Marymount Convent
Hi cantbearit2
we live up to the forum's name.
acbj:
Otherwise we will not be logging on to this website so often lor. :lol:Hi cantbearit2
we live up to the forum's name.
IM thinking of starting DD in swimming next yr cos need to see how her new sch life timetable fit into our daily schedule first. Even her weekday nite enrichment, we may need to change if it is too rush (aftn session mah). -
Hi all,
My DD will be joining MCS P1 next year, THANK YOU all as i learn & get lots of useful information from this thread.
THANK YOU!! :love: -
cantbearit2:
Yes, they all learnt how to swim at least 2 laps without dying.
Dear mrswongtuition,mrswongtuition:
I'm not too sure about Marymount Convent but when I was a student in another girls' school, swimming was also compulsory. We went to the nearest pool which was Hougang Swimming Complex.
PE was before recess so they'll eat into our recess. We were told to bring sandwiches/finger food to snack on after the swim.
So what happens is we wear swimming costume under our uniforms (PE attire) when we go to school. Then once PE lesson starts, we will board the bus, reach in 10 min. Then we put our bags down and take off uniform. 5 min stretching and into the pool we go. Lesson is around 30 min. Then group by group will come up to wash up and head to the bus. Will reach back in school before end of recess. All will be seated in canteen to eat what we brought from home.
Those were the days. I loved swimming! (I was very naughty to pretend that I had no prior lessons as those in the intermediate & advanced groups were ased to do LAPS! NON STOP!)
During your time, did those gals with no prior swimming basics manage to learn a stroke or two after many lessons?
Same like acbj, may consider giving my DD a headstart. Hee...

My sis was one of those who learnt through school cos my parents were too busy to fetch her to swimming classes and she had no companions with learn with (I learnt with my older brother and 2 other cousins in 1 private group since I was 5yo).
She's able to swim quite decently.
My boy started official swimming lessons at 2.5yo. He's now 3.5yo and can daringly leap into the pool and swim 1 lap without float or help
He started off not liking his lessons but now he looks forward to every single lesson, so much that we've decided to increase his classes to twice a week. I'm very thankful that his instructor is very motivating. We've tried other instructors but my boy only wants this instructor.
If you want to let your girls pick up swimming, can try those holiday programs where it's intensive lessons. This is a good arrangement for kids who have alot of enrichment on normal school days and can't time for additional swimming classes. -
chaiconnie:
:welcome: looking forward to your postHi all,
My DD will be joining MCS P1 next year, THANK YOU all as i learn & get lots of useful information from this thread.
THANK YOU!! :love:
mrswongtuition:
Hi mrswongtuition,
Yes, they all learnt how to swim at least 2 laps without dying.
My sis was one of those who learnt through school cos my parents were too busy to fetch her to swimming classes and she had no companions with learn with (I learnt with my older brother and 2 other cousins in 1 private group since I was 5yo).
She's able to swim quite decently.
My boy started official swimming lessons at 2.5yo. He's now 3.5yo and can daringly leap into the pool and swim 1 lap without float or help
He started off not liking his lessons but now he looks forward to every single lesson, so much that we've decided to increase his classes to twice a week. I'm very thankful that his instructor is very motivating. We've tried other instructors but my boy only wants this instructor.
If you want to let your girls pick up swimming, can try those holiday programs where it's intensive lessons. This is a good arrangement for kids who have alot of enrichment on normal school days and can't time for additional swimming classes.
Thanks for sharing and great tip. Will definitely consider the holiday program. :thankyou: -
acbj:
Hi acbj,Thanks Tinkerbelle
Can I check with you if the swimming class is conducted after school?
If it's during school hours, how many periods of PE will that take?
Do they enough time to take transport there, change, warm up, swim....., wash?? , change back into school uniform and take transport back???
:?
If it's after school hours, how long is the swimming lesson?
:oops:
Paisay.... Even though it's 2 years later, I hv a lot of questions....
Truely kiasu.... Hahahahahah....
No worries....we are all the same here....kiasu.
Swimming in MCS is conducted during school hours before recess.
4 periods of PE are allocated for the swimming lessons. If I recall correctly, lessons are from about 9.30AM to 11.30Am. This includes transportation to and from school, changing, warm-ups, swimming and showering & changing after the lesson.
The gals will have their recess on the bus on the way back to school. Lessons will resume once they return to school. -
chaiconnie:
Hi chaiconnie,Hi all,
THANK YOU!! :love:
:welcome: :welcome: :welcome: -
Hi, I too am gaining lots of info. about MCS from this thread! Thanks ladies!
Keep up the good work! Hoping to register my second daughter for P1 new year! At the moment living in Ang Mo Kio. Looks like have to try for 2C. No affliation of any sort. Any chance of getting in? -
Welcome chaiconnie!
Welcome Gin!
My DD got in during phase 2C, and we live in Sembawang (out of 2km).
You can look up the past years statistics (under schools in Toa Payoh) for a better idea. :lol:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.