Pei Chun Public
Callie Tan:
My DS also has the same FT for P1 & P2.
Err... not sure about 1 teacher teaching the 3 subjects thingy...but Science is only once a week, which is to my surprise...maybe it's only for P3...iLoveChubby:
Hi Mummies!...
Can I check if it is normal for a teacher to teach all 3 subjects; English, Maths and Science for the same class? I would have thought that Science will be taught by a different teacher...
And will the teachers for the P3 class be the same as in P4? (like P1/P2 hv the same teachers)
But I think it is supposed to be a different FT every year, it's just coincidental that some classes have the same FT for P1 n P2... Please correct me if I am wrong.
Only once a week for Science? Seriously?.... :scared:
My DS did not bring back any timetable today...
Actually I find it alittle weird to have the same teacher teaching all 3 subjects.. is it only PC or other schools as well?
I rem'ber during my generation, English/Maths/Science teachers are all different... i guess its prob due to the lack of teachers now that the teachers need to teach everything ranging from proper subjects to PE to moral education to music!.... -
Hi Mummies,
My boy is in p2 this year. But he doesnt have the same FT and said that the new FT is more serious. His co-FT (chinese teacher) is the same though. For mummies with p3 parents, can I check if their chinese MAs always fall on thurs? I need to know coz reorganising my son’s enrichment classes… -
Mummy_Tang:
I think my son's FT = teacher for English, Maths and Music (not sure if also cover PE & moral education). :scratchhead:iLoveChubby:
Hi Mummies!...
Can I check if it is normal for a teacher to teach all 3 subjects; English, Maths and Science for the same class? I would have thought that Science will be taught by a different teacher...
And will the teachers for the P3 class be the same as in P4? (like P1/P2 hv the same teachers)
I just called home to check DS 's teacher....Form teacher = teacher for English, Maths and Science too.... I am interested to know too..... will teachers for the P3 class be the same as in P4? :scratchhead:
:scratchhead:
Like what iLoveChubby stated, not sure if this is only PCPS or across all schools.. One of these days, I will write to MOE and find out. If we go to those enrichment schools, the teachers specialise in 1 subject only. They do not teach all subjects.
I thought i am already quite kiasu but really, 一山还比一山高...
1 \"super mum\" was seated diagonally in front of me with her elder son, P4. The younger one is P1.
Mum: Has the teacher selected the monitor?
Son: Yes mum, but...but... monitor is not me.
Mum: *angry tone*, why not you? Who is the monitor? Tell me the name!
Son: Give the names of the monitor & monitress.
P: Can a have a volunteer from upper Pri to lead the chinese pledge?
Mum: Son, raise your hand and go, quick!!
Son: No mum, I do not want to. (the boy was quite shy and the mum was totally furious and kept scolding the son)
Mum: You see, only 6A students are selected to help with the P1s. You (pointing to the son's head), please make sure you are in 5A and 6A. I don't care if you are 1st or 2nd in class, you have to be in the top 15 in the entire level! Be in the top 3% in 2015 PSLE!
Son: Yes mum. I will try.
I feel super stress for the poor boy. :sad: :sad: -
Thanks for the above, I had a good laugh! Cannot believe tt! Will we be like her next time?
indeed, poor child. Btw, my gal’s having same form and co form teachers from P1 last year. Heard all were happy because these 2 teachers often give little gifts as encouragement. Their generosity surprised me! They really invest de! All the best to mummies and children in 2013! -
ILoveChubby, science is twice a week, 1 hr lesson, 1 hr lab for my DS's class.
I thought it's common for English teachers to take Maths / Science also, I think it was already like that during my time. To me it's ok, may even be good, cos the teacher has more free play in planning of lessons, e.g. have more lessons in one subject if the class is lagging behind one particular subject. Just hope that the teacher do not have bias against a child who is weak in one subject and also condemn him/her for another subject.
So hor, if I want to join the teaching profession, teach Chinese better..haha..only 1 subject.
mamemo:
Hi mamemo, thanks for the info!ILoveChubby, science is twice a week, 1 hr lesson, 1 hr lab for my DS's class.
I thought it's common for English teachers to take Maths / Science also, I think it was already like that during my time. To me it's ok, may even be good, cos the teacher has more free play in planning of lessons, e.g. have more lessons in one subject if the class is lagging behind one particular subject. Just hope that the teacher do not have bias against a child who is weak in one subject and also condemn him/her for another subject.
So hor, if I want to join the teaching profession, teach Chinese better..haha..only 1 subject.
Oh... so I guess both of us belong to the different generation.. :rotflmao:
I m fine with teachers teaching all subjects but just not for the same class.
My worry is if the teacher is the boring type, imagine the kids have to face him/her constantly thr' out the day for all the subjects' periods!...
I would prefer \"diversification\"... Teacher A teaches EL & M for Class A and teaches Science for Class B... etc....
At least your kid will come back fr sch with feedback such as...\" I like my Science teacher the best...\" -
ya, agree with you too… so if my child comes back with "I don’t like my English teacher" faint liao! Means English = Maths = Science Teacher.
Callie Tan:
Any parents with kids going for the Maths Olypiad class? Hope to find out when the class will be starting...
Hi Callie
I thk the Maths O programme will only start in T2... i seem to recall reading the notification just now that AS programmes for P1 & P3 only start later because the kids of these 2 levels need sometime to adjust to their schedule.[/quote]
Thanks... I read that too and will be glad if this is true because my girl really needs some time to adjust to this rountine...just after one day she is complaining that morning session is so tiring etc... :slapshead: -
Callie Tan:
My mistake...P3 science is twice a week... hehehehe
Err... not sure about 1 teacher teaching the 3 subjects thingy...but Science is only once a week, which is to my surprise...maybe it's only for P3...iLoveChubby:
Hi Mummies!...
But I think it is supposed to be a different FT every year, it's just coincidental that some classes have the same FT for P1 n P2... Please correct me if I am wrong.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.