Hong Wen
During the parents’ briefing last sat. A parent stood up and shared that he was a former student and why though he is surrounded by top schools near his house he choose HW. He shared that he has very good experience as a student and he feel HW though not a top school, it’s a good school. That’s why he sent his kid to HW.
Each person’s experience with the school is different. I can also share that I know a parent who regretted sending her daughter to one of the top schools in Singapore. But there are many who enjoyed their school lives in top schools too It really depends on many factors.
So far my DD1 enjoy going to school and is happy and that’s good enough for me. As for the academic portion, I will work with the teachers.
I like the P and I think it’s important to like the leader of the school. -
Just to check, I rec the letter about the young scientist and highlight mag subscription. Along with the letter, is there a subscription form that comes with the letter?
The letter state "fill in the accompanying subscription slip" but DD1 told me she only rec the letter. So just checking if this is so or did she over-looked the form.
Thanks -
hee, my friend’s bro was from HWS and she told me to go for that school (that was during the days of the OLD facility).
gosh… abit difficult to choose now
btw am I too late to end him to a more popular school now?
think I not kiasu but bochap!!! till now not yet enrol him -
Hi ahkeong,
If you are registering for P1 this year your options of getting into phase 2b is limited. Grassroots, PV, clan membership are closed to you. I’m not sure about church affiliation though. Even if you wish to move house to be within 1km of the school the schedule is rather impossible too. Moreover there’s no guarantee in phase 2B and Phase 2C even if you are living within 1 km of the popular or top schools. As of todate only Phase 1 and Phase 2A1/2 are guaranteed a place.
I have many frens with kids in P1 from different primary schools. The prog seemed more or less the same. There are some specialised areas and additional prog but they are moving in the same direction. So don’t worry too much abt the primary schools. On fact one of my fren the school is normal but I’m impressed with the prog that the school
organised and the teachers seemed to put in more effort.
PSLE though a milestone, it does not determine a person’s life. Values, beliefs, the obstacles, the failures, the getting up, the journey, all these shape the person.
Of course I’m not brushing off PSLE but it’s only a small part of the whole picture. It’s really not life and death. -
oops… simply bo chap lo
till now we still not sure where to enrol him
or at least shortlist… think the best chance is stamford since i am from there
and i heard the school not very popular… -
:rotflmao: since bo chap then dun worry so much.
Not popular does not mean not good.
I have 2 nieces from stamford primary and they are doing fine. The eldest one will be in JC later this yr. -
oh wow… i duno anyone from stamford after me
thought its really bad till noone wanna go liao
maybe tomorrow go see see again after decades…
thanks for the info!! btw i can go in and say i wanna enrol my son into the school ya? -
hi ahkeong,
you have to wait until the P1 2013 enrolment starts lah. Usually the fun starts around July/Aug. Your child (if in kindy) should receive booklets and notice regarding the whole exercise; also I started noticing big posters in the mrt stations during the whole exercise.
each phase has its own time period hor. dun saunter into the school and tell them you want to register, you will become famous very fast.
hahahahahh i newbie in such things so abit blur lo…
so the registeration thingy has not even started ah?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.