Marymount Convent

5.7k Posts 143 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching
      jesyeo

funkymonkey:
      autumn82:

[quote=\"ChiefKiasu\"]
      Boy... you must be really looking forward to this πŸ˜‰

Ya Chief!!! Get over it once and for all!!! :lol: So I don't need to keep on worrying about which day which test. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Hi all!!
      Ya,my gal said spelling only today.Plus,she just had to fill in the missing letters in the words..eg, j_ _ yf_ _
      Is that true?
      So easy \" peasy lemon squeezy \" she said!!!
      I'm quite worried about math though...she has trouble understanding the questions like : 2 less than ____ is 8.... πŸ™ πŸ™
      I can't wait to get it over and DONE WITH too!!! :celebrate:[/quote]Yup. I have checked with my DD. Apparently, the teacher din make known to them that what they did is a \"TEST\". To them is just \"EXERCISE\". No wonder she came back and tell me no test leh, only do exercise. In that exercise, there are fill in the blanks for the words and also listening comprehension. Then the spelling is on spelling book. But no reading of 50 words. However, she did that 1 or 2 weeks ago, I tot is just a revision. So I guess that is part of the actual test??

Hey..my DD also likes to say \"easy peasy lemon squeezy\" when she comes across simple questions. Guess that's the \"IN\" quote in their class huh.

Yes. I also can't wait to get over all the test. Then can relax relax. πŸ™‚

jesyeo

cantbearit2:
        jesyeo:

Yeah..sounds very much like my DD2. I have also tot of enrolling her in ICR but my friend said I so kiasu. hahaha..

Given my colleague's experience, I have decided to delay sending DD2 to ICR. Part of the reason my DD1 learnt pretty well in ICR is prob bcos she started late (i noe, it's irony). :?

I personally found the course pretty tough but given my DD's age, I found it easier to go thru the lessons wif her as compared wif my colleague's DS.

Her DS started the course at an earlier age and got promoted pretty fast. However, she found it tough for her DS esp the ICR stage. He is still not an independent reader so my colleague realised that she needs to spend a lot of time juz gg thru the weekly 2 page long story. What more to say the weekly compre questions & long spelling list. 😒

So I guess will wait till nex yr when DD2 is in K1. πŸ˜‰

Icic. Will take your advice then. Start DD2 in K1 if she still weak in sounding out and recognising words. πŸ™‚

jesyeo

cantbearit2:
          jesyeo:

Haha..actually I am in the midst of resigning. I will consider being a home-based maths tutor ..haha

R u for real???? Thot u quit 2b tai tai. Hee.... :lol: :lol:

hmm..I just feels very tired having to handle the kids, household chores and work together. That's why decided to quit. My circumstances is a bit different from most of u. I work from home :). So morning till 1pm, I will do household chores, cook lunch, tutor DD and prepare her for school. Then I start work from 1pm to 5pm at home. AFter that will cook dinner, bring the kids back, make them eat, shower, homework blah blah.

I have tender but my boss wants me to stay on for a few more months till he can find a good replacement. Just tot of going back to work as a freelancer after I resign. But if really got kids wants me to tutor them, then I can also consider. hahaha..flexible.

jesyeo

cantbearit2:
            jesyeo:

How's ur DD English test today? My DD said she only had the spelling. Weird.

aiyo, my DD say she has no test. chum liao.... 😒 she prob din even noe wat's a test. sigh.... 😞 😞

Not to worry, cause the teacher din tell them is a test. They are only told to do \"Exercise\". I think is good that way too so that they will not get too stress up.

jesyeo

Yah, I find their P1 school work really alot leh. Not just homework and spelling, still need to do problemsums.com and lead.com.sg. Really needs a lot of time to do.

For my DD, I will make her study her chinese and english spelling on Sunday then have quick revision on wkdays. Coz worry she will have HW on wkdays then no time to learn spellings.

So what did your DD do in GSSC? Does the teacher guide them on their HW and spelling?

lvkt:
              cantbearit2,
              yes, very true about ICR programme, i just withdrew my DD from ICR too, she joined ICR when she was 5 plus already but i could see the improvement as independent reader as well as spelling too. During the pre-school was still okey as no homework or less work to do but since we started primary school, every nite is like in a battle, especially we put our DDs to GSSC so no morning time is allowed to prepare for any test/spelling/HW that we'll have to finish it all at nite time, so i really want to rest over the weekend, we (DH and i) don't want to spend weekend to push her to do HW/spelling to prepare for her weekend enrichment classes, feel so pitiful for her or DH and i can't take it anymore too, haha.. πŸ˜‰
              cantbearit2:

[quote=\"jesyeo\"]
              Yeah..sounds very much like my DD2. I have also tot of enrolling her in ICR but my friend said I so kiasu. hahaha..

