Nan Chiau Primary
timtim:
Since you said so, can you pls enlighten us? It simply doesn't make sense, what is the basis? The school doesn't even know the ability of the children prior to P1. As I said, it's totally non academic in the class allocation, maybe they use some other non-academic parameters of the kids. So don't imagine or read too much into it and cause unnecessary stress. What's the diff between A or J, kids perform well in all classes. The tops can come from any class as I have experienced.sc88:
[quote=\"larkspur\"]one thing to ask the letter mentions refer to appendix 1 for the seating arrangement but i dun have the appendix 1. Am i missing one paper?
Come on lah. There is a differences in which classes in Primary 1 for our DS,
DD are in, almost everywhere in Singapore schools all the same. We all parents knew it. Just that we have to try to think in a more positive way , that's all .
Anyway, I called the admin staff, and what she told me the form was not attached. On 23rd Nov 2011, just check with the staffs when we reach there, there will be several notice boards stating the classes for parents to sit .
The only common basis between students in one school and even other schools is the PSLE. So I don't even want to compare with kids from other schools since standards in the assessment/exam can be very different.[/quote]
They have a way... That's why I find that it is not fair.. As I mentioned earlier..\"VERY CONFIDENTIAL\" :xedfingers:
Example the most basic things is that their spellings is different. Different classes have different standards of spellings. This is the most basic differences. -
Bluebelt
So you mean that the first two classes for Pri 1 are ‘better’ class? and the rest no different. Can share how they allocate? Based on the kindergarten they attend? -
sc88:
The spellings are the same for all classes, don't quite get what you mean. We have crossed check between parents, do you have substantial evidence to say so? Which P1 class is your kid, can you show us an example of one of the spelling with date? This is easy to check among us with kids in P1 this yr.timtim:
Since you said so, can you pls enlighten us? It simply doesn't make sense, what is the basis? The school doesn't even know the ability of the children prior to P1. As I said, it's totally non academic in the class allocation, maybe they use some other non-academic parameters of the kids. So don't imagine or read too much into it and cause unnecessary stress. What's the diff between A or J, kids perform well in all classes. The tops can come from any class as I have experienced.
The only common basis between students in one school and even other schools is the PSLE. So I don't even want to compare with kids from other schools since standards in the assessment/exam can be very different.
They have a way... That's why I find that it is not fair.. As I mentioned earlier..\"VERY CONFIDENTIAL\" :xedfingers:
Example the most basic things is that their spellings is different. Different classes have different standards of spellings. This is the most basic differences. -
There was a lot of speculation for the 2010 batch of P1 when their classes were allocated after the orientation "tests". But since last yr, classes were allocated b4 orientation, right?
FYI, the top 3 kids (all boys) in P1 standard for 2010 were from P1F & P1H, w 2nd & 3rd going to a pair of twins who were 1st & 2nd in the same class. -
Btw, 2010 P1F’s form teacher who taught English & Maths is form teacher for 2011’s P1F as well. So let’s c if she can produce another 1st in std.

hi everyone !! i am alice wei ! my son is currently studying in nan chiau primary 5A class. feel free to message me regrading tip to study or good tutions on primary 6 PSLE .
timtim:
The spellings are the same for all classes, don't quite get what you mean. We have crossed check between parents, do you have substantial evidence to say so? Which P1 class is your kid, can you show us an example of one of the spelling with date? This is easy to check among us with kids in P1 this yr.[/quote]sc88:
[quote=\"timtim\"]
Since you said so, can you pls enlighten us? It simply doesn't make sense, what is the basis? The school doesn't even know the ability of the children prior to P1. As I said, it's totally non academic in the class allocation, maybe they use some other non-academic parameters of the kids. So don't imagine or read too much into it and cause unnecessary stress. What's the diff between A or J, kids perform well in all classes. The tops can come from any class as I have experienced.
The only common basis between students in one school and even other schools is the PSLE. So I don't even want to compare with kids from other schools since standards in the assessment/exam can be very different.
Example the most basic things is that their spellings is different. Different classes have different standards of spellings. This is the most basic differences.
My Dd this year is in primary 2. It is last years spellings. I just happened to came across the NCPS website last year under spelling lists(Unfortunately,Now I don't remember how I search) , I just remembered that it was different from my girl when she is in primary 1 last year.
The teachers ways/methods of teaching also different. From what I understand they go according to faster catch up students and slower catch up students. This is where they arrange our Dd , Ds in which classes.
U find that is it fair? Ok. ,If one is to think positively , some parents will think from above methods is good for their kids but however, I believes No parents wants their Dd , Ds to be posted under the last few classes (Being considers as slower students, Right? What rights they says our child is slower ,by going through other sources ...then place our kids in individual primary 1 classes?) -
sc88:
How can you compare different yrs. Of course it may be different. But for a particular yr, the spellings are the same for all classes. This shows the standard or demand of each class is the same. This yr, the spelling list is issued to parents quarterly in paper, not via NCPS website. All classes have the same spellings, for both EL & CL. Did you mixed up with something else?timtim:
The spellings are the same for all classes, don't quite get what you mean. We have crossed check between parents, do you have substantial evidence to say so? Which P1 class is your kid, can you show us an example of one of the spelling with date? This is easy to check among us with kids in P1 this yr.
My Dd this year is in primary 2. It is last years spellings. I just happened to came across the NCPS website last year under spelling lists(Unfortunately,Now I don't remember how I search) , I just remembered that it was different from my girl when she is in primary 1 last year. -
sc88:
Perhaps it's an outdated 1?
My Dd this year is in primary 2. It is last years spellings. I just happened to came across the NCPS website last year under spelling lists(Unfortunately,Now I don't remember how I search) , I just remembered that it was different from my girl when she is in primary 1 last year.
I rem my friend SOS me 4 help when her DS of a different class misplaced his P1 spelling list last year & I smsed her the words of the week. Never hear her complain given wrong set of words leh.
We sometimes even alerted each other abt typo errors in dictations & tingxie. -
timtim:
How can you compare different yrs. Of course it may be different. But for a particular yr, the spellings are the same for all classes. This shows the standard or demand of each class is the same. This yr, the spelling list is issued to parents quarterly in paper, not via NCPS website. All classes have the same spellings, for both EL & CL. Did you mixed up with something else?[/quote]sc88:
[quote=\"timtim\"]
The spellings are the same for all classes, don't quite get what you mean. We have crossed check between parents, do you have substantial evidence to say so? Which P1 class is your kid, can you show us an example of one of the spelling with date? This is easy to check among us with kids in P1 this yr.
No in the same year. Yes, through lists issued to students. Just that I happened to be able to search through the website.
I think is up to individual parents to believes or not . No further comments.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.