Marymount Convent
cantbearit2:
cantbearit2,IM so happy my DD is in MCS cos the parents at MCS seems v helpful, fun-loving and positive too. Tis r the traits I hope my DD will be endowed wif. Although IM worried abt DD's academic work, IM even more worried if she got into the wrong company. Looks like all of u have instill stronger faith in me that I have chosen the right sch for my DD.
Stay positive, MCS parents!!!! U dun noe the effect it has on other parents. :salute: :salute:
Saw your DD! She's indeed petite, but tell you she's a born leader! Saw how she was trying to lead the girls to the assembly area today. -
chergaby:
hmmm, this is wat i recalled. The principle mentioned that there is commotions on last Wednesday with reporters coming in, the marymount convent affected due to north south highway refers to the nuns' hostel and GCS, not MCS. Nothing about dust and noise...I missed the first 10 minutes of principal's speech...
MCS upgrade in 2012 - Did she mention the scope of upgrade? I supposed the girls will remain in the same premise during the upgrade?
Did she address our concerns of dust & noise when the construction of new highway starts?
Then she briefted that MCS is due for upgrading which means more facilities, not only for lower primary but also upper primary. Nothing on the scope or any relocation.
One thing to add on, when showing the 2010 PSLE results for Mother Tongue, MCS results for both chinese and tamil are below national average. Seeing this, I am kind of worried as my DD is still speaking broken chinese now.. Thinking of signing her up for enrichment course now. Any recoomendation? -
Tinkerbelle:
3 yrs dn d rd, tink I will b like u cos dd2 will join jiejie
Yes.....busy with briefings...lucky only got 2 kids. MOE keeps changing the syllabus so it's very hard to keep up with all the new initiatives... :slapshead: . Both DDs are going through different syllabus. Just when I thought I got the hang of it all with DD1, they change the curriculum for DD2..... :please:
And...oh yes...please do continue sharing with everyone.... :celebrate:
Yes, I will continue sharing as much as I can. MCS rocks!!! -
chergaby:
Parents dun get all excited. P only say slated, nothing confirmed yet. But I suppose they have to shift to a holdg sch, otherwise there won't b space & it will b quite interruptv to their classes.I missed the first 10 minutes of principal's speech...
MCS upgrade in 2012 - Did she mention the scope of upgrade? I supposed the girls will remain in the same premise during the upgrade?
Did she address our concerns of dust & noise when the construction of new highway starts? -
chergaby:
cantbearit2,cantbearit2,
Saw your DD! She's indeed petite, but tell you she's a born leader! Saw how she was trying to lead the girls to the assembly area today.
Impressive!!! That's what the prefects in upper pri do when the sch has formal events...greet & direct parents. For lower pri, there are no prefects but there are Student Helpers (the PM session's equivalent of prefects). Only P2 can be student helpers. Looks like your DD is a potential candidate.
AbeT:
cantbearit2: Wow.. very good info, I wrote down too but your list more complete!
Very informative. Thank you. My daughter is left handed so her handwriting can be terrible. oh dear......cantbearit2:
abeT,
the P juz did a re-cap on d VP's presentation during orientation day so din find it informative (except for the toilet & upgrading issue). U can go thru the slides in the aftn.
As for the class time wif Mrs. Sarah Tan, it was info overload for me. Din expect so much thgs for our young ones. For yur benefit & other Perseverance parents, these r some of d notes i took down:
1) MCS slated for upgrading by MOE in 2012
2) Humility & Compassion will b d top 2 class after banding exercise at the end of P1 (d rest r mixed abilities)
3) MOE has changed toilet contractor and will prob comes in ard Feb 2011
4) CCA at upper lvl is not compulsory as in other sch cos MCS have PE3
(their PE3 CCA will b recorded)
5) Try to get yur DD to read books whether fr sch library or yur own hse's collection (every 4 bks read, DD will b able to colour a rectangular box beside their name on a chart right at the back of their classroom)
a)Each bk read shld b recorded inside the helpmate (can't remember the page no. but towards the back)
b)Make sure yur DD shows Mrs. Tan the recorded helpmate after reading 4 bks.
6) Compo-will b shown 1 pic wif some helping words. DD needs to form 50 sentences wif these helping words
7) Compre-need to come straight 2 d pt. Dun start ans wif \"it's bcos....\" or worse still copy fr d question. eg. Why did Sarah come to sch crying? \"Sarah come to sch crying b'cos.....\" recommended ans: \"She lost her purse along the way to sch...\"
Handwriting is oso impt (one of d graded component) My DD is in deep trouble for this (her handwriting is juz like a typical boy, haha....)