Given my colleague's experience, I have decided to delay sending DD2 to ICR. Part of the reason my DD1 learnt pretty well in ICR is prob bcos she started late (i noe, it's irony). :?

I personally found the course pretty tough but given my DD's age, I found it easier to go thru the lessons wif her as compared wif my colleague's DS.

Her DS started the course at an earlier age and got promoted pretty fast. However, she found it tough for her DS esp the ICR stage. He is still not an independent reader so my colleague realised that she needs to spend a lot of time juz gg thru the weekly 2 page long story. What more to say the weekly compre questions & long spelling list. 😒

So I guess will wait till nex yr when DD2 is in K1. πŸ˜‰

jesyeo

Tinkerbelle:
                jesyeo:

How's ur DD English test today? My DD said she only had the spelling. Weird.

Just a spelling test?? If I recall correctly, last year, DD2 had a mini diagnostic Eng paper but only selected components like, rearranging sentences, compre MCQ, grammar & vocab. P1 only had the full paper in SA2. Maybe the sch is revamping the P1 syllabus.

Have checked with DD again. They do have the Eng paper but to them is just an \"exercise\". They din know is actually the test paper.

jesyeo

Tinkerbelle:
                  cantbearit2:

[quote=\"jesyeo\"]
                  Yah get to know her on the first day of school as we wait for the school bus together. πŸ™‚ Her mummy says I can be a tutor. hahaah..maybe I should change my job. haha

But u so good leh..got DH to help. My DH has no patient in teaching the girls. Whenever he tries teaching DD1, sure ends up quarelling. Now my DD1 will strongly rejects DH when he tries to teach her. So bo bian, I have to bao gao liao.

tinkerbelle, looks like u r not the only person bsbh (\"bao sua bao hai\") liao. hee....

:rotflmao: Ya lor, that's why everyday also πŸ˜“ That's why I :salute: :salute: all you mummies with 3 or more kids.[/quote]Yah!! I think I will go crazy if have 3 or more kids.

jesyeo

Tinkerbelle:
                    lvkt:

Tinkerbelle and all,

do you know the details of celebrating birthday at school? how does it go? i didn't know if we can hold a mini birthday celebration at school during recess until DD brought back a goodies bag y'day so i was wondering can we do that? coz DD's b'day is coming up, sigh...need to prepare 29 goodies bags and a cake, is it?

TIA πŸ˜‰

Hi lvkt,
                    Usually for birthdays, some parents will give out party bags, some parents will invite selected kids (usually better friends) to a birthday party out of sch. Some will do nothing. It's really a personal choice.... it's not compulsory to give party bags or bring a cake in.

However, some parents choose to give party bags to share the joy with DDs' classmates. The party bags will be distributed to the classmates and they will sing a birthday song to the birthday gal. No birthday cakes allowed in the classroom. If you want to bring a birthday cake, let your DD's FT know in advance so she can gather the kids at the canteen during recess.

Recently, for DD2's birthday, I didn't bring a birthday cake in. I just delivered 30 party bags (DD wanted 1 for her FT as well), packed with lots of goodies. πŸ˜‰

So you brought the 30 party bags and pass it to her FT? Coz it will be too heavy for your DD to carry herself right?

wkong

Hi All,

Does anyone know if the CCA for tomorrow is still on for P1 & P2?

Thanks,
                      wkong

Tinkerbelle

jesyeo:
                        Tinkerbelle:

[quote=\"jesyeo\"]How's ur DD English test today? My DD said she only had the spelling. Weird.

Just a spelling test?? If I recall correctly, last year, DD2 had a mini diagnostic Eng paper but only selected components like, rearranging sentences, compre MCQ, grammar & vocab. P1 only had the full paper in SA2. Maybe the sch is revamping the P1 syllabus.

Have checked with DD again. They do have the Eng paper but to them is just an \"exercise\". They din know is actually the test paper.[/quote]OIC.....Ya, good that the kids don't know they're even doing a test....not so stressful for the P1. :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 251 / 567