Marriage & Parenthood Package
Extracted from article\"No offence...just saw this.
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/the-flipside/why-singaporeans-don-t-want-kids-063722550.html
Stifling education
One very good reason why young Singaporean adults are shunning passing on their DNA is because they don't subscribe to torture: they don't want to bring something into this world so that they can undergo the Singapore system of education.
Imagine telling your flesh-and-blood that his or her worth is dependent on his or her PSLE and 'O' Levels grades.
Not only that, you have to put him or her in a uniform for at least 10 years, tell your brood to throw out-of-the-box thinking out of the window and remind them constantly that they are going to be nothing more than a cog in the economic machine.
And it is all \"for their own good\".
Sounds like the secular version of hell to you already?
Well, it gets better.
Emmm... I dont agree with a single word of the above.
If one doesnt make one's child look and feel like a 'digit', then the child will never feel like a digit.
One is always the originator of happiness or bitterness.
My three kids enjoy schooling coz I have NEVER bugged them over their results (but always am thinking of ways to build their character and resilience as well as self confidence = they will be happy in whatever jobs they will end themselves up to in the future). -
:snuggles: it was a calculated move, cos while my boss and her boss are quietly against it, I knew my hod would approve my half day leave. This hod had met my son before. I would always bring my son to office during weekend or public holiday when I need to work on site. This hod sometimes pop in office during weekends and would see us. Heng my son always guai guai, not too noisy (u know how the empty office can hear a pin drop?) and always would greet this hod dutifully.
:snuggles: Brave mummy! Bravo! :celebrate:Imami:
I once brought my sick son to my office, much to the shock of many co-workers. I explained to my boss that my son was \"rejected by cc because he was running a fever\" and that I wanted to take half day leave that day. After saying these, I gave her the \"take it (my son stay here with me in the office) or leave it (approve my full day leave)\" look.
Luckily, my son was well behaved enough. He did not make too much noise (although I had to remind him more than I like) and my colleagues (many of whom are mothers themselves) could emphasize. -
insider:
:goodpost: What a pleasant surprise to see you here again, Insider!
Extracted from article\"janet_lee88:
No offence...just saw this.
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/the-flipside/why-singaporeans-don-t-want-kids-063722550.html
Stifling education
One very good reason why young Singaporean adults are shunning passing on their DNA is because they don't subscribe to torture: they don't want to bring something into this world so that they can undergo the Singapore system of education.
Imagine telling your flesh-and-blood that his or her worth is dependent on his or her PSLE and 'O' Levels grades.
Not only that, you have to put him or her in a uniform for at least 10 years, tell your brood to throw out-of-the-box thinking out of the window and remind them constantly that they are going to be nothing more than a cog in the economic machine.
And it is all \"for their own good\".
Sounds like the secular version of hell to you already?
Well, it gets better.
Emmm... I dont agree with a single word of the above.
If one doesnt make one's child look and feel like a 'digit', then the child will never feel like a digit.
One is always the originator of happiness or bitterness.
My three kids enjoy schooling coz I have NEVER bugged them over their results (but always am thinking of ways to build their character and resilience as well as self confidence = they will be happy in whatever jobs they will end themselves up to in the future).
Saw a P2 student crying outside school gate, and mom was saying,\"You have no choice. Everyone goes to school, so must you. This is just the beginning - you have many more years of this to go, so get used to it\". :faint: If my mom were to tell me that, I would have wished I was dead.
I went over to wipe the tears from the boy's cheeks, and patted his shoulder gently, half hoping the mom won't say I kaypoh - \"别哭了,去找你的朋友们玩吧,现在还有点时间!“ And within seconds, he was gone!
Phew!
Imami:
It is very inconvenient bringing kids around in the packed public transport. I pity the kids - always being sandwiched by buttocks - although I like to tease them that they have 'cushions' all around them
:roll:
I always think the other way - eeew, what if someone farts? :rotflmao:
:rotflmao: Ya, that would be the next thing to imagine - then the child can point to the 'culprit' and say, \"It came out from this buttock, mummy! And he ate durian\" :laugh:
It's Valentine's Day 2moro.
Enjoy yourselves with your loved ones. I'm dreaming of a teapot of chamomile tea with honey now. :love: -
Which honey??It's Valentine's Day 2moro.
Enjoy yourselves with your loved ones. I'm dreaming of a teapot of chamomile tea with honey now. :love:
BeContented:
Wait, wait, wait...not CPIB cases.
Which honey??janet_lee88:
It's Valentine's Day 2moro.
Enjoy yourselves with your loved ones. I'm dreaming of a teapot of chamomile tea with honey now. :love:
This thread is about marriage. So which honey do you think ?
Wait, wait, wait...not CPIB cases.
Which honey??BeContented:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]It's Valentine's Day 2moro.
This thread is about marriage. So which honey do you think ?
[/quote]你想得太歪了
Hubby honey or raw honey lah
This CNY, there were talks about 'having more babies' - and the conclusion : the in-laws and own parents' nightmare!

i told my boy that last time too. when he was in Nursery. :imconstipated:
Saw a P2 student crying outside school gate, and mom was saying,\"You have no choice. Everyone goes to school, so must you. This is just the beginning - you have many more years of this to go, so get used to it\". :faint: If my mom were to tell me that, I would have wished I was dead.
!
\"cry means no need to go to sch meh?\" :spank:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.