Marymount Convent

5.7k Posts 143 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching
      Tinkerbelle

funkymonkey:
      cantbearit2:

[quote=\"funkymonkey\"]
      Today we had LSM briefing.Ms Sng the LSM teacher seems really open and cheerful.
      Hope my galwill be happy under her wings πŸ™ πŸ™ πŸ™
      There are 4 other gals in Respect also in LSM but their mummies didn't turn up for briefing,only 1 dad turn up and i shy to talk to him lah....
      Anyone else's gal in LSM here?

Hi funkymonkey,
      Wat's LSM? DD nv mention there's LSM b4 leh. R we suppose to go for any briefing?

Hi ladies,
      LSM is actually learning support for Math.
      LSP is for English. We went for the briefing yesterday.Only gals who are weak will be identified and encouraged to attend them. our LSM will be during curriculum time,the gals will go to another classroom max 8 gals and will have more manipulatives and hands on approach to maths. My gal dyslexic mah so this will be soooooo much better for her and MS Sng said that the gals enjoy her math clas better as there are more \"games\" and it so fun yet beneficial for the gals.
      No news of MT teacher yet,but we dun mind..... πŸ˜„
      Thanks for the moral support everyone :love: :love:[/quote]Hi funkymonkey,
      Sounds like an interesting approach to learning maths with 'games' and more hands-on activities. Good to hear your DD will be in good hands. Ms Sng has been involved in the LSP for as long as I can remember. Hope your DD enjoys her lessons & finds it beneficial. :lol:

WorriedParent74

Hi Tinkerbelle

Thanks for the update
        If my DD has not updated me wrongly, the teacher just 'cancelled' the tingxie and did not mention when is the next session so she is asking if she has to get prepared everyday till she is being tested??!! I also dont know how to answer her but tell her just be prepared for it 😞

Tinkerbelle:
        WorriedParent74:

Hi there

Gong xi fa cai to all mcs' mummies

Just wanna check, is it norm for the teachers in school to postpone spellings or 听without giving any reason or telling the kids when will be the next session? Or is it understood that the next session will be next week if there is none this week?
        My girl is super confused now
        ;(

Hi worriedparent74,

Happy New year!! Usually spelling is given as scheduled but when spellings falls on public holidays, it will be postponed to the following week, usually on the same day of the week. However, there had been cases when the teachers wanted spelling on a different day of the week after postponing it...in such cases, the teacher will inform the gals. Yesterday, DD2 came back and told me that the Chinese spelling she missed last Thursday will be postponed to this Wednesday as teacher will be away on official meeting on Thursday.

cantbearit2

Tinkerbelle:

Hi cantbearit2,
          Sounds like quite a feat, covering 3 households in 5 hours with so many barang barang, plus 3 young kids.... :lol: Yes, I do remember those good old days when DH & I have to cart everything along when we bring our DDs out. My bag is forever full. I even carried colouring books & toys with me to keep the kids occupied.

Hope your tummy is better now. The only consolation is: you won't need to go on a lettuce diet like us...haha.
          Come to think of it, yes i agree it is a feat. It was v tiring cos my DS juz won't let us sit down. Trust me, our bag is v full too. We oso had toys and biscuits and blah blah....u noe best. πŸ˜‰ Guess everyone who has more than 1 young one have \"been there, done that\". Hee.... IM juz trying to get the hang of it. πŸ˜„

U r rite abt the lettuce diet though. Tis is the 1st time I din put on weight during CNY. Haha....every yr, juz couldn't resist the pineapple tarts, ba kwa, chocolates..... :rubhands:

cantbearit2

funkymonkey:
            cantbearit2:

Hi funkymonkey,
            Wat's LSM? DD nv mention there's LSM b4 leh. R we suppose to go for any briefing?

Hi ladies,
            LSP is for English. We went for the briefing yesterday.Only gals who are weak will be identified and encouraged to attend them. our LSM will be during curriculum time,the gals will go to another classroom max 8 gals and will have more manipulatives and hands on approach to maths. My gal dyslexic mah so this will be soooooo much better for her and MS Sng said that the gals enjoy her math clas better as there are more \"games\" and it so fun yet beneficial for the gals.
            Thanks for the moral support everyone :love: :love:

I see. How abt MT? Is it oso called LSP, like Eng? How did u noe abt DD being selected for LSM? Did they issue a letter to inform parents? Wen will we noe if DD has been selected for MT LSP prog?

