Marymount Convent
Tinkerbelle:
Hi LLX04,
Hi LLX04,LLX04:
Hihi,
I just get to know that there is no school tomorrow and the gals are supposed to do e-learning at home. Is this referring to the problem sums.com? I am totally clueless and my gal said there is an email by teacher. Anyone knows about this?
Yes, e-learning day tomorrow. Your DD's teacher will give out a copy of detailed instructions on what to do for every subject. DD2 already received her copy 2 days ago. I don't have her copy here with me now so can't confirm if it's http://www.problumsums.com or not. In the past, the sch has used both http://www.lead.com.sg and http://www.problemsums.com. Maybe your DD will receive the instructions today. Or you can email your DD's FT to enquire about the instructions for her class.
Alternatively, you can also check the sch's website tomorrow. In the past years, there had been a direct link to e-learning exercises.
Confirmed with DD1, e-learning tomorrow will be using http://www.leads.com.sg
I've PM you the sch ID & password for e-learning, just in case you don't have them to access your DD's assignments. Have fun. -
funkymonkey:
OMG can'tbearit!!!,
Heard abt Amy Chua being a \"tiger mum\"? Looks like we may have a \"tiger teacher\" at MCS. :?cantbearit2:
[quote=\"Tinkerbelle\"]
I understand that teaching the top 2 classes can be stressful for the teachers but to take a blow at the kids' self-esteem is truly uncalled for.
I've just finished reading that book last weekend!!\"Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother\"
Yeah.. scary mother....that Amy Chua..i guess her \"method\" only worked on one of her children...
Hopefully our MCS teachers won't do a \"tiger\" on us..not everyone can take it...not even me prabably :siam: :siam: :siam:[/quote]Hi funkymonkey,
U mean it din work on her 2nd gal? She had 2 gals rite? I din read the book but read the newspaper article regarding this book. -
Gin:
Wow Gin,
With my little girl, I make flashcards with words she learn from school and we use that for Word Games. We scramble all the words (about 10 each time) and then we have to read aloud the word before we can grab the flashcard. In this way, we have fun and she gets to learn at the same time. Sometimes, she likes to keep playing and learning new words through this method. As I usually write in cursive writing, I prefer to print the words out from the computer. Writing them out would require less time. We play this game with Chinese characters, numbers and English words.
My little girl loves the routine of playing a board game and reading 2 books before going to bed. I just continue to read to her and she is welcomed to join in the reading if she feels like it. Sometimes, she likes to search out just simple words like 'lion' or other words from the pages of the book. We go to the AMK library once or twice a week and we usually have 12 books at any given time, at home. It is not a pressure cooker at our home, I just make the tools available and hopefully she will pick them up one of these days and make good use of them :).
Please do not feel bad because you are too busy or tired. We can only do what we can - after all, every parent just wants to love his/her kids :).
U R such a hands on mum! :udawoman: :udawoman: :udawoman: Yur DD is so lucky!!!!
jesyeo:
Anyone noes if that means tmr there's no CCA too?Hi LLX04,
Yes. No school tomorrow. The pupils are to log in to http://www.lead.com.sg to do their assignments. After you login to the site, there is this notice at the left which links you to a word document that states what are the assignments that need to be done. There are a total of 9 assignments.LLX04:
Hihi,
I just get to know that there is no school tomorrow and the gals are supposed to do e-learning at home. Is this referring to the problem sums.com? I am totally clueless and my gal said there is an email by teacher. Anyone knows about this? -
jesyeo:
My DD2 too!!! :lol: :lol: who noes, they mayb classmates in 3yrs time. Hee....Hi cantbearit2οΌ
Yes! My DD2 is 2007 baby. Same as urs?cantbearit2:
Hi jesyeo,
Yur DD2 oso born in 2007? -
jesyeo:
Luckily I have a v helpful mum who's willing to help me out, even during the weekends. Otherwise I won't b able to manage wif DD1's enrichm class. I have to admit it's v tiring esp if u r not so bo chap and oso a FTWM.Hi canbearit2,
Wow you have 3 kids! It is definitely a big challenge for you to manage all their needs. How u manage ur time to handle so many?
