Myanmar maids
moonee:
Dear mooneeLamber... I hv experienced the ridiculous things that not only mynars do but the two other nationalities too. Unfortunately I cant afford to be maidless as my mum do need some caring.
I was maidless for 2 months and it is indeed true, I found my long lost freedom within the house and my dd was somewhat closer to me, tho busy with the household chores, I notice that my dd approached me more and much of my attention was given to her. Perhaps the maid was a blockage and I had to spend time checking on her work and councelling her too. The only person that missed having a maid was my mum.
I can completely emphasise with households that need domestic help like your case. It's really a blessing that those households have maids who are responsible and good. -
Lynn2010:
Ai yo this one really peng san! :slapshead:wow... reading the last 2 pages, i must admit i'm really impatient and have high expectations. I was thinking of burmese maids, but still stay within my comfort zone of trying a Fil. The recent one i got lasted 7 weeks. She is the most experience i hired (ex Sin, 6 yr) but longest to train (7 wks) still cant make it.
Everything also have to teach, not that i'm particular, basic house hold chores no need to teach for an experience maid, that's why i hire exp right? A few days into her job, I open the plates cupboard with a shock, big plate on top of small plate on top of big plate, saucer on the right and left..... so untidy.
Milk expired 10 days still pouring for dds to drink, thank God, they have strong stomach. After telling her off abt this, 2 wks later, i found the milk exp 3 days. When i question her if she knows the milk already expired, her reply \"I know, since Sat\" (thinking she's so smart that she knows when the milk expired!!) :stupid:
Come back from supermarket, around 9pm, she already in bed. I sleep later than her and wakes up same time as her 5.30am. I told her i cant tell her everything, if she sees me doing something, watch it and i expect her to do it the next time. when she see me doing, she walks away happily to do other chores (as if i'm her assistant). :siao: Told her she cooked the omelette wrongly, she left me to fry my own!! Omelette also have ang mo style and Chinese style mah.... everything one style!! If i have to teach her one thing at a time, by the end of 2 years, she still cannot learn everything.
Claiming to be a very good cook, food can burnt in a slow cooker!! My house is dirtiest ever! \"Lost\" my polo shirt.
With me for 7 weeks, i sick 3 weeks. Every day come back from work, still have to teach her and do part of her job. Then she goes to bed 8 or 9pm. After she goes to bed, i shower, do my own stuff till 11pm or mid night!
Still has the cheek to ask for $550, all Sundays and all PH off! -
peapot:
Lyn2010, did your maid complain about her salary? I heard 30 Philip maids gang up to report to the embassy that their employers did not pay the US 600 required by their embassy contract. Some are barred from hiring Philip maids until they pay accordingly. These days maid are so different from the past!
No..... US600 meh.... I told the agent even if she lower her salary to SGD100, i dont want her. She is not helping me, i'm helping her!! -
1amber:
Not only peng san, vomit blood....
Ai yo this one really peng san! :slapshead:Lynn2010:
wow... reading the last 2 pages, i must admit i'm really impatient and have high expectations. I was thinking of burmese maids, but still stay within my comfort zone of trying a Fil. The recent one i got lasted 7 weeks. She is the most experience i hired (ex Sin, 6 yr) but longest to train (7 wks) still cant make it.
Everything also have to teach, not that i'm particular, basic house hold chores no need to teach for an experience maid, that's why i hire exp right? A few days into her job, I open the plates cupboard with a shock, big plate on top of small plate on top of big plate, saucer on the right and left..... so untidy.
Milk expired 10 days still pouring for dds to drink, thank God, they have strong stomach. After telling her off abt this, 2 wks later, i found the milk exp 3 days. When i question her if she knows the milk already expired, her reply \"I know, since Sat\" (thinking she's so smart that she knows when the milk expired!!) :stupid:
Come back from supermarket, around 9pm, she already in bed. I sleep later than her and wakes up same time as her 5.30am. I told her i cant tell her everything, if she sees me doing something, watch it and i expect her to do it the next time. when she see me doing, she walks away happily to do other chores (as if i'm her assistant). :siao: Told her she cooked the omelette wrongly, she left me to fry my own!! Omelette also have ang mo style and Chinese style mah.... everything one style!! If i have to teach her one thing at a time, by the end of 2 years, she still cannot learn everything.
