class - then it is called MINDLESS drilling

not that I do not agree with the necessary practices which is crucial .... but starting at P4 is overboard. may be many parents think that lots of work means the school is hard working pushing the kids to the limit. no wonder they are many kids out there who can regurgitate everything from exams materials but have no idea of what they have \"learnt\"

meimeitan

Dear All,

When I saw u guys discussing Rulang Pri Sch, I can't help to join in. My friend told me that her kid studying in Rulang P6. Since P6 students are facing PSLE, the teachers became more \"dilligent\". They asked her kid to go back to school at 6.30 am to hv an hour tution before the flag raising ceremony. The kids also hv to stay back until 4 pm every day. The kids also were given a lot of homework. :x One of the teachers told the class that they hv to do well in PSLE. One mark higher, one more dollar gain. (I think the teacher talked about their performance bonus.) I think mindless drilling cause more students want to give up. They don't think leaning and studying are interesting. They learn just for parents' desire and teachers' salary. The students are requested to memorise the oral notes and recite them many times. They recite the notes until some of them lose their voice. I feel sorry about it. Later, I get angry. How eduction the school offer to the students. PSLE results can bring honour to the school. However, what and who bring the real education to the kids. Hope the school reflect the teaching method or approach they used.

meimeitan 😞

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 163