For me, I guess I have been spending most of the time on DD1. Guiding her on honework, spelling etc and those household chores. As for DD2, I have been relying on her childcare teachers. However, recently realise that DD2's standard comparing to DD1 when she is at age 3, is really a big diference. DD2 standard is really way far behind which makes me start to worry. Somemore now that she appears to have sone signs of dylexic wihch makes me worry more.
I oso tend to concentrate more on DD1 since she started P1. DD2 is pretty independent but still needs lots of love fr mummy. Hee....v sticky to me. Tat's y IM guilty of neglecting her as well. But over the weekends, we try to plan some events for her as well as DD1. DS3 is too young to join in so seldom bring him out. :oops:
Dun worry too much abt yur DD2. She may not b dyslexic juz a late bloomer. Every child's development is diff.
My DD1 din start to talk till age 3 (even then, it was juz 2 words or so, nv a full sentence). The only words she noe is \"mummy\", \"daddy\", \"por por\". Everyone tells me girls tend to start talking earlier but apparently DD1 is not. I was so worried that I keep asking the nurses & docs each time we went for her development chk. My cousin's DD on the other hand started talking full sentences at age 2. Gosh, wat a diff!
Gif yur DD2 some time, she may surprise u.
If u r still worried, u may wish to let her go for the dyslexic test.
jesyeo:
Aiyo, jesyeo, your DD2 same like my DD1 lor. Since toddler, my DD1 nv like flashcards. She simple refuse to sit down and be flashed. :frustrated: Each time I take out the flash card, she will run ard like a monkey (mayb b'cos born in monkey yr, hee....) :scratchhead: :scratchhead:Hi Gin,
Great that u are having fun time with ur kids. It is so heart warming to see them happy learning together. Thanks for sharing the tips to make our child learn. However, I have tried playing with my DD2 alphabet flash cards last time and she simply not interested. Realised that she will tend to avoid if is something that she doesn't know. She will just simply walk away and don't want to play
Recognising words seems to be a rather hard for her. Till now she still can't recognise a single word. -
cantbearit2:
Anyone noes if that means tmr there's no CCA too?[/quote]Hi cantbearit2,jesyeo:
Hi LLX04,
Yes. No school tomorrow. The pupils are to log in to http://www.lead.com.sg to do their assignments. After you login to the site, there is this notice at the left which links you to a word document that states what are the assignments that need to be done. There are a total of 9 assignments.
[quote=\"LLX04\"]Hihi,
I just get to know that there is no school tomorrow and the gals are supposed to do e-learning at home. Is this referring to the problem sums.com? I am totally clueless and my gal said there is an email by teacher. Anyone knows about this?
DD2 said that it was announced today that there will be no CCA for lower primary gals tomorrow. Your DD can sleep in...
Hi Cantbearit,
I have 2 girls and an 8 mos.old son.
I wanna share u my experienced with my 2 daughters. My DD1 can sing almost all nursery rhymes at the age of 1. My DD2 could not say a word until 2+. I was so worried that Iam ready to engage a speech therapist. Dr. Kept telling me everything is fine.anyway, I know how you feel right now. Iam sure DR. Telling you same thing her ears are perfectly fine nothing to worry about. Thank goodness, one day she started talking in full sentences. By the age of 3 she started reading.kindergarten teacher ask me to get her to betested for gifted. Well, no! I just want her to enjoy herself. She is now in 2 Humility and perfectly happy. So, I think your DD2 is just observing and taking everything in. i hope my story may help you a bit to put ur mind at ease. -
Hi Mommies!
HELP!!!
DH lost the piece of letter on eLearning!
Can anyone advise me the sch ID?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.