Hong Wen
To me the examples you listed are not cases for or against DSA. Rather it is the lack of understanding of the education/cca system for example number 1. I’m not sure if it is the case for all sec school but schools that have certain niche or tradition will want to "grab" students with relevant skills once said students are in their school regardless they go in via DSA or PSLE results. At least for for latter, the student does not feel she owe it to the school.
For the 2nd example, I find it is the mindset. All males need to go NS under normal circumstances. So it might be a good training ground for him.
The soccer and badminton example, perhaps they should have looked in the Singapore Sports School, not sure if both sports are under the school. Guess the kids are so into sports that perhaps the parents need to accept and plan accordingly.
I think in the case of the student with calligraphy as CCA, everything just falls into place. The CCA is not overly taxing but I only know of 1 school that has DSA for this CCA. It’s perfect planning whether she was accepted under academic or CCA.
Bottomline choose the cca in primary school wisely whether you want to use it for DSA or not. -
Agree with what sahm_tan said. From my experience and that of number one example, DS should choose a cca he can live with. Else next time the sec school may just try to foist that on him, like it or not.
Ladies.. confusing .. rite. this is the problem that i am facing.. :(..
Anyway, i had simplified the process.. I will just follow my child's hunch. he had his sight onto a school since P4. Hope his wish is fulfilled. -
For soccer and badminton case, both children 's parents hoped their children to do mainstream education. School coaches had requested their parents to consider Sport School but they refused. So it is something that is not so straightforward.. imho it was the level of parental intervention that had contributed to the situation. I agree with SAHM.. perhaps it is not a well-informed choice...
The soccer and badminton example, perhaps they should have looked in the Singapore Sports School, not sure if both sports are under the school. Guess the kids are so into sports that perhaps the parents need to accept and plan accordingly.
Bottomline choose the cca in primary school wisely whether you want to use it for DSA or not. -
As with all things in life, have a backup plan.
From how I see it as long as you are not aiming to DSA to RI and HCI via academic, you will feel less stress becos these 2 are hotly pursued by geppers. So kids from mainstream will have lesser chance not that it’s impossible.
Since your ds already has his eyes on a school liao then just DSA to that school. Once you accept offer cannot change one hor.
All the best to your son.
The whole process very simple one. Just need to know what you are accepting and go in with your eyes open and with an open mind lor. -
lionheart:
Hmmm, I thought so. Since the kids are good in their respective sports. I can understand the parents' 苦心.
For soccer and badminton case, both children 's parents hoped their children to do mainstream education. School coaches had requested their parents to consider Sport School but they refused. So it is something that is not so straightforward.. imho it was the level of parental intervention that had contributed to the situation. I agree with SAHM.. perhaps it is not a well-informed choice...SAHM_TAN:
Bottomline choose the cca in primary school wisely whether you want to use it for DSA or not.
I'm still learning myself. The thing is once a parent decides to develop a child in a non-academic area and the child excels, then the parent must learn to accept and plan accordingly. The parent must always ask what if the child wants to carry this interest professionally.
I'm still questioning myself. Will I be able to let go academic pursuit if dd1 one day tell me she wants to pursue this other thing professionally instead.
Although we like to think about holistic devt, at the end of the day, most parents are practical pple. It's not easy to trust that a 12yo knows what he/she wants. We must look into our hearts and think. -
interestingly … only 3 of us are concerned about DSA… so it seems many are non DSA-route believers.
:rotflmao: our school's parents are very quiet type.
I've thought abt DSA before dd1 started P1. I even checked out which are the CCAs in HW that can be used as DSA to other sec schools hor, since HW has no sec school affiliation.
I have calmed down somewhat after reading the DSA thread.
I've let dd1 select her CCA becos I think that particularly CCA might be good for her.
In P4 I will decide to pursue DSA or not or just do it for the heck of it, since technically there's no need to prepare. If have offer, PSLE time not so stress, if no offer, then PSLE as per normal, nothing to lose and it will be an interesting experience.
I will bring her to sec school open houses when she's in P4/P5 bah. So that she can start to think about education life after primary school. -
My DS1 one year older than your girl, but I only think in abstract terms. he’s his own person, no amount of me dreaming will suddenly make him excel in sports or have interest other than cartoons and toys.
Anyway, after reading some of Mr Sun Yun Xiao’s book (the one about parents who know method…), I feel enlightened. No point pushing my kids to do something they dun like and prevent them from doing what they love, to the expense of our relationship and their future. that is one great book, but unfortunately, I’m still plodding along. -
Yah, sometimes I feel like we are talking 'xiang sheng'. :rotflmao::rotflmao: our school's parents are very quiet type.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.