Berries - Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Chinese
    386 Posts 160 Posters 397.3k Views 1 Watching
    • E Offline
      ELMO

gaikteng:
      My friend's son was with Berries since K1, but he seems to enjoy, but no improvement. So, he switch to this Zhou's Academic at Goldhill plaza. Good improvement though. Then he recommend my other friend who has a son in K2 to go for the K2 class. The son can recognise quite alot of characters within 10 lessons. He just finish 1 course.

Which branch was he in?

cherrygal

Just to share, my son likes Berries very much coz he thrives in groups. I know some pple find that the class size at Berries is too big and shy ones won’t learn much. So, before you put your kid in Berries, you have to know your kid’s learning style.

But I must say that Berries works for him coz he scored very well for his Higher Chinese exam in school. We are kentang and dun even speak a word of Chinese at home. So I believe that the foundation Berries laid for him (he started at 5yo) is good coz it definitely wasn’t me! I am quite relaxed over his studies and only made him do extra assessment papers one month before the exams.

cherrygal:
          Just to share, my son likes Berries very much coz he thrives in groups. I know some pple find that the class size at Berries is too big and shy ones won't learn much. So, before you put your kid in Berries, you have to know your kid's learning style.

But I must say that Berries works for him coz he scored very well for his Higher Chinese exam in school. We are kentang and dun even speak a word of Chinese at home. So I believe that the foundation Berries laid for him (he started at 5yo) is good coz it definitely wasn't me! I am quite relaxed over his studies and only made him do extra assessment papers one month before the exams.
          rule of thumb; latest to start berries by P1.later than that, kids cannot catch up in class and may be shy or switch off.
          not much group dynamics in primary sch level in berries. being in one class in P3 this whole year, my anti-social boy does not know any single classmate's name :faint: he just go, attend lessons, do work and come home.

vicki

Im with Berries n Tien Hsia!!

After one year still cannot decide on which one to give up - so just continue with both lor!!

Super KS!!

HC_Parent

Hi

Can anyone advise if P1 Berries higher chinese enrichment will be beneficial to a child who’s weak in chinese but going to a HCL sch? She’s only been with Berries for 1 term in K2 and I would say that although there was slight improvement, I was doing all the hard work. Every week I go through the short story many times to make sure she can read the entire story independently.I also go through the workbook and hanyu pinyin with her. I spend a lot of time on berries materials each week and I was just wondering if we have time to do that when she starts P1 and I probably hv to go through sch work with her as well.

Anyone can share on berries p1 Chinese program?

cantbearit2

HC_Parent:
                Hi

Can anyone advise if P1 Berries higher chinese enrichment will be beneficial to a child who's weak in chinese but going to a HCL sch? She's only been with Berries for 1 term in K2 and I would say that although there was slight improvement, I was doing all the hard work. Every week I go through the short story many times to make sure she can read the entire story independently.I also go through the workbook and hanyu pinyin with her. I spend a lot of time on berries materials each week and I was just wondering if we have time to do that when she starts P1 and I probably hv to go through sch work with her as well.

Anyone can share on berries p1 Chinese program?
                my DD started wif Berries towards e end of K1. She's still wif Berries and gg to P2 nex yr. So far, we spent e least effort on Mother Tongue but yet she got e best results. Thus we r convinced tat Berries worked for her. At P1 lvl, ey still do e readers & 1 or 2 page of worksheet. It is still manageable even wif sch work. E worksheets r of course tough (cos mummy oso can't help her at times :oops: ) But tink it's gd tat e Berries tr noes DD's weakness if she got it wrong.
                Dun have e courage to stop Berries cos if her results slipped aft tat, we may find it hard to catch up ltr on.

• happy88mumH Offline
                  happy88mum

I am looking for k2 and primary onepreowned berries storybooks and workbooks and readers. If anyone willing to let go, pls pm me.

Thanks so much!

cherrygal

Agree with Canbearit. My kid also did the best for HCL at P1 without any effort from me. I never revised the Berries storybook with him at all… I just pay Berries and pray for the best. The whole point in paying Berries is to avoid having to do the actual work myself! lazy mom i guess…

The worksheets are OK but sometimes he needs my help to read the instructions… I too have decided to stick with Berries unless his grades drop and real tuition is required.

Just to remind parents… Berries is an enrichment centre, not a tuition centre. They do not go through actual schoolwork like tuition teachers. Their curriculum goes beyond what is taught at school. So if your kid’s grades are not very high at P1, they may need real focused tuition instead.

HC_Parent

Thanks for the feedback Canbearit and cherry gal. Guess I’ll stick with Berries for the time being. Glad to hear that it is helping our children cope better in school.

• E Offline
                        ELMO

Hi, I have already sign up my gal with Berries. Anyone keen to be my referee to share the referee fee, please pm me. Thanks

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 39