Claiming to be a very good cook, food can burnt in a slow cooker!! My house is dirtiest ever! \"Lost\" my polo shirt.
With me for 7 weeks, i sick 3 weeks. Every day come back from work, still have to teach her and do part of her job. Then she goes to bed 8 or 9pm. After she goes to bed, i shower, do my own stuff till 11pm or mid night!
Still has the cheek to ask for $550, all Sundays and all PH off!
Told my friends, if i continue to keep her, the whole of Singapore will read about my family in the papers \"Family of 4 admitted to hospital due to milk poisoning\" :faint: -
peapot:
Lyn2010, did your maid complain about her salary? I heard 30 Philip maids gang up to report to the embassy that their employers did not pay the US 600 required by their embassy contract. Some are barred from hiring Philip maids until they pay accordingly. These days maid are so different from the past!
Just like we have Gen \"Y\" in the working force now ( and they are so daring and different from our time )... we are facing Gen \"Y' maids too! -
Hi Lynn2010
Your ex sin 6 years maid is phil? Who has she been working for 6 years? I think we should have a regulation that we are entitled to a reference and phone number to talk to their previous employer.
How can she serve expired milk? Knowing it’s expired and still choose to serve it, attempted poisoning!!! Still so proud can answer she knows expired… -
Lyn2010....... yr maid may hv a mental block,
or she must be very old or left spore yrs back and return again...err, perhaps she does not like looking after kids. -
st2:
Hi Lynn2010
Your ex sin 6 years maid is phil? Who has she been working for 6 years? I think we should have a regulation that we are entitled to a reference and phone number to talk to their previous employer.
How can she serve expired milk? Knowing it's expired and still choose to serve it, attempted poisoning?!?!?! Still so proud can answer she knows expired.....
A Phil. From the MOM records, 2yr+ for a Chinese family, then 1.6 yr for British, another 1.3yr for another British family. Cant be all being poisoned. I suspect all these employers are at home so the responsibilities and expectations different.
As for me, i'm not home and expect them to manage the kitchen. She is a mum herself and apparently ran a stall (own business) in Phil.
I think no need prev employer phone no. as some may change ph or moved overseas etc. Perhaps a rule that all employers have to state the reason for terminating the FDW, her strength & weaknesses. I think this Phil is suitable in a family with an Ah Mah \"watching\".
\"Still so proud to answer she knows it's expired\". This is the thing that makes me mad. She so calm when she answered. -
moonee:
Lyn2010....... yr maid may hv a mental block,
or she must be very old or left spore yrs back and return again...err, perhaps she does not like looking after kids.
wow.... moonie, can i bring you along when i need to interview maids? You so experience....
47 yrs old, not too old leh (of course not young), she left Sin 2009 and return recently loh. No ned to take care of kids as my DD2 is already 13 yr old.
I only ned the maid to clean house and cook lunch & dinner. I hope i dont need one in 2 yrs' time. Just got a new one, 26 yrs old, 3.3yr exp, 2 employers. If this one is good, she can stay with me as long as poss, if not, if i can tah han, let her go after 2 yrs.
Mental block? Well you tell me..... she set the table for 2 persons in Dining table #1. Ask her to bring out and set them in Dining table #2. It will probably take me one trip, but it took her 6 trips!! Trip 1, take out 1 plate fr Table 1 to Table 2. Trip 2, take out 1 plate fr T1 to T2, Trip 3, take out 1 spoon fr T1 to T2, etc. :yikes: Do you call this mental blk?
Nevermind, it's history
Lynn2010:
For me, I wouldn't select a maid with such a record. Too me that record is a warning sign.
A Phil. From the MOM records, 2yr+ for a Chinese family, then 1.6 yr for British, another 1.3yr for another British family.
I'd rather try my luck with an inexperienced one.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.