2010 PSLE Discussion
Compo will still be marked for Grammar even if content is irrelevant. Different range of marks is allocated for Major Irrelevance and Minor Irrelevance under Content. That's what I know.

hmm...think it shd be PSLE results leh coz I knew of the announcement date thru my colleague but not the school posting date.[/quote]u have mixed up the 2,
SMS is not for results announcements, is for the result of S1 posting of the school.Augmum:
[quote=\"tansm2010\"]
SMS to inform the result individually??? :?
for results, the pupils are expected to report to school just b4 noon,
dun worry, the school will inform the pupils abt the timing.
sms is for S1 posting
it depends on the school itself.......
Yes, you're allowed inside the school hall.joconde:
on result day are most students accompanied by their parents ? DS told me not to tag along. But i'm afraid he'll feel odd one out if most of his friends have parents with them. What's the norm ?
Also, are parents allowed into the sch hall, or do they wait outside the school ?
for my gal's school, the parents are only allowed to wait at the canteen
while the pupils go to the school hall for the principal's announcement
afterwhich, the pupils would proceed to their individual classrooms for their results slips,
so it's quite a while of waiting at the canteen......
so what we did last year, was to tell our gal to sms us her results......
JieTing:
1 more question: if compo out of point, still can pass, right?

Don't worry, I have seen kids with compo verrry out of point also pass - C grade though. The compo was that : alarm went off and smoke could be seen. The kid wrote that it was actually a robbery and the robbers accidentally set off the alarm. Totally no mention of why there is smoke.
But language and grammar must be OK (i.e. normal). -
My DD's school allows the parents to stand behind the halls. Top 20 students will be announced and invited go on stage. Then all stduents will do to their classrooms for the actual result. Parents will wait in the hall.it depends on the school itself.......
for my gal's school, the parents are only allowed to wait at the canteen
while the pupils go to the school hall for the principal's announcement
afterwhich, the pupils would proceed to their individual classrooms for their results slips,
so it's quite a while of waiting at the canteen......
so what we did last year, was to tell our gal to sms us her results......
mummyjoyce:
My DD's school allows the parents to stand behind the halls. Top 20 students will be announced and invited go on stage. Then all stduents will do to their classrooms for the actual result. Parents will wait in the hall.
Similar to my dd's school. Parents are allowed in the school hall. After announcements etc, kids go to individual classrooms to collect results slip. Parents can hang around outside classroom. -
PSLE Results day....relish the heart-stopping moments, the hugs, the tears, the joys.
Whatever it is, give your child a pat on the shoulder and a squeeze in the hand for the great effort!
Hopefully below is useful
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14960 -
well, whatever results your child gets, I believe they had done their best…they deserve a hug or a pat at the back… esp those who only managed to get into NT/NA streams…PLS DUN GIVE UP…its still possible to go NT-NA and NA-EXP …I did it when i was in sec one…normal stream for 6 mths only …after which express all the way…i never looked back from that moment on…
Now, i show my P6 pupils my pri and sec report book…proved them that nothing is impossible with shear determination and hard work… -
atutor2001:
Compo is only 1 component of language - there is still paper 2, oral, listening compre. No doubt an \"out-of-point\" compo will \"drag down\" the overall marks, but it is still possible to pass or even obtain a decent grade (A or B) if the kid fare very well for the other components.JieTing:
1 more question: if compo out of point, still can pass, right?

Don't worry, I have seen kids with compo verrry out of point also pass - C grade though. The compo was that : alarm went off and smoke could be seen. The kid wrote that it was actually a robbery and the robbers accidentally set off the alarm. Totally no mention of why there is smoke.
But language and grammar must be OK (i.e. normal).
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.