Maris Stella High
Merlion:
I heard that Bro Anthony might retire these few years. He is an excellent principal who cares deeply for the kids.
YES!! He's really a very good principal....I'm very impressed by him...he seriously cares alot for the boys...I hope he doesn't retire so soon....my boy only in P1 leh...
[quote]Hi kuasimi,
I visited them at their premises in the secondary school, and its really quite old and they only have 2 classrooms there. So I thought the move is better, with new facilities and place would be cleaner as its a newly built church. They say the center teachers would bring them over after their lunch at the canteen, and they will use the new mrt underpass to get to the other side. Lunch if buffet style catered by the canteen and is optional (can pack you own lunch).
I think I would visit them in a another couple of weeks to give them time to settle in the new place and new routine. At the same time try the walk to gauge the safety. I am a little concerned, them being all boys, that there will be pushing and shoving on escalator or stairs. My boy on the small side.....[/quote]Hi valsboys, thanks for the infor. I think we'll make a trip there to view the premise and 'test' the route leading to the BASC as well.
I'm also worry about the route and having to take the escalator by himself with a bunch of boys...And he's also very small built..one push and he can roll till duno whr liao... -
hmm…i heard differing views about Principal Anthony, heard that sch’s standards dropped after he took over???
doraemon:
hmm....i heard differing views about Principal Anthony, heard that sch's standards dropped after he took over???
:? He's been around since 1984....all these years under him, MSHS has maintained good academic results....me being the kiasu(obviously) asked around and many of his old boys speak of him fondly...at the P1 Orientation, one of the fathers' who was actually his old boy recalled that when he was in P1, he would cry if he didn't see his mom :lol: so Bro Anthony actually allowed his mom to sit in the canteen facing the classroom so that he can concentrate in class...his mom actually did that for most of his P1...
I think day end, it depends on the individual parent what they really want for their child...differing opinions is normal...afteall, one man's meat is another man's poison...
Judge for yourself...
It is indeed heartwarming to hear such positive feedback of Bro Anthony. I am beginning to feel that my son is in good hands under his leadership :lol: !
> hmm....i heard differing views about Principal Anthony, heard that sch's standards dropped after he took over???
He is a more open minded principal than all the previous principals. He wants students to be more involved in CCA, not just study. He gave students more freedom to develope. MSHS still achieves 100% passing rate every year, not too many schools in Singapore can say that. Even the top schools (include GEP schools) always have 1 or 2 students failed PSLE. Yes, MSHS seldom produces the very top students ( PSLE score > 280 ) anymore. Their top student's score is about 275 - 278 every year. Reason? Almost all their very top students transferred out to GEP schools after P3. MSHS produces more GEP students than some of those 8 GEP (I exclude NYPS) schools. Too bad that MSHS is not a GEP school. I wish somedays they will. :celebrate: -
eyktay:
Ya, time flies, it's been 3 years! Now it's our no. 2's turn for P1! There will be balloting at St Margaret's, hope DD will be able to get inHey dear, nice to see you here too! LOL!
Forums were where we met 3yrs back too, right?
Keith ah...errr....ok ba.
Don't really compare w earlier yrs.
1. My DS k2 graduation & year-end concert may also be on 7 Nov 2009 (orientation day for MSH 2010 intake). Aiyah, very dilemma....both are equally important to us. Graduation ceremony marks an important milestone for his preschool years. Orientation marks the starting of an important chapter of his life. Dunno which one to go....which one would you go?
2. Besides settling the \"logistics\" (i.e. book list, uniform, recess catering), will we be
(a) meeting the form teacher and other teachers?
(b) seeing the classroom that DS will be using?
(c)visiting the other parts of the school (e.g. facilities such as library, music room, etc.)?
3. What happens if we missed orientation? i.e. how would we be notified of the \"logistics\" matters as mentioned in 2?
Thanks. -
> (a) meeting the form teacher and other teachers?
No, I don’t think so.
> (b) seeing the classroom that DS will be using?
All the classrooms are about the same. If you have seen 1, you have seen them all. All the primary 1 classrooms are located at first floor.
>
visiting the other parts of the school (e.g. facilities such as library, music room, etc.)?
Yes.
> 3. What happens if we missed orientation? i.e. how would we be notified of the "logistics" matters as mentioned in 2?
The best is to contact the admin office and let them know in advance so that they can help you. -
Hi, wanted to get my son in maris stella but unsuccessful. If on waiting list, what are the chances like ? if we enrol under PSG, will the chances be higher ? your advise pls.....sad sad mum

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.