Secondary School Literature
Hi AutumnBronze
My DS who loves to read says that he doesn’t like literature. Perhaps is the way this subject is being taught in school. How do we as parents get him to be interested in this subject? Can advise
Many thanks! -
Herbie:
Hi Herbie,Hi AutumnBronze
My DS who loves to read says that he doesn't like literature. Perhaps is the way this subject is being taught in school. How do we as parents get him to be interested in this subject? Can advise
Many thanks!
What is he doing for Lit? Perhaps I can use that as a starting point.
Hi AutumnBronze,
Thanks for yr swift response. My DS is doing the bk \"The Outsider\".
But for now he is ask to do Unseen Prose which include Plot and Characterisation..
I really dun know what is happening for literature. And his literature common test is coming soon.
:? -
Herbie:
Hi Herbie,Hi AutumnBronze,
Thanks for yr swift response. My DS is doing the bk \"The Outsider\".
But for now he is ask to do Unseen Prose which include Plot and Characterisation..
I really dun know what is happening for literature. And his literature common test is coming soon.
:?
My son who is in Sec 3 is doing Pure Literature. His school, which has a strong foundation in Literature has recommended \"Mining for Meaning\" by Suzanne Choo and Robert Yeo, a guide to the Unseen for 'O' Level students. As a former Pure Lit student, I find this guide extremely useful. It offers practical strategies to help students appreciate literary texts beyond their superficial meanings. -
Hi Herbie,
Its positive news that your DS loves to read. I hope the following will be of some help to you and DS.
Below is the link to the Lit syllabus from MOE website. You can have a look at it to familiarize the expectations. Alternatively, you can specifically refer to pg 3 (aims), 8 (areas of study), 10 (skills) and 18 to 21 (band descriptors).
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/syllabuses/english-language-and-literature/files/literature-in-english-lower-secondary-2007.pdf
You can also refer to an article, “How to Savour Literature” from my blog to further gain some insights as to how to enjoy Literature.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/how-savour-secondary-school-literature
Ok, that said, since your DS is doing prose, then I shall touch on that.
Definition of prose:
A prose is an extract of passage from a novel or short story. It could be an adaptation of a short story as well. I assume that your DS will be tested on Unseen prose, which means that it’ll be a passage that he has not laid eyes on.
Next, your DS has to understand the definitions of Plot and Characterization.
Plot consists of these parts:
1) Introduction – where the reader is introduced to the characters, setting and the general circumstances.
2) Conflict – also referred to as problem. When this arises, it changes the character’s situation.
3) Rising action – this is a series of events where important decisions and actions occur. It is usually action-packed, descriptive and exciting.
4) Climax – this refers to the turning of the story and it is the most anticipated part. The action has been built up to this point of the story, and tension is at its highest level. It is at this point that a decision has to be made or an action taken that will decide the outcome of the story.
5) Resolution – this is where all aspects and problems of the story are resolved, leading to the conclusion.
6) Conclusion – This is where how everything will conclude for the characters and how they feel about the outcome.
As part of his revision, your DS can read some prose passages and it will be good if he can identify and label the parts from above in the passage. This will reaffirm his understanding of Plot.
Will post information on Characterization in a while. -
prettycoolmom:
Hi there,Hi... my daughter is in Sec 1 this year and will be using \"Sing to the Dawn\"...
Does anyone have a reference that we could use as guide?
I would really appreciate your help...
There doesn't seem to be any resources online.
May have to check with Popular if they have any guidebooks. -
Hi Autumnbronze,
Many thanks for yr reply. Thanks for sharing yr knowledge on literature.
:=) Look forward to yr sharing on characterization.
Hi Millicent,
Thanks for yr info too.
Hi there Herbie,
Some information on characterization ....
Characterization:
Refers to the people in the story. We find out more about them in the story via …
1) Their appearance
2) The way they dress
3) Their facial features
4) The way they walk and stand
5) What they say
6) What they do
7) The decisions they make
What others think and say about them
Making and recording down the observations about the character is helpful in helping DS to answer questions on characterization. Evidence needs to be provided from the text to support DS’s observation. So what he can do for each of the character is to draw his own impressions and locate evidence (either use of direct quotes or paraphrase of quote from the text) to support his view. So, in effect, DS would have something like this:
1) Name of character
2) Character trait(s)
3) Evidence from the text to support view(s)
One other exercise to attempt after reading the prose passage is to record the intentions and effects of the characters’ actions in the story. So the notes may consist of the following headings:
1) Name of character
2) Intention(s) of the character
3) Action(s) committed by the character
4) Effect(s) of the action committed

:thankyou: sista for sharing your golden nuggets of info regarding Lit appreciation. :love: DD1 also doing prose now, so your notes will come in useful. Think her sch doing Macbeth in 2nd semester. :faint:
schweppes:
:thankyou: sista for sharing your golden nuggets of info regarding Lit appreciation. :love: DD1 also doing prose now, so your notes will come in useful. Think her sch doing Macbeth in 2nd semester. :faint:
Always welcome sista :celebrate:
Donch faint lah, DD1 got auntie autumnbronze here mah .... just holler and I'll respond :lol: :lol:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.