Rivervale Primary

414 Posts 50 Posters 148.6k Views 1 Watching
      Sunflower mummy

MMETwo:
      MdmGiveup:

[quote=\"MMETwo\"]Hi, after reading all these comments, they made me nervous. So can somebody tell me Rivervale is a good school or not? I will register my DD in P1 2014....

Thanks in advance.

If you are able to emulate concern2 style of handling difficult teachers, things should be ok. Morever, I believe the school will review complaints more vigilantly now that so many parents had shared their bad experiences here. :rant:
      Who knows, your child may get all the committed teachers for the 6 years. :xedfingers:

I don't know if I can handle the difficult teachers.. I don't have experience at all. 🙏 Of course I believe that every school got good and bad teachers...

I just doubt Rivervale's popularity, this school has been balloting in 2C since the last few years.. Why huh?[/quote]
      Glad that you doubt its popularity.....I used my labour to exchange for a place here and I have to :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:

Sunflower mummy

在这里,你发现森林着火了,你通知消防员来滅火。消防员虽知道,却袖自不理,让火燃烧。所以火一发不可收拾!

To me, I believe be it in school or corporate world, leadership qualities are important. Not all schools have good teachers but as far as I know that there are school leaders who will take parents complaint or feedback seriously, investigate and dealt with actions accordingly. If knowing got problems and still side the teachers and just pretend "chin chin Chye Chye" and give you a reply to close case, 问题怎么会断根?只会造成黑羊越来越多。Such problems does not only happen now, it’s accumulative!

Sunflower mummy

I believe that’s why some random selfish parents who can coach or can afford expensive tutors tend to protect the bad teachers so that there will be a wider gap between the kids in the class. That;s one way to increase their chance for the top 2 to 3% in the cohort?

But we are fighting for the majority here.

(Not referring to you hor, octoberbaby. No hard feelings ha!)[/quote]

Due to some kids have solid tuition, parents may still be in darkness not knowing there are teachers problems, as their kids can still do well. Or some may know, but they don’t care, as their tuition still there for them to fall back.

concern2

Sunflower mummy:

Glad that you doubt its popularity.....I used my labour to exchange for a place here and I have to :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:
            😆 because it is surrounded by HDB flats - those people who live near and really need them cannot be assured of a place, that is why.

concern2

MdmGiveup:
              :thankyou:

Concern2, you are very diplomatic & patient. Is teaching your profession?

Unfortunately, not many parents are that vocal & assertive to approach/confront the problematic teachers out-rightly & we are unsure if they will bear grudges. Being human, they can be narrow-minded, esp when there are recurring problems & we need to communicate constantly with them. Also, will they really change for the better if there is only one parent 'talking'.

I think you are one of those that can survive the Rivervale crises if you persevere & not get worn out & your kids' classmates will certainly be blessed with your presence. :rahrah:
              Oh, please don't mention it, I am learning from your sharing too! MdmGiveup, you ought to change your nick, you know.. :evil:

MdmGiveup

💋 Hi Sunflower mummy. Thanks for always supporting me & elaborating my discussions here. 合作愉快! :grphug:

You seem to have faced deeper grievances than I do. I understand your frustrations, though not completely.

MdmGiveup

MdmGiveup, you ought to change your nick, you know.. :evil:
                  :rotflmao: Good idea. MdmHopeful? Then my 'enemies' here cannot track me liao. :imcool:

concern2

octoberbaby:
                    Being in the first and competitive class, we fought over 1 or 2 marks in science papers. We argued with teachers and HOD.

Think back, we were childish and naïve. May be I grew older.
                    Thanks for chipping in, octoberbaby 😄 ! Wow, so competitive, eh? For high achievers, it is in the blood. Believe it or not, given a chance to do it again, you might just repeat history. 😆 🦆

• MyPillowM Offline
                      MyPillow

yah, we are not the uneducated aunties, we dun make "market complaint" .

Sch leaders who sweep dirt under carpet cannot survive long in leadership .
                      Anyway, top leader chg every 6 yrs , 2nd leader can chg between 2 to 7yrs ,all
                      depends on MOE directions and luck ( for sch).

Hope the good feng shui turn to us now (existing parents and students) and future P1 coming in

I am working mum, and I really run against time to coach and ensure my child foundation is good. Child has two subjects grp tuition now but I still have to watch him to ensure he get it right. For Sci, I realised that always must look for keyword and answer to the question. But a lot of times, our kids cannot grap this concept. sigh… maybe our kids are still too young to take some sci topics. I recalled last time my pri sci not so "cheem" poor children now, due to the education system here… sigh… trapped in a box then how to think out of the box.

• MyPillowM Offline
                        MyPillow

MyPillow:
                        yah, we are not the uneducated aunties, we dun make \"market complaint\" .

Sch leaders who sweep dirt under carpet cannot survive long in leadership .
                        Anyway, top leader chg every 6 yrs , 2nd leader can chg between 2 to 7yrs ,all
                        depends on MOE directions and luck ( for sch).

Hope the good feng shui turn to us now (existing parents and students) and future P1 coming in

I am working mum, and I really run against time to coach and ensure my child foundation is good. Child has two subjects grp tuition now but I still have to watch him to ensure he get it right. For Sci, I realised that always must look for keyword and answer to the question. But a lot of times, our kids cannot grap this concept. sigh.... maybe our kids are still too young to take some sci topics. I recalled last time my pri sci not so \"cheem\" poor children now, due to the education system here... sigh.... trapped in a box then how to think out of the box.
                        No no , we are worst them trapped in box. It should be we are jailed in a controlled box :shock:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 27 / 42