cantbearit2

Congrats, Tinkerbelle! Juz realised u have attained the \"black belt\" in KSP. Hee....This shows how KS U R, & we are all loving it. Haha....!!!! thanks for always sharing and answering our questions. :congrats: :udawoman:

Tinkerbelle

WorriedParent74:
                Hi Tinkerbelle

Thanks for the update
                If my DD has not updated me wrongly, the teacher just 'cancelled' the tingxie and did not mention when is the next session so she is asking if she has to get prepared everyday till she is being tested??!! I also dont know how to answer her but tell her just be prepared for it 😞
                Tinkerbelle:
                Hi worriedparent74,

Happy New year!! Usually spelling is given as scheduled but when spellings falls on public holidays, it will be postponed to the following week, usually on the same day of the week. However, there had been cases when the teachers wanted spelling on a different day of the week after postponing it...in such cases, the teacher will inform the gals. Yesterday, DD2 came back and told me that the Chinese spelling she missed last Thursday will be postponed to this Wednesday as teacher will be away on official meeting on Thursday.
                Hi worriedparent74,

Yeah, understand what your DD means....everyday also must be ready just in case there's ting xie....can be quite stressful for the gals, ya. Maybe next time if the teacher cancels spelling, ask your DD to ask her straight away when spelling will be postponed to. That way, no need to keep guessing. :lol:

Tinkerbelle

cantbearit2:
                  Tinkerbelle:

Hi cantbearit2,
                  Sounds like quite a feat, covering 3 households in 5 hours with so many barang barang, plus 3 young kids.... :lol: Yes, I do remember those good old days when DH & I have to cart everything along when we bring our DDs out. My bag is forever full. I even carried colouring books & toys with me to keep the kids occupied.

Hope your tummy is better now. The only consolation is: you won't need to go on a lettuce diet like us...haha.

Come to think of it, yes i agree it is a feat. It was v tiring cos my DS juz won't let us sit down. Trust me, our bag is v full too. We oso had toys and biscuits and blah blah....u noe best. πŸ˜‰ Guess everyone who has more than 1 young one have \"been there, done that\". Hee.... IM juz trying to get the hang of it. πŸ˜„

U r rite abt the lettuce diet though. Tis is the 1st time I din put on weight during CNY. Haha....every yr, juz couldn't resist the pineapple tarts, ba kwa, chocolates..... :rubhands:

Hi cantbearit2,
                  No wonder you still look trim & fit....the secret lies with your DS, ya ....running after him...keke. You already sound like a pro with 3 kids. :salute: I only have 2 and already juggling with everything.

Tinkerbelle

cantbearit2:
                    funkymonkey:

[quote=\"cantbearit2\"]
                    Hi funkymonkey,

Hi ladies,
                    Thanks for the moral support everyone :love: :love:

I see. How abt MT? Is it oso called LSP, like Eng? How did u noe abt DD being selected for LSM? Did they issue a letter to inform parents? Wen will we noe if DD has been selected for MT LSP prog?[/quote]Are you hoping that your DD will be selected for the MT enrichment lessons? πŸ˜‰ I remembered you mentioned you didn't mind the free lessons...haha

Tinkerbelle

cantbearit2:
                      Congrats, Tinkerbelle! Juz realised u have attained the \"black belt\" in KSP. Hee....This shows how KS U R, & we are all loving it. Haha....!!!! thanks for always sharing and answering our questions. :congrats: :udawoman:

cantbearit2,

:thankyou: :thankyou: Ya, so :oops: that I'm so KS and KP...haha.

:nunchuk: θ―·ε€šε€šζŒ‡ζ•™

cantbearit2

Tinkerbelle:
                        cantbearit2:

I see. How abt MT? Is it oso called LSP, like Eng? How did u noe abt DD being selected for LSM? Did they issue a letter to inform parents? Wen will we noe if DD has been selected for MT LSP prog?

Are you hoping that your DD will be selected for the MT enrichment lessons? πŸ˜‰ I remembered you mentioned you didn't mind the free lessons...haha

Haha....!!! Yes, still worried abt DD's MT. We are trying to create the environment for her but it seems a bit tough. All my cousins' & frenz' kids speak eng as well. She finds it so hard to ans us in Mandarin, sometimes she juz freeze and kept quiet. Sigh. 😞

Both DH & I R working hard to brush up her MT at hm. Hopefully she can't speak the language well, at least she's able to recognise most of the chinese characters well. Hee.... πŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 232 / 567