Pei Chun Public

2.7k Posts 145 Posters 836.2k Views 1 Watching
      brownie_06

mamemo:
      jce:

Chinese teachers in PC are very strict with marking, have to make every stroke very clear, whether it's writing chinese characters or pinyin.

agree, my boy had his ting xie marked wrong because he drew bigger black circle as the full stop!

Some schools even stricter than PC. The t in HYPY must curl up. The q cannot have the tick after the vertical stroke.

Callie Tan

brownie_06:
        mamemo:

[quote=\"jce\"]Chinese teachers in PC are very strict with marking, have to make every stroke very clear, whether it's writing chinese characters or pinyin.

agree, my boy had his ting xie marked wrong because he drew bigger black circle as the full stop!

Some schools even stricter than PC. The t in HYPY must curl up. The q cannot have the tick after the vertical stroke.[/quote]Oh my girl writes q without the tick after the straight stroke... she said her teacher told her to...

h530251

Callie Tan:
          brownie_06:

[quote=\"mamemo\"]

Some schools even stricter than PC. The t in HYPY must curl up. The q cannot have the tick after the vertical stroke.

Oh my girl writes q without the tick after the straight stroke... she said her teacher told her to...[/quote]But in english.. should have the tick right ?

Freesias

marmum:
            Freesias:

[quote=\"marmum\"]My child passed all the 3 MAs but dit not do well for English and Chinese. Had to attend Academic Support Programme for English next Tue. Anyone have any idea about this programme?

AS is remedial for the weaker students. The teachers will usu go through the concepts and give them extra worksheets to do. Useful for the kids as it's very important to have a good foundation, treat it as free tuition 🙂

Hi Freeasias, any idea about how the lessons would be conducted and how many students per class? Do you have more info on the AS?[/quote]Hi Marmum

In upp pri, AS conducted by the kid's own subject teacher. The class size depends on no. of students in the class that needs AS. The selection may not be based on the test alone, could also be based on the kid's performance in his assignments.

hotspurs

Hi all

I have a different understanding on Academic Support…told to me by a very reliable source from the school.
              There is Learning Support (LS) and then there is Academic Support (AS). from what I know LS are for kids who need more help in their work. LS has been runing for a while already and it happens a few days per week. AS is supposedly for brighter kids and happens only during the jun hols. Think about it…the sch will not wait that long to start helping the weaker students right?
              My info is somewhat proven when I chatted with my girl last night. Apparently, she has 4-5 classmates shortlisted for AS. When I asked how come they have to attend AS, my girl said something like, "they very clever one…all got full marks for tests…". Of course with her std of spoken english, my girl was not shortlisted for AS…ha…ha.
              But please, dun take my word for it, just contributing to the forum about what I know…whether zhun or not…like that more interesting ma.
              So for those whose kids are attending AS, congrats! (that is if my theory is right. Aiyah, very easy lah…parents with kids attending AS, just affirm if their kids did well…no need to be modest.)
              For me, I will just have to go at it myself and give my own version of sar-pork at home. Cheers

h530251

hotspurs:
                Hi all

I have a different understanding on Academic Support...told to me by a very reliable source from the school.
                There is Learning Support (LS) and then there is Academic Support (AS). from what I know LS are for kids who need more help in their work. LS has been runing for a while already and it happens a few days per week. AS is supposedly for brighter kids and happens only during the jun hols. Think about it...the sch will not wait that long to start helping the weaker students right?
                My info is somewhat proven when I chatted with my girl last night. Apparently, she has 4-5 classmates shortlisted for AS. When I asked how come they have to attend AS, my girl said something like, \"they very clever one...all got full marks for tests...\". Of course with her std of spoken english, my girl was not shortlisted for AS...ha...ha.
                But please, dun take my word for it, just contributing to the forum about what I know...whether zhun or not....like that more interesting ma.
                So for those whose kids are attending AS, congrats! (that is if my theory is right. Aiyah, very easy lah...parents with kids attending AS, just affirm if their kids did well...no need to be modest.)
                For me, I will just have to go at it myself and give my own version of sar-pork at home. Cheers
                Then what is the purpose of the AS for ???

Callie Tan

My girl told me last night she need to go for some lessons next Tuesday, 12th April. I was surprised and asked her did she get the info right because we did not receive any school letters… She said her teacher said all must attend, it’s from 11am to 12pm… What is this? LS or AS?? But based on what hotspurs had share, AS will be during June hoilidays right? But my girl did pretty well for MAs and her daily work is above averge leh…

marmum

My chid is attending AS for English every tue starting from y’day. And AS for chinese this friday only as stated from the memo to parents brought back by my chid. Have written a note to the teacher to check if its just 1 time off or every week. I believe that AS is for weaker students and not those who have done well in the 1st MA. And not all have to attend. My chid told me only 6 from their class went.

h530251

marmum:
                      My chid is attending AS for English every tue starting from y'day. And AS for chinese this friday only as stated from the memo to parents brought back by my chid. Have written a note to the teacher to check if its just 1 time off or every week. I believe that AS is for weaker students and not those who have done well in the 1st MA. And not all have to attend. My chid told me only 6 from their class went.

Can check with you is ur DD is Pri 1 or ???

Callie Tan

Just called the school and requested the FT to give me a call when she’s free. Whether it’s LS or AS, if my girl is really going next tuesday, I have to arrange logistics issues… ie transport, lunch etc… need to inform my nanny asap mah…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 60 / 269

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog
                        oops_04O
                        oops_04
                        Monstermummy79M
                        Monstermummy79