DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Pen88n

TREX8:

I suppose as parents, we can only guide, and frankly, we also do not have a crystal ball to foretell which is the best option for our kids. The rest is up to the kids.

The reassuring thing would be that within the IP schools, the quality of the water has a certain standard. So as long as the water doesn't dry up and the fish (regardless of size relative to the other fishes in the pond) doesn't drown, I think we need not worry too much πŸ˜„

Since when do fish drown? :? :rotflmao:

:scratchhead: :idea: when they become shell-fish (selfish)??? :rotflmao:

Blur Dad

firefly38:
        vlim:

[quote=\"Blur Dad\"]Well said. Already got Dragon Fruit why want to change?

My DS stills waiting for his Apple (WL) to come. However, will try for Dragon Fruit or Durian if possible....

Hi Blur Dad,
        Wish your ds best of luck and able to get to his dream school! πŸ™

Hi Blur Dad, I also wish your DS 101% great success in getting his Dream Fruit!!! πŸ˜‰ ... Hmmm, actually Durian, being the King of Fruits, is not bad too (if Dragon Fruit out of stock)... πŸ˜‰ :boogie:[/quote]Hi vlim / firefly38

Thank you

Hope DS will get his Durian (King of Fruits) eventually. Have been in dilemma whether to apply for the only WL(apple) on hand or not, however to be KS, we have applied for the WL just in case.

TREX8

alamak! what a silly mistake! jtoh - that's a quick one!

but you know what I mean lah - \"as long as the fish can thrive\"

TwaTau:

[quote=\"TREX8\"]I suppose as parents, we can only guide, and frankly, we also do not have a crystal ball to foretell which is the best option for our kids. The rest is up to the kids.

The reassuring thing would be that within the IP schools, the quality of the water has a certain standard. So as long as the water doesn't dry up and the fish (regardless of size relative to the other fishes in the pond) doesn't drown, I think we need not worry too much πŸ˜„

Since when do fish drown? :? :rotflmao:

Drink too much \"magic\" water?[/quote]

Blur Dad

ngbrdad:
            DSA 2011 is now officially over.

Who is looking for DSA for their kids in 2012 ?

Mine will be in 2013.

Yes, officially DSA 2011 is over. But un-officially I think it is not over yet, I guess there will be a lot movement after the PSLE result date and the S1 posting date.

TwaTau

ngbrdad:

Mine will be in 2013.
              Over for me for sure, the other one will probably has to go through the S1 process, don't need to think about DSA.

vlim

TwaTau:
                ngbrdad:

Mine will be in 2013.

Over for me for sure, the other one will probably has to go through the S1 process, don't need to think about DSA.

Same same here ... πŸ˜‰

cestmoi

Snow Crystal:

[quote=\"firefly38\"]
                  In the eyes of beholder, so maybe wake up from Alice's Wonderland dream and realize that dragonfruit is actually the apple and vice versa :rotflmao: yes heard of cases after school reopens. Very rare only tip top scorers and provided other side got another unhappy person too. Shhh.... πŸ˜‰

I've also heard of people trying to switch schools after Sec 1 or 2.

[/quote] πŸ˜‚ Thanks everyone for sharing the above! Yeah DD is rather kantang so we shall wait & see if she cld fit into NYGH culture as so she has expressed that she wld... πŸ˜› :boogie:

ScaredyMum

For those of you who DSA this year, did you all mostly apply thru academics? Are your kids all GEPpers? Any mainstream parents can share your experiences too? Like what to start preparing in P5/P6, any specific subject to 'focus' etc?

Sorry if I am asking a repetitive question, I tried reading from page 1 but there is too many pages (881) to go through! πŸ˜‰

ScaredyMum:
                      For those of you who DSA this year, did you all mostly apply thru academics? Are your kids all GEPpers? Any mainstream parents can share your experiences too? Like what to start preparing in P5/P6, any specific subject to 'focus' etc?

Sorry if I am asking a repetitive question, I tried reading from page 1 but there is too many pages (881) to go through! πŸ˜‰
                      http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=26571

like PSLE preparation, DSA preparation starts in Pri 5; and if applying to RI, starts in Pri 4 - because you need to submit Pri 4 academic records

make sure high scores for every subjects, win competitions, NMOS, SMOPS, PLK, RIPWMC, SMOJ, UNSW, Raffles Science Olympiad, get into the Raffles Inner Circle, get shortlisted for bilingual talent etc

if kids are not from GEP, make sure performs like GEP kids ...because they are looking for \"ability beyond peers\" ..... like that the DSA offers sure go the right students mah ....... or else proof by high t-score at S1

dagong99

ScaredyMum:

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=26571

like PSLE preparation, DSA preparation starts in Pri 5; and if applying to RI, starts in Pri 4 - because you need to submit Pri 4 academic records

Same for NUSHS, starts from P4 results, recognises only UNSW, SMOPS, NMOS, RIPMWC, SPSO certificates ...., so remember to take UNSW tests, every school should have given to their students every year the test dates ... We didn't know these are important for DSA only when we start applying

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 881 / 919