DSA 2011
cylg:
I think there r a lot of surprises for this yr RI DSA!...some with less than 80% got CO & some got low 80% got WL/rejected....so really dont know what's the selection criteria....some kids fall under the \"talented\" or \"all-rounder\" category by many parents' standard...but still got rejected...kinda scary right

It shows that there's no certainty that if you score >80% you'll be able to secure a DSA at RI. 4 years ago, my friend's son scored >80% at GEP P6 SA1 but only got a WL while his friend who was academically weaker all through P4-P6 and scored <80% at SA1 got a CO. My friend put it down to the interview performance. -
vlim:
I also wonder do they call or email the kids pri school for their teachers/p feedback on the kids or not ... :scratchhead:
Yes they do, if necessary. -
I know you were referring to RI, but I could also see your neck just got longer and longer waiting for the postman from HCI even though you got RI in the bag alredi :evil: :evil:vlim:
Aiyo I am referring to RI la .... Maybe u insider know huh :evil: .. When u meet mrs lim next time, pls find out from her
cylg:
It's a fact that GE branch has full records on GE kids. All their exam records are sent back to GE branch.vlim:
I also wonder do they call or email the kids pri school for their teachers/p feedback on the kids or not ... :scratchhead:
yeah lor :evil: ...may be the GE branch has records on the kids lol...we r like detectives liao -
cylg:
the pre-IB prog which leads to yr5-6 IB programmes is the one for GEP students and those high ability mainstream students. ACSI differs from RI/HCI etc in the way they donot offer traditional GCE 'A\" level but IB diploma...I hope tt makes sense...at the end of the day...like RI...they will have a good mix of GEP students cum mainstream students in the same class studying IB prog[/quote]oh, :thankyou: cylg. I'm much clearer now!
I've checked the website, no mention on \"GEP\" class. Only that they take in 180 students for \"IB prog\", ie under IP. So those students in \"GEP\" prog, not necessary in pre-IB prog?yukilei:
[quote=\"cylg\"]
If u apply DSA to ACSI's IB programs & got selected...u will join the yr 1-4 pre-IB courses ( but if u didnt meet the req, u will be transfered to o lvl track & students from express classes who perform excellently will be a ble to join pre-IB classes)...
the actual IB programs starts at Yr 5....I m good in explaining...it's better for u to check their website on IB for more detailed info BUT they do have \"GEP\" program esp it's one of the ex-sec schs for GEP students to continue theirs gifted education b4 it became an IP sch like RI/HCI etc -
It's a fact that GE branch has full records on GE kids. All their exam records are sent back to GE branch.[/quote]cylg:
[quote=\"vlim\"]I also wonder do they call or email the kids pri school for their teachers/p feedback on the kids or not ... :scratchhead:
yeah lor :evil: ...may be the GE branch has records on the kids lol...we r like detectives liao
& I think the GE Branch also have info on the child's character, attitude & behaviour in sch. So maybe they do check on that as well. -
I hv heard of 2 mainstream kids who got in by sports. Hv not heard of any who got in by academic.
yes there was one last year who is a young artist, featured by mediacorp, held solo exhibition at Art House (former parliament house), UOB young painter of the year ..... truly talent beyond his peers ....also PSLE t-score 262Ms tay:
Last yr there were some of the non-geps got co by ri but why this yr ....
:? -
Should we pop a Don Perignon champagne when this thread reaches 1000?
:rahrah: :siao: :rahrah: :rotflmao: :siao: :siam: -
cestmoi:
yam seng !:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
:rahrah: :siao: :rahrah: :rotflmao: :siao: :siam: -
cestmoi:
Takes another one or 2 weeks to reach.:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
:rahrah: :siao: :rahrah: :rotflmao: :siao: :siam:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.