Maris Stella High
24hr-mum:
i got no money or cpf to buy 2nd ppty. hv to sell current plc if i chose to be near ms. reminds me of the saying 孟母三迁。literally this wld really be my 3rd move haha.
Yup, take note that now you need 30% cash for 2nd property downpayment. CPF cannot be used for 2nd properties unless minimum sum reached.
I'll be moving again for my gal's P1 registration too in a few more years.
:celebrate: -
thanks cherrygal
most prob i hv to sell n buy. i’m sahm so dont think my hubby got so much extra cash. i also wonder shd i take the risk cos CH wld mean more convenience to my #1 (sng) but i also kiasu. las yr 7 got ballot out of 2km for MS at 2b. what if the number increase this yr. many parents who r watching balloting this yr may also switch to ch.
i m v kiasi. dont wan to take the chance n stress of balloting aft readg the thread. scarely many went to ms n chs less parents? also poss but given that sporeans v kiasu, i thnk many wld still stuck to chs.
i also not sure if i m right. my bright also not the bright type. wonder if ch is too stressful or not. or i m gvg excuses to justify my moving haha.
how is MS? are there a lot of lao-kok-kok super senior teachers there who still discipline the kids with old ways such as using ruler to hit the hand?
whc sch u heading for ur gal? can pm if not convenient -
Hi 24hr mum,
The ballot at MS is not that scary when compared to CHS. The chance is very high but of coz everyone was worried about being the unlucky few.
Most of the teachers at MS are quite young. Even the principal is a young man. We were surprised that he looked so young. He looks energetic and hopefully can lead the school to greater heights.
I can only say your chances are quite good at MS even without moving. Staying put in Bishan will offer you a chance at CHS.
You still have another 8 months to consider. You have your DD to think about too.
As for my gal, still have 5+ yrs to go so I will wait for the Govt to do something about the property policies. It will be an IJ convent. Just dunno which one. -
thanks.
i also worry whr my boy can cope in CH whch is even higher std than sng i think. he has to be pushed very hard that type . just thnk of playing -
Actually, back in my days, MS & CHS was on par, I don’t know what the hype is about CHS. According to friends, it’s becoz CHS produced alot of scholars in the past few years and perhaps offer the GEP programme? I’m sure given time, MS will catch up too. Anyway, the reason I insist on a Catholic school for my boy is precisely becoz the emphasis is usually on being thankful, and hence provide a more well rounded education, that life is not just about academic pursuit. Also becoz of the church affliation, students of various academic calibre are admitted (refer the SJI alumni saga), so less elitism.
Does anyone know the children are allowed mobile phones? I saw the children lining up to make phone calls on pay phones so I thought they are not allowed mobile. Can anyone shed light on it?
Think MS just changed principal, the last principal was a brother.
CHS has upper hand, coz they have GEP program and they accept bright bright students at p4, so that would push their standard to the higher level?? And Since MS dun have GEP, their bright bright students have to leave the sch to go to GEP school. So their result drop?? :lol: -
they can bring handphone but must ensure dont lose it. sch will not be responsible if they lost the hp. and they cant take it out during lesson time. i supp after class not in sch classrm is ok.
to me got gep or not dont bother me cos i dun expect my boy is that type. so long its reasonably gd its ok -
Reasonable gud meaning?? Other catholic schools also reasonably gud mah.

MS is considered very gud, coz it's after all, a SAP school. -
Anyone worried about Chineses at MS?? sigh I’m worried my boy cant cope!!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.