Marymount Convent
cantbearit2:
hahaha..so funny. then how u teach her to learn more words??
Aiyo, jesyeo, your DD2 same like my DD1 lor. Since toddler, my DD1 nv like flashcards. She simple refuse to sit down and be flashed. :frustrated: Each time I take out the flash card, she will run ard like a monkey (mayb b'cos born in monkey yr, hee....) :scratchhead: :scratchhead:jesyeo:
Hi Gin,
Great that u are having fun time with ur kids. It is so heart warming to see them happy learning together. Thanks for sharing the tips to make our child learn. However, I have tried playing with my DD2 alphabet flash cards last time and she simply not interested. Realised that she will tend to avoid if is something that she doesn't know. She will just simply walk away and don't want to play
Recognising words seems to be a rather hard for her. Till now she still can't recognise a single word. -
rainbowfairy:
Ha!ha! Sorry Cantbearit2, geez it's kinda hard to see using an iPhone. I meant to share my story to Jesyeo regarding her worries about her DD2. Ooopsy daisy!cheers mummies.
Hi rainbowfairy,
Thanks for sharing your story. It did help me to ease my mind. And ur DD is really smart! As for my DD2, I guess I will just do my best ba. -
Do you people have problem with lead.com.sg?
The languages sessions say got Flash problem, checked and I have the latest version of Adobe Flash install, try IE, Firefox, Opera, Chrome, all have error.
The maths and science when get into it, on the left side a lot error text, some Java stuff. I also have latest Java installed, all browser didnβt work too. -
autumn82:
Wow..so relax ah. For me is a tiring but meaningful day. Firstly, as my DD very seldom use computer, so I have to be at her side to guide her. Secondly, my DD's friend from another class came over to do the E-Learning together. She is not very good in her work so I have to teach her. After they finished their work, I still teach her Maths until 6.30pm.
YES!!! Very much, but I'm dozing off.Tinkerbelle:
Hi everyone,
Are your DDs having fun with the e-learning?
After she completed, she was asking for more. Telling me this is more fun than sch. :lol: :lol: -
Gin:
[/quote]Wow. sound so fun for ur girl. she must be enjoying herself very much with u around. Guess I should start thinking of more activities that I can do with her and make her learn at the same time.Hi jesyeo,
Is you DD2 about 3 years and 2 months young? Oh, if that is the case, I must tell you that I did not start my little girl at that age. At that age, we were just playing and playing, lots of conversations, watching suitable tv programs together, discussing about the characters on the movies or children's educational programs and we were dancing too :). Then, at the age of four and a half, I started her on the starfall.com (website) reading and from there, moved on to flashcards (which did not really look like cards, as I had printed the words from the computer, on normal A4 papers). And I treated it as a game right from the start. However, kids being kids, sometimes, they want a change of 'activities' and so, I think of news ways and activities to suit her, but still keeping the teaching syllabus the same. Sometimes we use the whiteboard. Yes, seems like lots of work isn't it? The truth is - it is! :).
Dearie, do not despair, if your DD2 is only about 3years and 2 months young, relax.... . Just enjoy your DD2, singing, dancing, playing, talking, etc. Have activities that make both you and your DD2 laugh alot, build up a really strong bond so that when the stressful time of 'teaching' them during the school years comes, you and your DD2 will have a solid emotional bank to make withdrawals from when needed. I have seen too many parents/children relationships turn sour because of 'studies'.
Have a fun-filled weekend with your kids!
jesyeo:
Hi Gin,
Great that u are having fun time with ur kids. It is so heart warming to see them happy learning together. Thanks for sharing the tips to make our child learn. However, I have tried playing with my DD2 alphabet flash cards last time and she simply not interested. Realised that she will tend to avoid if is something that she doesn't know. She will just simply walk away and don't want to play
Recognising words seems to be a rather hard for her. Till now she still can't recognise a single word.
[quote=\"Gin\"]Hi jesyeo,
Yes, I totally agree with you, it is definitely not easy having kids and being a FTWM at the same time. Same for me here.
I do take a Multivite supplement once in a while (like once a week or every 10 days), on days when I feel I can no longer stand on my feet while awake :).
Having to teach and spend fun time with children is not so easy when you have limited energy and time on your hands.
With my little girl, I make flashcards with words she learn from school and we use that for Word Games. We scramble all the words (about 10 each time) and then we have to read aloud the word before we can grab the flashcard. In this way, we have fun and she gets to learn at the same time. Sometimes, she likes to keep playing and learning new words through this method. As I usually write in cursive writing, I prefer to print the words out from the computer. Writing them out would require less time. We play this game with Chinese characters, numbers and English words.