9) Make sure sch shoes & jacket r labelled, ever had gals lost their shoes :shock:
10)Need to initial on the helpmate if sighted any Mrs. Tan's remarks in the helpmate
11)Need to initial for work done in sch if DD brings back (eg. spelling bk)
12)Muz bring 1 storybk everyday (MT story bk instead of Eng for Fri only)
13)Nurses will b coming to MCS 1 wk aft CNY for immunization. More details to follow (therefore will b collecting health bklet nearer the date)
Sorry the above r not in sequence but hope that helps. D slide will include the assessment weightage and it's 0% for term 1. Still have time to catch up.
BTW, for all GSSC parents, chked wif them liao. They will go whr MCS goes meaning, no worries for us lah. Phew!!!!
:dancing: :dancing: :dancing:
Looks like I have to buy MT storybooks for her as she doesn't own any at all!!!
Will note down your summary.
abeT: same here, have to buy MT storybooks
Sorry did not hv chance to say hi to everyone in class (my mind was not really 100% in the class
because I leave my DD at my friend's house and I hv to get her ready for school).
LLX04:
One thing to add on, when showing the 2010 PSLE results for Mother Tongue, MCS results for both chinese and tamil are below national average. Seeing this, I am kind of worried as my DD is still speaking broken chinese now.. Thinking of signing her up for enrichment course now. Any recoomendation?
Hi LLX04,
For the last 3 years, I've noticed this PSLE trend....MCS's Chinese and Malay is usually slightly below national average when it comes to Quality Passes (A-A*). However, for pass rates in each subject, MCS is usually above the national average, except for Malay MT language.
Yes, MCS is predominately a more English-speaking sch and many gals don't like to converse in MT, including my DDs. With more weightage placed on MT oral component now, that tends to pull the gals's overall MT marks down. So I think it's a good idea to start MT enrichment lessons from young, if your DD doesn't have the a MT speaking environment at home.
My DDs don't go for MT enrichment lessons but I heard a few MCS parents told me Hua Cheng at Thomson Plaza is good. Their teachers are all Chinese natives. All prospective students must sit for a placement test. They also have holiday programmes (no placement tests for these). If you want to try the centre out, maybe can consider their March holiday programme to get a feel of the centre and the curriculum. I've seen Hua Cheng's worksheets for upper pri.....very good idioms and phrases.
Just to share an interesting fact, MCS top Higher Tongue student for P5 last year is a student of Hua Cheng and she was with them since P1. Currently, the P6 are using an oral resource book from the centre. Very good book. -
cantbearit2:
Usually, during PRIME upgrading, schs will either shift to a sch near the existing sch OR stay back at the existing sch while upgrading is in progress. I
Parents dun get all excited. P only say slated, nothing confirmed yet. But I suppose they have to shift to a holdg sch, otherwise there won't b space & it will b quite interruptv to their classes.chergaby:
I missed the first 10 minutes of principal's speech...
Did she address our concerns of dust & noise when the construction of new highway starts?
hard we are moving to a holding sch nearby eventaully. Can't imagine the chaos and the noise & air pollution in sch if they upgrade part of the premises with the kids around PLUS road works near the sch for NSE in 2013.
St. Nic (Sec) is at the holding sch at Toa Payoh, Lor 1 till Dec 2011. St. Nic (Pri) is at former Kebun Baru Pri site at AMK Ave 2 till Dec 2011. Wonder if MCS would be next on the list?? -
WorriedParent74:
:thankyou:
Oic
U must b really excited
All the best
worriedparent74
Have you looked around for an Art school/class to send DD to?
It seems like NAFA has very good teachers and is very popular, but from what I heard, it is very difficult/almost impossible to get in!
:!::!:
I will tell DD to relax and get used to Pri 1 first...... if not, will just sign her up for those 3-4 days Art classes during the June holidays.
:evil: :evil: -
Tinkerbelle:
:oops: :oops:
Hi acbj,
Not to worry, can try again next year if she's still interested in art..
If your DD is really interested in netball now, you might want to email Ms Chow Wai Mun to check if it's still possible to join??
She mentioned about netball but I am more keen in letting get used to Pri 1 first. She came home one day and asked me why I put her in this school where she needs to sit down for so long?
:roll: :roll:
Needless to say, she loves PE lessons the most!!!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.