Hong Wen
Not sure whether they sell in cups. The amt is for a can. What I know abt canteen food is that there's nasi lemak, mee with assorted add-ons, bee hoon, fruits, corn, bao, siew mah, laksa or something similar, biscuit snacks.hi sahm_tan, the price for drinks. Is that in terms of can or cup? I heard (not sure if right/not) that they sell in cups so kids don't have to buy the whole can.
Am not sure of the variety, but seems quite sad the few times I was there.
They will be there for 6 yrs so sooner or later the students will be bored with the food. Like at home, I tell them to eat whatever I cooked. I have a fixed menu for lunch per wk :rotflmao: My concerns are price, taste and nutritional value. I hope they are not selling processed meat like luncheon meat or chicken nuggets. :sick: -
our major problem… our school population is smal, only 1300 students, hence the recent high inflation doesn’t help the stall holders. For the past 2 years, 3 stalls had quit.
In order to survive, they have to resort to cost-cutting measures… and selling food with cheaper incredient.
On the other hand, we had been asking them to control their prices as we have a good % of parents of mid-low income…
Perhaps we are at a break point. . Challenging. -
Ya it’s not easy becos the stall holder need to survive too. Unless we find those retirees who just want to cook to pass the time and not worried about livelihood. Just to meet cost of operating will do kind. Hmmmmm wonder any old alumni want or not heehee.
Hmmm, have to brainstorm.
Hmmmmm do we have any alumni in the food industry who can supply cheaper and safe ingred to help lower operating costs? -
i stay walking distance from st andrews
if you are going under phase 2C, and stay out of 1km, I advise better look at another school. St Andrews also about there - I'm not sure about stats for this but it may be even more popular than HWS (becos got affiliated sec school mah). Sorry not familiar with cedar.
though my wife not very keen cos of some bad news coming out from there..
probably will go for stamford since its near my parents' place and they are going to take care of the boys.. -
hi ahkeong,
My ex-coll (from SA) told me that their pri school is very good; sec school used to have ‘challenging’ reputation - think they have cleaned it up a bit. But on the other hand, going to the pri school will assure affiliation all the way until JC - many other schools dun have that.
All the best for your choice. After this time, i think what’s most impt is convenience. no point going to the best school in the world if it means your kid has to wake up at 5am in the morning and last till 2pm. -
ooooo i stay really near to SA.. hence we wanted to put our boys therehi ahkeong,
My ex-coll (from SA) told me that their pri school is very good; sec school used to have 'challenging' reputation - think they have cleaned it up a bit. But on the other hand, going to the pri school will assure affiliation all the way until JC - many other schools dun have that.
All the best for your choice. After this time, i think what's most impt is convenience. no point going to the best school in the world if it means your kid has to wake up at 5am in the morning and last till 2pm.
but after a couple of incidents involving their boys.. my wife has some reserves.. some more all boys school, abit inbalance cos no girls to see.. lol -
oh, first hand somemore. then that’s different.
hmm, I thought you should only want your boys to look at girls when they are more matured (ie JC or further)? too young start also no good. hee hee -
haha worry that he develops more liking towards boys than girls mah
so having a balance is better right?
i all along is mixed school… i love girls since pri 1
haha -
woah, you not worried your sons look at girls more than books? hee.
Anyway, to tell the truth, I didn’t have that great impression of HWS kids (esp after an outing I assisted in). But then having my kid IN the school and hearing what the P and teachers say/do with the kids change my mind. Haizzz, secret out liao. -
hong wen last time oso not good de leh
but nowadays quite improve liao… even stamford oso quite lousy now
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.