All About T-Score

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    629 Posts 304 Posters 463.6k Views 1 Watching
      Dharma

CrazyDad:

I still like to good old time, when we just go to the school near by. And parents not even care what is going on, as long as there is no red color in the report book. :celebrate:
      Good Old Days ….used cycle to school and back …lunch ..then soccer/hockey/badminton from 4pm to 7pm ….dinner …watch TV…good night sleep.

Seasonal period …can play “guli”/marbles, “gasing”, fly kite and many more …

tutormum

Math is such a subject that when the paper is difficult, there will still be quite a large group of pupils who can attain 100 while the majority will perform way below their normal standards, pulling down the mean and pushing up the T-score of the top students. If ALL of these kids that get 100 are indeed more intelligent than the rest (of course a handful are the real math wizkid) I will gladly accept the ranking from the T-score. Sadly, the truth is, most of the kids that get the 100 marks are not really smarter. The only different is, one has done the questions before and the other has not. So we are rewarding them for being super kiasu, solving questions way beyond the normal curriculum. This will lead to a mad race in future, forcing students to have more practices - not the right way to learn math.

Sorry, atutor2001, I beg to differ. Take the example of this year's Maths paper, it seems that only those who are fantastically good in Maths will excel. From various feedback it seems that the angle and sweets questions brought down most if not all the talented students. Some schools have zero student who can solve them. Even the GEP students are brought down and as far as I know many school top scorers did not perform well also. This seems to be more of a GEP test than an exam. It seems that almost all the students are affected one way or another. If I'm not wrong, less than 1% of them will manage to get full marks. No amount of practice will prepare students, esp weak ones, to be able to score full marks if this trend continues. Simple reason - there's no way you can prepare a child for unconventional questions set by MOE. Even my son won't be getting full marks for this paper and he was ranked top 300 in his cohort based on a national competition. He's a genius in Maths and knew how to use LCM when he sat for the GEP selection test without being taught. In fact, he received no training as I don't believe in pushing him just to get him into the gifted program or whatever. If he has what he takes, he has what it takes. He only did one Maths assessment book a year spending 80% of his time on Chinese. 😓

CrazyDad

tutormum:
          Math is such a subject that when the paper is difficult, there will still be quite a large group of pupils who can attain 100 while the majority will perform way below their normal standards, pulling down the mean and pushing up the T-score of the top students. If ALL of these kids that get 100 are indeed more intelligent than the rest (of course a handful are the real math wizkid) I will gladly accept the ranking from the T-score. Sadly, the truth is, most of the kids that get the 100 marks are not really smarter. The only different is, one has done the questions before and the other has not. So we are rewarding them for being super kiasu, solving questions way beyond the normal curriculum. This will lead to a mad race in future, forcing students to have more practices - not the right way to learn math.

Sorry, atutor2001, I beg to differ. Take the example of this year's Maths paper, it seems that only those who are fantastically good in Maths will excel. From various feedback it seems that the angle and sweets questions brought down most if not all the talented students. Some schools have zero student who can solve them. Even the GEP students are brought down and as far as I know many school top scorers did not perform well also. This seems to be more of a GEP test than an exam. It seems that almost all the students are affected one way or another. If I'm not wrong, less than 1% of them will manage to get full marks. No amount of practice will prepare students, esp weak ones, to be able to score full marks if this trend continues. Simple reason - there's no way you can prepare a child for unconventional questions set by MOE. Even my son won't be getting full marks for this paper and he was ranked top 300 in his cohort based on a national competition. He's a genius in Maths and knew how to use LCM when he sat for the GEP selection test without being taught. In fact, he received no training as I don't believe in pushing him just to get him into the gifted program or whatever. If he has what he takes, he has what it takes. He only did one Maths assessment book a year spending 80% of his time on Chinese. 😓
          after spending so much time on CL, is he good at it now?
          Asking this question with the intention to find out how to learn a language that seldom use daily. :idea:

tutormum

Hi CrazyDad,

My son became more interested in Chinese after going for the school exchange program to China last year. I highly recommend this trip cos he learnt the Chinese culture and use only Chinese to communicate with the host students. As the students over there were better in Chinese naturally, he joined the class one year younger than he. He never stopped talking about the trip ever since he returned and was most willing to share his experience! His Chinese teacher also made learning interesting by telling stories, jokes and riddles etc. Of course, his teacher was also strict and pushed him a lot so that he could not be lazy and sloppy in his work. :lol: I made him read a lot and do assessments which he hates. However, his attitude changed and has more confidence. He even peppered his speech with Chinese, something he never does in the past. :celebrate:

CrazyDad

tutormum:
              Hi CrazyDad,

My son became more interested in Chinese after going for the school exchange program to China last year. I highly recommend this trip cos he learnt the Chinese culture and use only Chinese to communicate with the host students. As the students over there were better in Chinese naturally, he joined the class one year younger than he. He never stopped talking about the trip ever since he returned and was most willing to share his experience! His Chinese teacher also made learning interesting by telling stories, jokes and riddles etc. Of course, his teacher was also strict and pushed him a lot so that he could not be lazy and sloppy in his work. :lol: I made him read a lot and do assessments which he hates. However, his attitude changed and has more confidence. He even peppered his speech with Chinese, something he never does in the past. :celebrate:
              wow ! this sounds fantastic, thanks for sharing..

