Nan Chiau Primary

3.3k Posts 171 Posters 1.0m Views 1 Watching
      smurf28

hi dombry,

i saw sport link at Nex selling black PVC velcro shoes at $16.90 and there is promotion for 2nd pair at $11.90

timtim

ectanz:
        Juz wonder whether there will be any silent reading in the 1st wk for those P1 newbies. For the story bk, are they suppose to bring their own? Any particular type of story bk? What are they suppose to do after reading? Can anyone pls advice? Thks.

Yes, from 1st week. If forgot to bring, they are likely to get punishment by standing throughout the silent reading/assembly time. This is to instil the discipline in them to remember what they are suppose to do daily.

They may bring any story/educational books except comics/magazine - even Young Scientist type of magazine also not allowed. They may record the books read into the Journal but not compulsory.

dombry

bought the velco shoes from kiddy palace. see how first, then mayb go sportlink if needed.

i was also wondering abt the silent reading, will have to borrow from library. i got some short stories (ch) at home, so will probably get him to bring those. only got thomas train and couple mr men at home.

• E Offline
            ectanz

timtim:
            ectanz:

Juz wonder whether there will be any silent reading in the 1st wk for those P1 newbies. For the story bk, are they suppose to bring their own? Any particular type of story bk? What are they suppose to do after reading? Can anyone pls advice? Thks.

Yes, from 1st week. If forgot to bring, they are likely to get punishment by standing throughout the silent reading/assembly time. This is to instil the discipline in them to remember what they are suppose to do daily.

They may bring any story/educational books except comics/magazine - even Young Scientist type of magazine also not allowed. They may record the books read into the Journal but not compulsory.

Hi timtim, :thankyou: this is really very important information. Initially I tot the silent reading will only be proceeded after they hv settled down which is after 1st wk. Must really remember to bring story bk on my dd 1st of school.

For the type of story bk, do u mean that their teacher will chk individual student prior to silent reading?

timtim

dombry:
              bought the velco shoes from kiddy palace. see how first, then mayb go sportlink if needed.

i was also wondering abt the silent reading, will have to borrow from library. i got some short stories (ch) at home, so will probably get him to bring those. only got thomas train and couple mr men at home.
              I have not stepped into library for decades. Becos of my son, we go there now every 3 weeks. For what, to meet the demand of the silent reading lor, read until no books....sigh. If you are passion card member (I am one), even better, can borrow 8 books instead of normal 6 books.

timtim

ectanz:
                timtim:

Hi timtim, :thankyou: this is really very important information. Initially I tot the silent reading will only be proceeded after they hv settled down which is after 1st wk. Must really remember to bring story bk on my dd 1st of school.

For the type of story bk, do u mean that their teacher will chk individual student prior to silent reading?

I believe teachers will check thoroughly initially and kids will also be told what type of books not allowed.

Besides books, if no change, every Tue is Green Day, must let your kid bring some recyclable stuff like plastic bottles and newspapers etc. There will be competition between classes to see who has more by weight. I just let my son bring some newspaper (little bit only as bag already heavy). Initially, you will tend to forget the book for silent reading and green day easily. How I remember? I put all these in as part of the Timetable (I reproduce one myself), so when packing bag everyday, likely you won't forget.

Oh, one more thing, the timetable will change every term. So be prepared the number of PE and uniform days may change. It can be quite confusing as need to adjust every term.

larkspur

during the orientation, the principal mentioned there will be speech and drama from lorna winston and basketball duirng the weekend for P1 next year and i think it is compulsory. Anyone knows if each is just 10 lessons only and whether the timing and date for these are out? real headache for me now cos sat my girl has maths enrichment and if clashed i have to make time adjustment. wonder how long are these enrichments? feel like emailing to school but dunno if they know too.

Anyone has any info?

dombry

timtim, i am also like you… never really step into library until need to read to kids. i try to go every 2wks and get around 6bks, sometimes never finish but it is impt to build up their interest in reading. my 2 boys cannot sit still to finish, i still getting bks which are not too wordy. will kena "mark" or not?

also, how many days of PE per wk? wow, timetable change every term!!! last time i think only change every semster (during my time). also can wear PE on non PE days? the boys shirt very thick and my boy is the easy to perspire type.

today bring him to phonics, walk to school (~10mins) already hair wet. i made a mistake of dressing him in uniform. tomolo will let him wear PE.

dombry

larkspur:

during the orientation, the principal mentioned there will be speech and drama from lorna winston and basketball duirng the weekend for P1 next year and i think it is compulsory. Anyone knows if each is just 10 lessons only and whether the timing and date for these are out? real headache for me now cos sat my girl has maths enrichment and if clashed i have to make time adjustment. wonder how long are these enrichments? feel like emailing to school but dunno if they know too.

Anyone has any info?
                      i am also wondering.... cos sat morn is grandparents time. bring them out for jalan jalan or excerise. dun think he will be happy if \"outing time\" kena axed. hope the school will give us ample warning.

if there is a choice, then i would like to let him attend the speech and drama.

larkspur

dombry:
                        larkspur:

Anyone has any info?

i am also wondering.... cos sat morn is grandparents time. bring them out for jalan jalan or excerise. dun think he will be happy if \"outing time\" kena axed. hope the school will give us ample warning.

if there is a choice, then i would like to let him attend the speech and drama.

i lagi worse cos my girl sat packed with maths enrichment and swimming and one more music. Sun is a rest day for her to play. i hope the school can let us know earlier cos i need to reschedule all her timing if it clashes. i think i iwill email the school nearer to school repopen. i hope all the enrichment of speech and drama and basketball is conducted during school holidays leh

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 149 / 326