My little girl loves the routine of playing a board game and reading 2 books before going to bed. I just continue to read to her and she is welcomed to join in the reading if she feels like it. Sometimes, she likes to search out just simple words like 'lion' or other words from the pages of the book. We go to the AMK library once or twice a week and we usually have 12 books at any given time, at home. It is not a pressure cooker at our home, I just make the tools available and hopefully she will pick them up one of these days and make good use of them :).
Please do not feel bad because you are too busy or tired. We can only do what we can - after all, every parent just wants to love his/her kids :).
funkymonkey:
Hi jesyeo,jesyeo:
Hi Gin,
Recognising words seems to be a rather hard for her. Till now she still can't recognise a single word.
[quote=\"Gin\"]Hi jesyeo,
Yes, I totally agree with you, it is definitely not easy having kids and being a FTWM at the same time. Same for me here.
I do take a Multivite supplement once in a while (like once a week or every 10 days), on days when I feel I can no longer stand on my feet while awake :).
Having to teach and spend fun time with children is not so easy when you have limited energy and time on your hands.
With my little girl, I make flashcards with words she learn from school and we use that for Word Games. We scramble all the words (about 10 each time) and then we have to read aloud the word before we can grab the flashcard. In this way, we have fun and she gets to learn at the same time. Sometimes, she likes to keep playing and learning new words through this method. As I usually write in cursive writing, I prefer to print the words out from the computer. Writing them out would require less time. We play this game with Chinese characters, numbers and English words.
My little girl loves the routine of playing a board game and reading 2 books before going to bed. I just continue to read to her and she is welcomed to join in the reading if she feels like it. Sometimes, she likes to search out just simple words like 'lion' or other words from the pages of the book. We go to the AMK library once or twice a week and we usually have 12 books at any given time, at home. It is not a pressure cooker at our home, I just make the tools available and hopefully she will pick them up one of these days and make good use of them :).
Please do not feel bad because you are too busy or tired. We can only do what we can - after all, every parent just wants to love his/her kids :).
your gal still have LOADS of time!!!Maybe if you relax a little and ease up the flashcards and do other stuff...your gal might have more fun..sometimes these kids can \"sense\" that we are anxious..and the last thing we want to do and pass this \"germ\" to them...just act cool lah!!!
i know i'm always banging my head before bed....on the pillow of course :stupid: :stupid:[/quote]LOADS of time? really? actually I not very sure what a age 3 child should know and do at that age. I always compare DD2 with DD1. For my DD1, I only get to know that she is actually a more advance kid when I start puting her in childcare at age 3. When DD1 is 1yr 9mths old, she already knows the phonics of A-Z, count numbers to 30 and read many words. I always tot that's the standard for all the kids as I don't have other child to compare her to. So when I compare DD2 with DD1, DD2 seems to be 2 yrs behind. That's why I get so worried. haha -
Tinkerbelle:
My DH is very busy with work so very hard to sit down and do work with the kids. When the kids do HW, he's also doing his work....keke. The most he'll do is spelling with them. Only gets update from me.
Aiyo, tinkerbelle, yur DH noes he has a v capable wife mah.
jesyeo:
Yup, my mum is staying wif me. Both DH's parents & my parents are divorced. Hee...both of us grew up wif single parent. Guess it make us feel more impt to have a complete family.
Yeah, u definitely need help to handle 3 kids and lucky to have a helpful mum. So your mum staying with u? Am I too kepo..hahaa.
DD1 din start talking till age 3 ah. Wah..I bet u must be very very worried. Now I start finding some time to do stuff with DD2 and try to let her watch educational DVDs and apparently, she seems to be able to absorb.
Will continue to monitor her on dyslexic. 
Let us work hard in monitoring our kiddos ya?! Tink we juz need to try to spend more time wif them.
jesyeo:
We outsource. Hee.... :lol: We enrol her in Zoophonics for a while. Aft a yr, we realise she actually enjoys the sing and learn mtd better. Basically no drilling kind of exercise, like flashcards. Eventually we switch her to ICR & found she oso enjoys her lessons there. Conclusion, she can only learn thru play. My MIL always says she has pins & needles on her bum (in hokkien). Haha....
hahaha..so funny. then how u teach her to learn more words??cantbearit2:
Aiyo, jesyeo, your DD2 same like my DD1 lor. Since toddler, my DD1 nv like flashcards. She simple refuse to sit down and be flashed. :frustrated: Each time I take out the flash card, she will run ard like a monkey (mayb b'cos born in monkey yr, hee....) :scratchhead: :scratchhead:
Now, though she's not exactly scholar material, IM v proud of her cos she's an independent reader. :love: -
JonC:
No prob at all leh. I log in several times on Fri in fact. Other parents, any prob???Do you people have problem with lead.com.sg?
The languages sessions say got Flash problem, checked and I have the latest version of Adobe Flash install, try IE, Firefox, Opera, Chrome, all have error.
The maths and science when get into it, on the left side a lot error text, some Java stuff. I also have latest Java installed, all browser didn't work too.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.