Hong Wen

2.9k Posts 174 Posters 702.4k Views 1 Watching
      SAHM_TAN

:rotflmao: our school's parents are very quiet type.

I've thought abt DSA before dd1 started P1. I even checked out which are the CCAs in HW that can be used as DSA to other sec schools hor, since HW has no sec school affiliation.

I have calmed down somewhat after reading the DSA thread.

I've let dd1 select her CCA becos I think that particularly CCA might be good for her.

In P4 I will decide to pursue DSA or not or just do it for the heck of it, since technically there's no need to prepare. If have offer, PSLE time not so stress, if no offer, then PSLE as per normal, nothing to lose and it will be an interesting experience.

I will bring her to sec school open houses when she's in P4/P5 bah. So that she can start to think about education life after primary school.

hquek

My DS1 one year older than your girl, but I only think in abstract terms. he’s his own person, no amount of me dreaming will suddenly make him excel in sports or have interest other than cartoons and toys.

Anyway, after reading some of Mr Sun Yun Xiao’s book (the one about parents who know method…), I feel enlightened. No point pushing my kids to do something they dun like and prevent them from doing what they love, to the expense of our relationship and their future. that is one great book, but unfortunately, I’m still plodding along.

hquek

Yah, sometimes I feel like we are talking 'xiang sheng'. :rotflmao:

SAHM_TAN

Yes will be getting that book. Thinking thru peeka or not.

Yes passion is most important. This is something I'm still grappling in my earlier post. I cannot honestly say now I will 100% be able to let her follow her passion, should she find one that's more unusual. :rotflmao:

But I must still do my homework mah, I must know what's the environment like and the various options available. Then I can be in a position to explain to dd1 when the time is ripe.

Unfortunately time is tight in primary education, will need to explain things to dd1 when she's in P4. So that she knows what's going on after primary education.

Giving information to make informed decision and pushing kids to live the lives we want are 2 very different things.

SAHM_TAN

Let's hope every yr there will be a parent like us, then gradually it will no longer be xiang sheng LOL

lionheart

That’s my belief too… let my boys do what they like… We can’t force a hand onto it. the best that we do is to support their dream; and we must ensure ourselves that we have deep pocket to fuel their passion.

The Sun Yunxiao 's book is good. it is available in Youyi @ Bras Brasah.

Glad to see HQuek attended his workshop @ NYGH. For the least, our PSG publicity works on Sun Yunxiao didn’t go to waste.

lionheart

[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]:rotflmao: our school's parents are very quiet type.

Let's hope every yr there will be a parent like us, then gradually it will no longer be xiang sheng LOL[/quote]Indeed we are 多口相声 or Do-Re-Mi..sometimes Do-Re-Mi-Fa

Yah lor, our HWS parents are mostly shy. i met quite a few whom said they check KSP on regular.. but dun see their posting..

hquek

lionheart:
                    That's my belief too.. let my boys do what they like.... We can't force a hand onto it. the best that we do is to support their dream; and we must ensure ourselves that we have deep pocket to fuel their passion.

The Sun Yunxiao 's book is good. it is available in Youyi @ Bras Brasah.

Glad to see HQuek attended his workshop @ NYGH. For the least, our PSG publicity works on Sun Yunxiao didn't go to waste.
                    Hee, bought my copy from china. cheaper lah.

But yes, I'm a convert and busily introducing this book to friends who may be inclined to read. his thinking may not be that conventional (eg let the child follow his heart despite all alarm bells ringing) but it depends if the parent want a child who grows into his own person or one who could grow up broken as a person.

So all thanks to psg for introducing me to his works.

lionheart

Hee, bought my copy from china. cheaper lah.

So all thanks to psg for introducing me to his works.
                      Wah.. .. that is nice..?

if that is case, can we ship in the full series? I dun mind donating a set to

宏慈坊

lionheart

Anyone attending the Family Camp 2012?

It will be held this coming Weekend…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 173 / 294