Fairy

tutormum:

Sorry, atutor2001, I beg to differ. Take the example of this year's Maths paper, it seems that only those who are fantastically good in Maths will excel. From various feedback it seems that the angle and sweets questions brought down most if not all the talented students. Some schools have zero student who can solve them. Even the GEP students are brought down and as far as I know many school top scorers did not perform well also. This seems to be more of a GEP test than an exam. It seems that almost all the students are affected one way or another. If I'm not wrong, less than 1% of them will manage to get full marks. No amount of practice will prepare students, esp weak ones, to be able to score full marks if this trend continues. Simple reason - there's no way you can prepare a child for unconventional questions set by MOE. Even my son won't be getting full marks for this paper and he was ranked top 300 in his cohort based on a national competition. He's a genius in Maths and knew how to use LCM when he sat for the GEP selection test without being taught. 😓
                It seems that despite the hoo ha over the ''sweets & choc\" question by parents, many students were still able to get the correct answer ''68''. Read the exchanges among students on the internet, and you will realise many managed to get the answer, 68 but were worried that it should be something else. In my daughter's school, though there are some who came out of the room with red eyes, there are many who also got 68 as their answer. Actually, I do not agree that that question was unconventional. One could easily find such questions in top schools' exam papers (available in the black market). That is why even LJ's P4 sister could get it right. I think most who got that question wrong, like my daughter 😞 , was due to exam stress. She usually has no problem with such question. Give it to the P5 GEP students now, I believe they too, will be able to solve it. It's different when one is under time constraint and the fact that this year's paper was generally perceived as not easy, even by those who are stong in Maths does not help to calm those exam nerves. I wonder which school has zero student who could solve that question. The teachers must be very sad.

The angle question is a bit tricky though. However, if one is calm, one will be able to see that it is actually not difficult. (impt part is to be able to spot the equilateral triangle. it took me sometime to spot it too.). My daughter got this question correct. Apart from the sweet question, she has already confirmed some careless mistakes here & there 😞 despite scoring close to full marks for her school Prelim. I was hoping her Maths marks could pull up her T-score. Now, no hope liao. For now, she does not wish to talk about PSLE anymore. Top Priority is computer games! Mousehunt & etc. I agree with her; no point crying over spilt milk, after result is out, if bad then cry lor... 😢

Doby

It comes across to me that 2008 PSLE results are more competitive. Student’s scores are very close to each other. But this year the results are very widespread. meaning the smart ones are really smart, getting 270 and above. There are only a handful of people who gets 260-269 and majority are in the range of 250-255.

Do you see the same pattern in your kid’s school ?

Anyone knows where can we get information on score breakdown ? I am keen to find out % of students who gets 270 and above, 260-269, 255-259 and etc.

cheers,

jitancat

Doby:

It comes across to me that 2008 PSLE results are more competitive. Student's scores are very close to each other. But this year the results are very widespread. meaning the smart ones are really smart, getting 270 and above. There are only a handful of people who gets 260-269 and majority are in the range of 250-255.

Do you see the same pattern in your kid's school ?

Anyone knows where can we get information on score breakdown ? I am keen to find out % of students who gets 270 and above, 260-269, 255-259 and etc.

cheers,

Is the distribution curve given together with the PSLE results slip ? My son did not receive anything but I saw some students holding colorful brochures ..... which he was not given.

If there is a distribution curve, then may be able to estimate # student > 260 # student > 255 and so on , and ===>

If too low quantity than 2008 for >260 significantly, does it implies that COP of good schools may drop this year ? Else will not have enough student to fill up the good schools.

Just wonder, son not affected. Any experts in this area ?

mathsparks

jitancat:
                      Is the distribution curve given together with the PSLE results slip ? My son did not receive anything but I saw some students holding colorful brochures ..... which he was not given.

If there is a distribution curve, then may be able to estimate # student > 260 # student > 255 and so on , and ===>

If too low quantity than 2008 for >260 significantly, does it implies that COP of good schools may drop this year ? Else will not have enough student to fill up the good schools.

Just wonder, son not affected. Any experts in this area ?
                      simi colorful brochure :? son also dont have.

harini

Doby:

It comes across to me that 2008 PSLE results are more competitive. Student's scores are very close to each other. But this year the results are very widespread. meaning the smart ones are really smart, getting 270 and above. There are only a handful of people who gets 260-269 and majority are in the range of 250-255.

Do you see the same pattern in your kid's school ?

cheers,
                        Agree totally, experienced the same in my son's school. In fact the principal even mentioned that this year's results seem to have fewer pupils above 260 in many schools. Lets hope the COP comes down a couple of points in the top schools.

When will the official COP's be published so that parents can decide on appeal process ? Can any of the parents with older children help ...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 63