Hong Wen

2.9k Posts 174 Posters 702.4k Views 1 Watching
      ahkeong

gosh… abit difficult to choose now

btw am I too late to end him to a more popular school now?
      think I not kiasu but bochap!!! till now not yet enrol him

SAHM_TAN

Hi ahkeong,

If you are registering for P1 this year your options of getting into phase 2b is limited. Grassroots, PV, clan membership are closed to you. I’m not sure about church affiliation though. Even if you wish to move house to be within 1km of the school the schedule is rather impossible too. Moreover there’s no guarantee in phase 2B and Phase 2C even if you are living within 1 km of the popular or top schools. As of todate only Phase 1 and Phase 2A1/2 are guaranteed a place.

I have many frens with kids in P1 from different primary schools. The prog seemed more or less the same. There are some specialised areas and additional prog but they are moving in the same direction. So don’t worry too much abt the primary schools. On fact one of my fren the school is normal but I’m impressed with the prog that the school
        organised and the teachers seemed to put in more effort.

PSLE though a milestone, it does not determine a person’s life. Values, beliefs, the obstacles, the failures, the getting up, the journey, all these shape the person.

Of course I’m not brushing off PSLE but it’s only a small part of the whole picture. It’s really not life and death.

ahkeong

oops… simply bo chap lo

till now we still not sure where to enrol him
          or at least shortlist… think the best chance is stamford since i am from there
          and i heard the school not very popular…

SAHM_TAN

:rotflmao: since bo chap then dun worry so much.

Not popular does not mean not good.

I have 2 nieces from stamford primary and they are doing fine. The eldest one will be in JC later this yr.

ahkeong

oh wow… i duno anyone from stamford after me

thought its really bad till noone wanna go liao

maybe tomorrow go see see again after decades…
              thanks for the info!! btw i can go in and say i wanna enrol my son into the school ya?

hquek

hi ahkeong,

you have to wait until the P1 2013 enrolment starts lah. Usually the fun starts around July/Aug. Your child (if in kindy) should receive booklets and notice regarding the whole exercise; also I started noticing big posters in the mrt stations during the whole exercise.

each phase has its own time period hor. dun saunter into the school and tell them you want to register, you will become famous very fast. 😛

ahkeong

hahahahahh i newbie in such things so abit blur lo…

so the registeration thingy has not even started ah?

lionheart

simsl_sg:
                    I have 2 friends who used to study in HW and very bad feedback from them. Both of them have kids now and refuse to send to HW. So you can all imagine how bad the comments/impression of the school. Even after i shared how new the facilities, better results....still does not change their mind to send their kids to HW. So it is really individual preference when choosing school.

How old are they? if they have gone into Hong Wen in late 70s to 90s, that was the bad period of Hong Wen.... Every HWS alumni shook their head when they spoken about that era. But they all gave thumbs up the current Principal who built HWS from shambles.. take offline .. i can explain to you.

hquek

not yet. I haven’t got the letter from DS1 also.

btw, only after one phase end, then parents will know the available vacancies for the next phase. And each phase may have a 2 day or 3 day window during which parents must register.

As old pupil of stamford, please appear at the school on the appointed day with your REPORT BOOK and other documents. So better start dig it up now if you can’t recall where it is placed. If you miss that Phase 2A registration window, you cannot go back to ask to register under that phase.

lionheart

ahkeong:
                        gosh... abit difficult to choose now

btw am I too late to end him to a more popular school now?
                        think I not kiasu but bochap!!! till now not yet enrol him

In Singapore context, bochap cannot work.. the kiasuism pushed parents to the edge.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 158 / 294